$530 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Peninsula New York

5 stars
700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
58 reviews
A great place to celebrate our wedding!

This was a perfect location to enjoy theater, great restaurants, shopping, and Central Park. We... See full review

  • Tom and Wayne
  • Aug 24, 2013
Excellent!

Went for my 30th birthday as a surprise. The spa was amazing, staff was wonderful, location is... See full review

  • MNFM
  • Aug 5, 2013
The Peninsula New York is a 23-story, 1905 landmark building located in central Manhattan. Many of the original Beaux Arts architectural features, designed by Hiss and Weekes, have been retained, and the result is one of modern accents on old world elegance for this luxury property. The Peninsula New York has 239 luxuriously appointed guestrooms including 54 Suites and a Peninsula Suite, with more than 3,000 sq ft (307 sq m) of living space. Each guestroom and suite is equipped with a state-of-the-art electronic system that allows guests to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. The hotel offers airport transfer, baby sitting service, banquet facilities, bar, beauty salon with hairdresser, business center, concierge, conference facilities, currency exchange, disabled facilities, doctor on call, dry cleaning service, gift shop, gym/ fitness facilities, high speed Internet access, Internet access Wireless, laundry service, elevator, lobby, non smoking rooms, parking facilities (chargeable), reception, restaurant, room service- 24 hrs, safe deposit box, secretarial services, spa services and swimming pool indoor. Pets are allowed.

WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and experience shower, mens and womens private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience.

DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline.

The Peninsula New York Rooms

Junior Suite
The Junior Suite is one spacious room with a city view of 5th Avenue, a king size bed and full size sofa bed, executive desk, sitting area, stereo with a CD player and TV/VCR, and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and a television over the bath. The Junior Suite is 575 square feet.
Deluxe Suite
The Deluxe Suite is a beautiful corner suite with two separate rooms, overlooking 5th Avenue and 55th Street. It has a master bedroom with a king size bed, TV, small sitting area and a master bathroom with a separate shower, double washbasins and a television over the bath. There is a dressing area with a vanity, two closets, a guest powder room and a private living/dining room with a sofa, dining table, executive desk, stereo system with CD player and TV/VCR. The Deluxe Suite is 1,050 square feet. 2 max with out rollaway, 3 max w/ rollaway. Rollaway charge $75 for stay.
Executive Suite
The Executive Suite (ES1) is a quiet, interior suite with two separate rooms and a city view. The suite has a master bedroom with a king size bed, TV and small sitting area, a private living room with a full size sofa bed, executive desk, stereo system with CD player and TV and VCR, and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and a television over the bath. The Executive Suite is 725 square feet. These suites are located from the 14th to 20th floors. There are 2 on each floor. These suites do not connect to any rooms.
Deluxe Room
The Deluxe Room has an interior or exterior view, king size bed, executive desk and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and television over the bath. The Deluxe Room is 440 square feet.
Grand Luxe Room
The Grand Luxe Room has a city view of 5th Avenue or 55th Street, king size bed, executive desk and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and a television over the bath. The Grand Luxe Room is 480 square feet. 2 max with out rollaway, 3 max with rollaway. Rollaway charge $75 for stay
Superior
The room offers 1 king bed along with the The Superior Room (ASK) is a quiet, interior room overlooking the hotel courtyard with a king size bed, executive desk and a marble bathroom. The Superior Room is 370 square feet. The room offers A/C, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, CD player, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non-smoking rooms , pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, telephone, valet service, DVD player and voice mail. All of these rooms are interior with no exterior views. The tub and shower are together. These rooms connect to Junior Executive Suites.
Junior Executive Suite
The Junior Executive Suite is a quiet, interior suite with two separate rooms located on floors 4 through 12. The suite has a master bedroom with a king size bed, a private living room with a loveseat, executive desk, stereo system with CD player and TV/VCR, and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and a television over the bath. The Junior Executive Suite is 620 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Peninsula New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7617 -73.9749
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, New York
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, Newark Liberty International Airport, La Guardia Airport
Area description
Ideally located on the southwest corner of Fifth Avenue and Fifty-Fifth Street (700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street), The Peninsula New York is in the heart of New York's most prestigious shopping, cultural, and business neighborhood in Mid-town Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • University Club: 0 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • University Club: 0 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Barney's: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi

Dining

Clement
Clement is an exciting new restaurant and bar concept that has elevated the dining experience at The Peninsula New York to new heights. Clement brings patrons a fresh design and menu concept and Chef de Cuisine Brandon Kida presents a seasonal Contemporary American menu utilizing locally sourced ingredients from the northeast.
Bar at Clement
The Bar at Clement provides a chic and seductive setting for cocktails and light, Asian-inspired plates overlooking Fifth Avenue.
Salon de Ning Rooftop Bar & Terrace
A chic rooftop bar and terrace offering panoramic views over 5th Avenue and the glittering skyline of Manhattan.
Gotham Lounge
An intimate and elegant setting to enjoy traditional Afternoon Tea, cocktails and light fare.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For high-profile events, executive meetings and special celebrations, The Peninsula New York seamlessly blends elegant facilities and expert event planning. Every detail is meticulously tailored to suit the occasion and enhance even the most extraordinary affair. Decorated in modern, stylish elegance, the five completely refurbished function rooms and receiving areas encompass 3,300 sq ft (1,006 sq m) and are intimately scaled with residential-style furnishings and bespoke appointments.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for The Peninsula New York

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
Nov 25, 2013

Premium Experience!

I spent this past weekend at the Peninsula New York, and had a fantastic experience. From the chandelier adorned lobby to the charming staff, there isn’t a detail that this hotel doesn’t take into account. The staff: Everyone was very warm and accommodating. Being from the South and frequenting New York regularly, you notice that extra touch of hospitality that sometimes lacks in New York hotels. The valet is great at grabbing a cab for guests. Overall, the staff is accommodating, to say the least, and they do everything with a smile. Rooms: I was in a deluxe king room. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom was particularly spacious with separate shower and bathtub. What I enjoyed most about the hotel is that, while classic, it has all the modern amenities. I’ve stayed at other high end NYC hotels (Plaza/St. Regis/Four Seasons) and they are either, 1) older and still feel older or 2) modern and don’t possess charm. The Peninsula New York is a great fusion classic elegance with modern amenities. Facilities: The pool, spa and workout center are incredible. The best I’ve seen in the city. I don’t need to say anything to justify this… just take my word for it. For anyone who appreciates a premium experience, I recommend The Peninsula New York. Jacob J. Minkley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out Salon de Ning on the roof of the hotel! Pricey drinks but great views and ambiance.

Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FritzK3
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 28, 2013

Very disappointing!

While the location is 5-stars/diamonds I was not overly impressed based on its reputation and stature in the industry! While it boast of one being able to control everything in his/her room from one "touch-of-a-button" location nothing can be further from the truth. Technology wise it is still in the 20th century. I met several of the "Jr." managers and found them to be exceptionally cordial, well educated and hungry to deliver 5-star level service. Now it is up to top management and the owners to give them the tools they NEED to perform in such a manner and at such a level!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Wayne
Atlanta, GA
Aug 24, 2013

A great place to celebrate our wedding!

This was a perfect location to enjoy theater, great restaurants, shopping, and Central Park. We chose this hotel because of it's 5 star reputation and reference from travel web site for being supportive of gay visitors -- we were not disappointed. All the staff went out of their way to help us celebrate and make us feel welcome with a room upgrade and champagne. Concierge services were outstanding. Even other hotel guests were great -- buying us drinks when they heard we had just gotten married.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Complementary hotel car service will take you to nearby locations.

Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MNFM
New York, NY
Aug 5, 2013

Excellent!

Went for my 30th birthday as a surprise. The spa was amazing, staff was wonderful, location is perfect. Definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovestogo
Raleigh, NC
Mar 18, 2013

Wonderful way to celebrate my daughters big 40.

Everything was perfect. Just what I was looking for to celebrate daughters birthday and have quality time spent in quiet luxury. Great place for that special time! They were happy to take care of all our needs..reservations, transportation, recommendations for restaurants and directions for getting around NYC. Location is perfect .....much better than Broadway, which is hectic and very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Engaged Guy
Fairfax, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Awesome room, excellent staff, amazing location, a great experience

I am not one to have anyone do anything for me. I carry my own bags, do my own research, make my own reservations, so it was a little odd but very enjoyable to get incredible five-star treatment. My door was opened from the cab, my bags were collected for me from the trunk and taken to my room, and everyone was courteous and professional. My room was awesome, very quiet. The only issue was the bathroom sink was clogged and so was the tub. To be fair, had a I complained I know they would have sent someone within minutes to fix whatever I wanted to have fixed. The concierge made reservations for me at a great steakhouse close by (Quality Meats, steer clear of the porterhouse for two and just get the Filet!). This was the coolest part for me, how helpful and knowledgeable the concierge was. Room service was impeccable, the food was great, had breakfast one morning and a late night snack the next. Everything was expensive but this is 5th Ave NYC! Really enjoyed my stay and think the Peninsula is awesome, oh yeah - if you have kids they have lots of activities for kids and even have a fitness schedule of classes (yoga, etc.) throughout the week. A great 5 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quality Meats - a steakhouse with some of the best Filet Mignon I've ever had, and I've had a plenty!

Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bogi
Salzburg, Austria, Europe
Sep 4, 2012

It was great!

Excellent Hotel! Everything was perfect and I highliy recommend this Hotel! Go there and stay there! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LHC13
North Carolina
Aug 9, 2012

Truly a 5 Star Hotel

We had a fantastic weekend getaway at the Peninsula. All I can give is praise for this hotel. Will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oklahoma Debbie
Jenks, Ok
Aug 7, 2012

New York trip with friends

The Peninsula was WONDERFUL! A great place to stay. In fact, so nice, on of the people in our group said her wouldn't mind just staying in the hotel instead of getting out and seeing the sights. We were so close to all of the great places in New York, too! They have a limousine service in the hotel that will take you to the theatre, NO CHARGE, also wil drive you to places more that 10 blocks from the hotel. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

HELLO 5th avenue shopping, bordering this hotel! Some fun local shops as well as dining, too!

Review of The Peninsula New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BambiC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Aug 2, 2012

Love The Peninsula

My mom said she wanted to live here permanently! The Peninsula Hotel, NYC is a lovely building! It is located in a perfect location at 5th Ave and 55th Street, which is a touristy location... However, it is a much better location than the "Times Square Area", which is extremely busy, noisy, and congested! All of the staff are courteous, accommodating, and pleasant at the Peninsula Hotel. You are always greeted with a smile when you walk through the door! This hotel definitely made our stay in NYC very pleasant!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Certè is a small cafe that is good for breakfast and lunch. The prices are reasonable for NYC, and the quality of the food and service are great! Their pancakes are some of the best I have ever had, if not the BEST! From the Peninsula Hotel, take a Left out of the main entrance onto 55th St., and Certè is just a short walk down on the Left hand side.

Back to menu Return to top