$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

5 stars
View map of Two West Street, Two West Street, New York, NY 10004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 18, 2010

Poor value for Money

Began with poor and uncaring check-in and continued to deteriorate Not worth the money Despite the good location, you can end up looking at the pathetic battery tunnel Go somewhere else for less money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SCVdeb
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
May 5, 2010

NYC - 5 Boro Bike Ride

We were in NYC for the 5 Boro Bike Ride which began practically on the doorstep of the Ritz Carlton. We stayed on the Club floor which was perfect! Every morning we had a bit of breakfast, and in the afternoons if we were around we enjoyed the food put out for snack. The cookies were amazing as was the shrimp, and the rest. In the Club lounge we were taken care of by Yolanda who was amazing - quiet, friendly, and very efficient! Our room was perfect and the beds VERY comfortable - it made for a GREAT get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is the Staten Island Ferry - its FREE! It has the best views of the Manhattan skyline, Lady Liberty and Ellis Island and it is all FREE! Would also recommend buying a 7 day Metro pass which you can use on the bus or subway. What a DEAL, it gets you everywhere without sitting in traffic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jar546
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 15, 2010

Class and Service

Excellent customer service, VERY clean rooms. Food was a bit on the high side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Feb 7, 2010

Great, elegant, modern hotel.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was luxurious and large. The bathroom was quite large by NY standards. A wonderful experience, especially as I had to spend an extra night because of the blizzard in the mid-atlantic region. My family and I usually stay the Trump but this hotel was just as wonderful. Will definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jan 4, 2010

Not perfect, but very, very good

I went to the Ritz-Carlton BP for one week at Christmas with my two boys, aged 14 and 18. Ironically, on our flight from Zurich, I watched an in-flight movie about the life of Cesar Ritz,the Swiss man who founded the Ritz hotel. It got me really excited - it was ALL about luxury, service and pampering the customer! The real thing wasn't quite that... Our room was great - large, clean, spacious bathroom. On the first morning, a complimentary newspaper was hanging on the door, but never again after that, although we were there a week. I mentioned it twice at the front desk, and they were unable to get it right again, although they did hand me a paper from the staff room. Turn down service had not been done by 9:30pm on our second night, so I called the front desk. They informed me it is done at 10:30pm. The next night housekeeping came by at 6:30pm to do the turn down. I had ordered packages to be sent to the hotel. Luckily the concierge mentioned that he had seen packages for me in the back, or I would not know they had been delivered. Once they did call the room to say there was a package. Our toilet backed up one morning, and threatened to overflow. A plumber was there within 10 minutes and fixed it immediately. Some of the staff are really exceptional, and some of them limp along. I missed the feeling of being pampered - that extra star in a 5-star. I delivered a kilo of Swiss chocolates to the front desk on Christmas Eve as a gift, but never heard a thank you from any of the staff afterward. I wasn't expecting them to fall all over me, but acknowledgment would have been nice. Two of the staff who were particularly helpful were Jay at the concierge desk and Lee at the front desk. The bellhops were also very helpful. The view is fabulous, and the location is really quiet. The park across the street is lovely, and public transport is within a 5-10 minute walk. We loved the location. I was disappointed to discover that their bar on the 14th floor, which all the reviews rave about, is closed. We had a lovely Xmas day brunch in the restaurant, although again, the service was erratic. We couldn't get a reservation without the help of the concierge, but when we arrived almost 45 minutes early, they were able to seat us immediately, and I saw numerous empty tables throughout our meal - strange. All in all, it lacks the hushed elegance and subtle service of a true 5-star, but it's a very nice hotel and I would return if I got a inexpensive deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 29, 2009

Ritz - Battery Park - Pay for water view

Ritz level of service and quality but was over-priced as most Ritz's are. Harbor view rooms had a very nice view - City view rooms couldn't see the "city" but just 2 buildings next door. Pay for the upgrade of the view. Club level was nice with a great breakfast and dinner hors-d'oeuvres were fabulous. Never could try the lunch snacks since it was never convenient to come back to the hotel for that. 3 block walk to nearest subways was a bit rough in the cold and snow. Convenient to Statue of Liberty water taxi and staten island ferry. Very close to wall street area. 30-45 minute trip 1 way to theater district or central park. But was VERY quiet in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian place next door - Inatteso - not on the web pages - great pizza at a family friendly price - try the one with arugala and prosciutto - it was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Dec 12, 2009

problems with prepaid bill

tried to charge for room even though it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Dec 8, 2009

Hanging at the Ritz

It was a lovely room with a great view of the Statue of Liberty. Quite a ways from downtown so taxis or cars were needed. Bar had a great cheese platter and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

201 777-7777 for car...much cheaper than other services but, call well inadvance as they can be =/- 15mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 6, 2009

Great. Views

We had a typical Ritz weekend! The service was great, staff friendly, drinks were delicious and the views breathtaking. We could not ask for more from the hotel. I will remind guest to allow additional tIme to secure a taxi. They are less frequent in this neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris & Daughters
Business
Youngstown ohio
Nov 30, 2009

perfect customer service

customer service was unbeatable. clean, large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top