$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dado dantas
Business
curitiba, brazil
Oct 8, 2013

terrible staff

the hotel is regular, we had a lot of problems with the staff. First is about a package I was saiting to receive and it disappear during 4 days, and, after a lot of asking it appears from somewhere. Second I asked a transfer to JFK and it arrived 45 minutes later

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJ The Global Trotter
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 16, 2013

Loud, loud, loud!

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend and we felt the walls of our room shake, as if we were right in the club downstairs! Music was so loud both nights that we couldn't sleep! Awful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Abroad
Business
North Carolina
May 19, 2014

Um, no.

The shared rooms are co-ed. I have never before heard of a hotel where strange men and women share a room. I did not feel safe with that at all. Also, the club music is pounding like you would not believe until 4:30 am. The staff did not tell me any of this when I checked in. All of this was completely unexpected based on reviews I read (which never mentioned any of this!) and it was not at all what I needed on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

way too loud

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Floridianfb
Business
DC
May 13, 2014

avoid at all costs

This hotel is really a night club with rooms attached . Sure it has a good bar and spa outdoor area, but there is no point in staying since you will not be able to sleep. At all. The bass from the club starts thumping around 11 and stops at 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deegan
Business
Melbourne, FL
Mar 27, 2014

Loud nightclub

If you want to stay here, bring ear plugs. There's a nightclub in the hotel and it thump thumps in your room into the middle of the night even on week nights. Not the place to stay if your goal for choosing a hotel is to have a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soda Sam
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 19, 2013

Maybe 3rd time's the charm?

My partner and I have stayed at The OUT NYC back in Dec. '12 and had such a great experience. I wish I could say the same for our recent trip in March '13. 1. We had to wait a long time to check in. Only one person on the desk, and he kept answering the phones rather than helping the people checking in. We were given the wrong room number and had to go back downstairs and wait for the right room number. 2. We requested to have a room away from XL Night club - which is attached to the hotel. Last time we faced the street and couldn't hear a thing. This time it was horrible. We had to turn the heater on full blast to help drown out the sound. 3. They won't call you a gypsy cab or even a regular cab. They will have someone help you call a cab, but in our experience the guy called the cab - we tipped him but then the cab wouldn't take us to where we wanted to go because he was off schedule. So the bell hop wouldn't help us get another cab and took our tip anyway. That's just rude. 4. Kitchn - the restaurant attached, would not serve us breakfast at 11am - even though the buffet was still out. We got there right at 11 and were sat, but then told we had to leave. I get that we were late, so it's not a huge issue, but I thought it was strange that they sat us and then told us no. That's just really rude. I love the rooms and the location, so it's a toss up for me. I'm not sure I'll give them another chance, it's very pricey and when there's so many options in NYC I would rather stay where there is better customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
E1234
Business
Australia
Apr 4, 2013

Noise and insects problems

This place is directly above the club. After seeing all the noise complaints online, I requested a quieter room at check-in, but I felt they just ignored the request. Come the weekend, the bass was thumping in my room and they didn't have another room to move me to until the next day. The new room had no noise problem at all. However, there was a dead cockroach in my towel. I left it on the floor and the next day I found the same cockroach in my towel, but the towel was folded up neatly. I am led to believe the towels aren't washed and just folded up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bleb
Business
Montreal
Aug 29, 2013

17 dollars for 2 condoms !

Interesting concept, particularly in summer because you can lie down on the terrace.... be carefull with the XL club, you could have a lot of noise and vibration in your room. If you want to use the 2 condoms near your bed, you will pay 17 dollars + tax ! just for average condoms.... so crasy. Not really a good location if you want to go out in the gays clubs. Good clubs are far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JelloMat
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2014

Fine for last minute and affordable, but..

This hotel was in a great location and I booked it three hours before my arrival. That's a good thing. But the noise level in the place is awful. The adjacent club booms through the walls until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cecilewithlove
Business
Paris
Jun 19, 2014

cleaning has to be improved

The room wasn't so clean and doesn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top