$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 85
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Passenger
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2013

Great overnight NYC stay

For the price, you can't beat this hotel. It is extremely clean, staff is really helpful, it is very close to Times Square and a short cab ride to the village. The onsite restaurant is really good too for a quick meal. Free WiFi also a plus. Plenty of parking garages nearby if you plan to drive in. Also for LGBT travelers, it's a nice bonus that this place is a "straight friendly" hotel with an amazing gay club in the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AussieAnt
sydney
Sep 10, 2013

fantastic hotel in a fantastic city

Loved everything this hotel has to offer , location , amenities , staff , i enjoyed this hotel so much i went back and stayed another week at the end of my trip.A great mix of gay and straight guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if travelling alone and budget conscious , the deli's in new york are a great option for meals , the self service buffets are great .

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spencer Manuk
London
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect Hotel

This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anderstout
Hamilton, NJ
Mar 2, 2014

Great stay

Perfectly located for where we needed to be. Room was clean and nicely supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New2MI
Michigan
Feb 17, 2013

If you want the west side, this is your place

Uber-modern place with spacious room, especially for NYC. Comfy bed and pillows and big television, free wi-fi (thought not a strong enough signal). Terrific location for this trip. Only two concerns, really: 1) no security officer on duty, and the room key is not required to get on the elevator, and 2) avoid the $19 continental breakfast buffet - not worth it. Otherwise, we'll definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try 44 & X restaurant, two blocks north (at 44th and 10th). Great food, service and price.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demi D
New Haven, CT
Dec 31, 2013

The only problem was the room..

This is a very feng-shui hotel in a great spot. Very gay friendly and ideal for young professionals. It's trendy without being obnoxious hipsters. Actually has a European feel. The hotel lobby is an art gallery. The hotel is attached to a pretty happening gay dance club. It is perfect locale at the southwestern border of H#ll's Kitchen. The room was clean with very modern features. There is a pool, a steam room, a really nice and big gym, and a jacuzzi (all of which are open 24 hours). There is supposedly a nice spa but I didn't check that out. My only negative, and this is a big one, was that the room I was placed is was directly over the night club. I mean my room was pretty much vibrating with diva mega-mixes from 11pm till 3:45 am. Because I booked through this website, I couldn't change anything with the hotel. So I would totally go back, but I think it is wiser to work with the hotel reservations directly because the staff made it seem like the prepaid online rooms tend to be over this night club, which is not good for people who are not partying and want to go to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC917
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2012

Perfect

3 days in the city Very nice staff, very clean rooms. Good amenities. Very good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich60605
Chicago, IL
Jan 29, 2014

High Expectations. Lower Reality.

Queen size bed in a room designed with mid level Ikea furnishings. Plastic chair, the only chair in the room, to do any work. Desk light inadequate to see any work you needed to do. Least comfortable room I have ever had in many many NYC trips. Shower leaked along the glass edge so the bathroom was a puddle every shower. Almost no bathroom counter space. The room fridge was packed with overpriced sale items so it left no room to put anything of your own. Carpet in the room entry was torn and worn away. Was concerned about outside noise from the club that is apparently almost never opened. But it was my own room noise that was the worst. Heating/AC were so loud that anytime it came on I had to turn up the TV sound and then turn it back down when heat went off. For the last night, the room staff left the prior days used towels on the floor and only supplied me with fresh bath towels. No wash clothes or hand towel. I didn't notice until I was in the shower. The hotel's bar choices of beer was minimal. To finish up, the desk clerk recommended a car service (that they took a $10 cut of up front) to the airport. When I asked if the car service would take the fastest route (bridge or tunnel) at that price the clerk said it was included. When I told the driver to take the tunnel he said it was $7.50 more to go that route. I told him either take me back to the hotel or its his expense. He ate the expense but the hotel needs to train their staff about their car service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ollie's Chinese Restaurant. Very good food and prices.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toronto single traveler
Toronto, ON
Oct 27, 2013

NYC Weekend Getaway

First time stayed in the Out hotel. When I walked in the hotel, everything looks like what their website described. I was staying in one of the shared room unit. Everything looks nice and clean. Until late at night, you can hear all the traffic noise from outside. One time, I can hear people were arguing by my window. The noise was lasting whole night. Talked to the reception next morning about the noise. I told him I would like to come back next time visit. Unfortunately he told me all the share room units are facing the traffic going into tunnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bleb
Montreal
Aug 29, 2013

17 dollars for 2 condoms !

Interesting concept, particularly in summer because you can lie down on the terrace.... be carefull with the XL club, you could have a lot of noise and vibration in your room. If you want to use the 2 condoms near your bed, you will pay 17 dollars + tax ! just for average condoms.... so crasy. Not really a good location if you want to go out in the gays clubs. Good clubs are far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top