$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

5 stars
Two West Street, Two West Street, New York, NY 10004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
69 reviews
Great place to stay!

The hotel staff was wonderful. We were having trouble getting a taxi and so they gave us a ride to... See full review

  • Kathleen F
  • Nov 9, 2014
The perfect stay

Everything was perfect! Top notch service and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. We had a... See full review

  • Kendy Kane Designer
  • Jul 1, 2014
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, is the only luxury waterfront hotel in Manhattan. The 39-story, 298-room art-deco inspired hotel overlooks the New York Harbor, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. Inside the hotel, a flawless standard of personal service reigns with bath butlers and valets, concierge service, 24-hour room service and spa treatments. Guests venturing from the snug haven of their room can enjoy a breathtaking sunset or step outside for a stroll along the scenic esplandade of Battery Park. The Ritz-Carlton is located just minutes from the trendy SoHo and TriBeCa neighborhoods known for their great shopping, restaurants and museums.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Dining

2 West
Modern American bistro featuring expertly and simply prepared dishes

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 69
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 28, 2014

Average Ritz Carlton standard

It is convenient to everything. Parking is not easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicagoer
Business
chicago, IL
May 14, 2012

Battery park is convenient to all subway lines.

The hotel is a business class type of place without an interesting lounge/lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

statue of liberty and ellis island dock are across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, England
May 12, 2011

Amazing room with a view!

The hotel was beautiful and we were given an amazing room with views of the Statue of Liberty (hotel even provided a telescope!). The room was spacious and well appointed, staff were friendly and location was great for sightseeing in downtown Manhattan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tour boats

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xraysrc
Business
Sinking Spring, PA
Mar 7, 2011

Ritz Carlton service all the way!

The staff at this facility is superb. They were always there to help and management was perfect. I've stayed at the Ritz Carlton properties in Phila., Foggy Bottom D.C., and South Beach Miami. The product in Battery Park is typical for Ritz service and niceties. My only issue is the room size could be larger, not a fault with the staff, but rather the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to either slug it out in cabs or take the subway. Battery Park is wonderful if you'd like to get some sleep while you're in NY, but it's about a 20 min $20 cab ride to midtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jan 4, 2010

Not perfect, but very, very good

I went to the Ritz-Carlton BP for one week at Christmas with my two boys, aged 14 and 18. Ironically, on our flight from Zurich, I watched an in-flight movie about the life of Cesar Ritz,the Swiss man who founded the Ritz hotel. It got me really excited - it was ALL about luxury, service and pampering the customer! The real thing wasn't quite that... Our room was great - large, clean, spacious bathroom. On the first morning, a complimentary newspaper was hanging on the door, but never again after that, although we were there a week. I mentioned it twice at the front desk, and they were unable to get it right again, although they did hand me a paper from the staff room. Turn down service had not been done by 9:30pm on our second night, so I called the front desk. They informed me it is done at 10:30pm. The next night housekeeping came by at 6:30pm to do the turn down. I had ordered packages to be sent to the hotel. Luckily the concierge mentioned that he had seen packages for me in the back, or I would not know they had been delivered. Once they did call the room to say there was a package. Our toilet backed up one morning, and threatened to overflow. A plumber was there within 10 minutes and fixed it immediately. Some of the staff are really exceptional, and some of them limp along. I missed the feeling of being pampered - that extra star in a 5-star. I delivered a kilo of Swiss chocolates to the front desk on Christmas Eve as a gift, but never heard a thank you from any of the staff afterward. I wasn't expecting them to fall all over me, but acknowledgment would have been nice. Two of the staff who were particularly helpful were Jay at the concierge desk and Lee at the front desk. The bellhops were also very helpful. The view is fabulous, and the location is really quiet. The park across the street is lovely, and public transport is within a 5-10 minute walk. We loved the location. I was disappointed to discover that their bar on the 14th floor, which all the reviews rave about, is closed. We had a lovely Xmas day brunch in the restaurant, although again, the service was erratic. We couldn't get a reservation without the help of the concierge, but when we arrived almost 45 minutes early, they were able to seat us immediately, and I saw numerous empty tables throughout our meal - strange. All in all, it lacks the hushed elegance and subtle service of a true 5-star, but it's a very nice hotel and I would return if I got a inexpensive deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 29, 2009

Ritz - Battery Park - Pay for water view

Ritz level of service and quality but was over-priced as most Ritz's are. Harbor view rooms had a very nice view - City view rooms couldn't see the "city" but just 2 buildings next door. Pay for the upgrade of the view. Club level was nice with a great breakfast and dinner hors-d'oeuvres were fabulous. Never could try the lunch snacks since it was never convenient to come back to the hotel for that. 3 block walk to nearest subways was a bit rough in the cold and snow. Convenient to Statue of Liberty water taxi and staten island ferry. Very close to wall street area. 30-45 minute trip 1 way to theater district or central park. But was VERY quiet in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian place next door - Inatteso - not on the web pages - great pizza at a family friendly price - try the one with arugala and prosciutto - it was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Dec 12, 2009

problems with prepaid bill

tried to charge for room even though it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris & Daughters
Business
Youngstown ohio
Nov 30, 2009

perfect customer service

customer service was unbeatable. clean, large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahon
Business
Dover NH
Nov 3, 2009

Marathon Fun

..Ran NYC Marathon. Nice to walk to the Staten Island Ferry (5 minute walk) ..Need a coffee machine in the room for early morning coffee. Also a microwave. ..Great view from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for runners - you can run for 5 miles along the river with great views and parks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Texas
Sep 22, 2009

Superb accomodations

The Hotel staff was excellent and the concierge Carlos Leon went above and beyond to make our stay,travel and sightseeing above what we expected. In all of our travels we have never experienced service of this level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top