$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek, 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass Spa Atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from BPM Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotel gardens and TripAdvisor named us one of the top 10 Trendsetter Hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products from C.O. Bigelow. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. Our 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Shared Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
THE OUT Hotel has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. THE OUT has indoor and outdoor event space options as well as a variety of services that can be provided to any private event you are interested in hosting; from private dinners of 10 people to cocktail receptions of 750 people and everything in-between.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
canastas
Business
Michigan
Jun 1, 2013

great locaction and staff

excellent value, great location, friendly staff, perfect getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
popmyflash
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 20, 2013

OUT NYC The best

This was my second stay at the OUT and I choose one of the Bunkhouse style rooms since this was just an over night trip and I really enjoyed it. I had one other bunk mate in the bed above he was a great room mate. I loved the individual lockers with digital lock to keep personal items in secure. The staff as always goes above and beyond. I needed a later check out time and they were able to accommodate me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Max
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 27, 2012

Modern & relaxing unless your room is adjacent to the Club

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel because it was modern, clean, had king size beds (I'm tall so this is a plus), and had a spa-like vibe throughout the hotel. The only issue I had was the noise level late at night. There is a Club next door to the hotel. Even with the ear plugs that are provided by the hotel, they don't do the trick. So if you're a light sleeper and want to stay at this hotel, request a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the Club. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel and would probalby stay again...but on the other side!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small Business traveller
Business
Lagos Nigeria
Oct 28, 2012

Business Trip on a budget

This hotel was a great value for NYC, large, free internet and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid ordering room service from the hotel, the prices are insane and you can get delivery for much cheaper from nearby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lou Cass
Business
FL.
Jan 25, 2013

Great oasis in the city

Very comfortable beds, room clean and neat, bathroom had mildew in the shower just a little. The staff was great and amenities were well kept. The TV/Cable went in and out but then was fixed. They said I used the mini bar and I don't drink??? They did't charge me! I think this hotel is a little overpriced at the regular rates but all of NYC is that way. I would try to stay there again in a room far away from the club like I had. The price was so good. I would stay again if I could get that good a deal again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is cold or bad weather you can walk through Port authority bldg. on 9th ave to get to the subway. Also a food Emporium is across the street. I ate Breakfast at the Ktchn and it was good & reasonable .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djschoonmaker
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2013

Gem in NYC

A very unique, ultra modern, and memorable hotel. There are wonderful courtyards to relax, and admire the tall buildings around this low level building. The staff were courteous and helpful, the restaurant served a continental buffet or a well prepared breakfast, and the room and hotel were immaculate. A definite find in a city with lots of options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the theater district. That is both good and bad. But there were convenience stores and pharmacy right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djschoonmaker
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 20, 2013

Unusual Option in NYC

This ultramodern design on just two stories is unusual. Rooms were large by NYC standards, internet was excellent, and the restaurant upscale and pleasant. The courtyard furniture is funky and quite a change from the typical NYC hotel. The only downside is the theater district type of characters when walking to Times Square, but that is NY. But the hotel experience is quite refreshing for those who stay in NYC often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnAE
Business
Pasadena CA
Oct 23, 2013

Read the small print!

The special deal of $132 a night here seemed too good to be true and it was. I arrived at the hotel to find that my reservation was for a dorm style room shared with three other people and one bath. I went back to read the ad and sure enough there it was, buried in small type several paragraphs down. Sorry, but busy business travelers don't have time to read all the minute details, we want to grab a deal and go. And anything this far out of the norm should be broadcast upfront in headlines. I ended up paying twice the expected rate. It's a hip, sleek spot with a good restaurant and night scene. No complaints. Best bet: a nice deli across the street serves omelettes for $5.95 and $5 cheeseburgers. That's for real!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The broadway deli across the street serves great breakfast and lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichFlo
Business
Michigan
Jan 8, 2014

Great experience

Budget and great location for a very comfortable sleep. Highly recommended for single and short stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daveybob
Business
Canada
Jan 17, 2014

Very relaxing

Had a perfect restful and relaxing stay. My only complaints are that the gym could be a little more filled out with equipment. Expected more but it was like any regular hotel gym. Had to get a pass at real gym for the duration of my stay. Other than that is was great. Also the art hanging in the lobby was some of the worst I have ever seen in a public space. Looked like it had been curated by my 10 year old niece. Pretty trashy but hopefully it wasn't a preeminent display.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top