$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
82 reviews
Great stay

Perfectly located for where we needed to be. Room was clean and nicely supplied. See full review

  • Anderstout
  • Mar 2, 2014
Random Weekend Stay

Went to NY for a random weekend stay and I decided to stay at a hotel. I'm glad I booked The Out. I... See full review

  • KynKouture
  • Jan 27, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 82
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KynKouture
Boston
Jan 27, 2014

Random Weekend Stay

Went to NY for a random weekend stay and I decided to stay at a hotel. I'm glad I booked The Out. I stayed in one of the shared suites and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were nice in size and very private. I was lucky enough to only have one other person in the room with me but we barely saw each other as we only stayed in the rooms long enough to shower and sleep. The spa area, restaurant and lounger were AMAZING. Then again I have such a huge heart for the LGBT community. It's a few blocks from Times Sq for the tourists but I loved that it was blocks away from some of my fave hole in the wall restraunts and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carlito20
Tampa, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

amazing service

The hotel is located very close to times square; the service was amazing and the hotel was super clean.... the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshawn
Austin, Texas
Oct 27, 2012

Highly Recomend

Best hotel I've ever stayed at in New York! It's a great location,room was very comfortable, and super clean. Ill definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want to go out but not have to worry about walking just take the elevator downstairs and have an amazing time at XL nightclub!

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucilla212
Orlando FL
Dec 23, 2013

Loved it! Staff and rooms were excellent! I will be back for sure!

Loved it! Staff and rooms were excellent! I will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garbobee
New York
May 21, 2014

Nice clean modern room

The hotel was easy to check in, nice clean decent size rooms. However please note the hotel caters to the gay community. I did not know this when I made my reservation. There was a patio mixer right outside my door the first day I got there and it was strictly a gay crowd. The next day the hotel hosted a pool party and that also was mainly for gays. The parties were packed and looked fun but since I'm not gay there just was no interest for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great if you are gay

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
getlagniappe
New Orleans, LA
Jun 10, 2014

Shared quad is a fantastic value, but VERY noisy on Saturday nights

If you've stayed in a hostel before, the shared quad room at The Out NYC is an amazing value. You get all the amenities of an upscale hotel without the price tag. I spent four nights at The Out, and everything was as expected except on Saturday night. The music from the club is VERY loud -- even with earplugs, I wasn't able to sleep because of the bass. The club also doesn't close until 4:30am, so unless you plan on staying out all night, you're stuck with it. The front desk offered to move me to a standard room, and the music was even louder there -- so loud it vibrated the bed! The restaurant staff told me they couldn't help me when I asked for quarters for the bus, which was odd. Other than that, I had a fantastic time at this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Room Service is a Thai restaurant that's a short walk from the hotel. It's a posh atmosphere without an absurd price tag for food or drinks.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michi077
México city
Dec 2, 2013

A great place to stay

The hotel is kinda small but really chic i stayed in one of those shared bedrooms Ad you actually have your privacy the only ring that i didnt like Washington that that the y give you a charge of 40$ at the momment of the check in but they say is just for collateral and theyll return the fee in 3-5 business days But overall the locación is very good definetely ill stay here again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shapunkii
Miami, Florida
Sep 16, 2013

LOVE IT!!!

Hotel is super Clean, the restaurant is amazing a little expensive but its NY ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina Hoang
Little Rock, Arkansas
Mar 9, 2014

Room is so clean but lack of amenities

I just stayed in The OUT for 2 nights in 4 single -dom-beds. That means i have to share the room with 3 others including bathroom. The location is perfect where you can get on the bus M42 or subway station as well to Times Square and Downtown. The room is clean as being 4-stars hotel, staff are young, ethusiasm. Before i came there, i worried about how we can share the room with strangers. But I was suprised that It worked well. There are curtans covering every beds so you can have private spot. However, room need to have iron and the bathroom need a DOOR (not just a curtain). And if the rooms have carpet for whole public area, it'll be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Buy metrocard unlimited for 1 week (even u just stay here for 2-3 days) to getting around by bus and subway. It's so easy to use and convenient and save money compare to getting taxi

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollywoodkid
Philadelphia
Jan 15, 2013

Perfect Retreat

I'm one of those individuals that has to read reviews before I make any decisions and when I read the reviews on "The Out NYC Hotel' I was impressed by all the good feed back, that I had to see what all the fuss was about. What I like about the hotel is how modern it is.. the location.. the club that's literally right next to the hotel.. and the fact that it caters to the gay community; the staff for the most part are great & friendly. The only bad thing I would say about this hotel is I believe they allow their guest to walk the hall ways nude.. which I don't believe that should be permitted because it's not that kind of place.. let's keep it classy my fellow humans.. and the hotel lost internet connection on my final day. The only suggestion I would give to the hotel is to have some sort of directory of how to get around the city with all the different attractions. Well my friends I would def say book this hotel.. you will appreciate all the hard work and detailed the owner put into this hotel.. and the location is magnificent. I'll see ya there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Just enjoy the club that is next to the hotel

Back to menu Return to top