The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Passenger
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2013

Great overnight NYC stay

For the price, you can't beat this hotel. It is extremely clean, staff is really helpful, it is very close to Times Square and a short cab ride to the village. The onsite restaurant is really good too for a quick meal. Free WiFi also a plus. Plenty of parking garages nearby if you plan to drive in. Also for LGBT travelers, it's a nice bonus that this place is a "straight friendly" hotel with an amazing gay club in the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LADiM1Michele
Colorado
Mar 1, 2013

Much needed Vacation!

After some health issues, My teen daughter and I needed a major vacation getaway so we decided New York was the place to go. We loved the ultra modern look of The OUT NYC and had heard nothing but great reviews so we booked it. I emailed management requesting a quiet room to relax and be away from noise (nightclub) but with a view. We received exactly that! They saw to it that we were comfortable and had whatever we needed. The special bath products were so relaxing and refreshing, and there was always hot water from the shower. We never had time to enjoy the spa amenities because we were too busy enjoying the city, but when we arrived from the tiring long day, the room was always spotless and I wanted to bring the bed home with me. It was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. Kenny and Erin, another staff member and Orlando were Amazing and so friendly! They had luggage storage so we could enjoy the city until our departure and even had a taxi ready for us and waiting to take us to the airport. If this was a place to live instead of a hotel, I'd definitely live there in a heartbeat! THANK YOU OUT NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway, two blocks away. Cruise tours on the Hudson River, two blocks away. There are plenty of Starbucks, and Times Square is only a couple of blocks away. *Cop shop and medical emergency center next door and across the street. Felt totally safe!

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gilly Bean
ireland
Sep 25, 2013

a fantastic experience

the hotel itself is gorgeous with beautiful decor. the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the subway & a 10 minute walk to times square. the courtyard was very relaxing after a long day in the big city. i saw in other reviews people were giving out about the noise in the night club but didn't hear a sound. I strongly recommend this hotel looking forward to staying there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg P
Baltimore, MD
Jun 10, 2013

Girls night out!

Overall, Hotel was GREAT! Clean, cute, great staff, close to time square, cool restaurant and club next to hotel. It's a gay friendly hotel which was great! I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to time square, train, and cvs

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dado dantas
curitiba, brazil
Sep 23, 2013

take in the north sector

the room and hotel is really great but ask a room in north site is more quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

biggest gay disco

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
popmyflash
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 20, 2013

OUT NYC The best

This was my second stay at the OUT and I choose one of the Bunkhouse style rooms since this was just an over night trip and I really enjoyed it. I had one other bunk mate in the bed above he was a great room mate. I loved the individual lockers with digital lock to keep personal items in secure. The staff as always goes above and beyond. I needed a later check out time and they were able to accommodate me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KynKouture
Boston
Jan 27, 2014

Random Weekend Stay

Went to NY for a random weekend stay and I decided to stay at a hotel. I'm glad I booked The Out. I stayed in one of the shared suites and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were nice in size and very private. I was lucky enough to only have one other person in the room with me but we barely saw each other as we only stayed in the rooms long enough to shower and sleep. The spa area, restaurant and lounger were AMAZING. Then again I have such a huge heart for the LGBT community. It's a few blocks from Times Sq for the tourists but I loved that it was blocks away from some of my fave hole in the wall restraunts and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OtakuKing
Dracut, Ma
Oct 16, 2013

Awesome hotel

Really nice staff and very clean. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moneek
CT
Jun 4, 2013

I died and went to hotel heaven!!!

I stayed at the hotel for my birthday weekend and I loved it!!! My girlfriend and I were greeted with champagne at check in, I loved that part. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is the cleanest thing ever. There is a night club attached to the hotel that we went to see a burlesque show which was pretty amazing. Definitely visit the spa! I had the best massage of my life by Savas. Thank you Carmen for making sure everything went smoothly. A++++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Visit the XL night club next door, stay in for a drag show during Sunday brunch, or visit the patio on the 2nd floor for a mixer with a dj and drinks.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carlito20
Tampa, Florida
Sep 24, 2013

amazing service

The hotel is located very close to times square; the service was amazing and the hotel was super clean.... the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top