$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Out NYC

4 stars
View map of 510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
113 reviews
Work trip

It was perfect, everything I needed was around the hotel, i loved it See full review

  • Peace O.
  • Aug 27, 2015
A gem - near theater

We LOVED the layout of the room and the new age look. The shelves in the closet area were terrific.... See full review

  • Diane S.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Sleek, 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass Spa Atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from BPM Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotel gardens and TripAdvisor named us one of the top 10 Trendsetter Hotels.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$100
3.5 / 5 757 reviews
★★★
$140
3.3 / 5 244 reviews
★★★
$135
3.7 / 5 653 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 286 reviews
★★★
$109
3.5 / 5 245 reviews

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products from C.O. Bigelow. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. Our 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Shared Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
THE OUT Hotel has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. THE OUT has indoor and outdoor event space options as well as a variety of services that can be provided to any private event you are interested in hosting; from private dinners of 10 people to cocktail receptions of 750 people and everything in-between.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alby714
Orange, CA
Dec 1, 2014

First time in New York

This hotel was clean and well organized, my television was not working and the front desk sent up a tech within minutes to address the issue. Overall the room was clean and and well decorated. Bed was super comfy and just a brisk walk to Time Square. Had a great time and look forward to future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly22
Philadelphia
Nov 3, 2014

great location.

The hotel has a great location. But the rooms are very noisy from the club next door and if you are planning to take naps or sleep before 5 am, forget it. The room is quite only between 5 am and 5pm. This is a good place if you just need a place to keep your stuff and take a shower. Otherwise avoid it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FWMaverick
Fort Worth, TX
Nov 1, 2014

Straight-friendly

That's right. The OUT is a primarily LGBT welcomming hotel that is straight friendly, said without sarcasm. This is my 2nd visit there in a shared room and most of the other mates have been straight - and everyone gets along just fine like grown-ups. If you're looking for inexpensive mid-town it's hard to go wrong with this set up. Downside, weekend the bar thump from next door is AWFUL and you'll need ear plugs to get sleep. But iif you're up til bars close anyway, no biggy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steven062802
Boston, MA
Sep 29, 2014

Nope. Never again.

It's ENTIRELY my fault that I hated this place. Really. I didn't read (what I thought was) the small print. If I had known that the room was going to be shared by FOUR people in BUNKBEDS...I wouldn't have gone near the place. Yes, the hotel was attractive...walking in the door I was amazed at the coolness factor. The staff was pleasant...they skillfully 'reminded' me that this was a shared room and made it sound less horrifying than it really was. Kudos to them. The room was spotless. No complaints there. But, I'm 6'2" and 230 pounds...climbing up an aluminum ladder to the top bunk was a huge, giant, pain in the bum. Getting down was worse. If you are 22 years old and just need a place to crash this place is going to be amazing. If you're an adult who is expecting a 'hotel room' skip it. Trust me. This was a mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to Time Square and other hotels around that have cool clubs.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willz1
Los Angeles
Aug 11, 2014

Good experience

No complaints except for was noisy. Staff was polite but not overly friendly. Rooms were above average, great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anderstout
Hamilton, NJ
Mar 2, 2014

Great stay

Perfectly located for where we needed to be. Room was clean and nicely supplied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich60605
Chicago, IL
Jan 29, 2014

High Expectations. Lower Reality.

Queen size bed in a room designed with mid level Ikea furnishings. Plastic chair, the only chair in the room, to do any work. Desk light inadequate to see any work you needed to do. Least comfortable room I have ever had in many many NYC trips. Shower leaked along the glass edge so the bathroom was a puddle every shower. Almost no bathroom counter space. The room fridge was packed with overpriced sale items so it left no room to put anything of your own. Carpet in the room entry was torn and worn away. Was concerned about outside noise from the club that is apparently almost never opened. But it was my own room noise that was the worst. Heating/AC were so loud that anytime it came on I had to turn up the TV sound and then turn it back down when heat went off. For the last night, the room staff left the prior days used towels on the floor and only supplied me with fresh bath towels. No wash clothes or hand towel. I didn't notice until I was in the shower. The hotel's bar choices of beer was minimal. To finish up, the desk clerk recommended a car service (that they took a $10 cut of up front) to the airport. When I asked if the car service would take the fastest route (bridge or tunnel) at that price the clerk said it was included. When I told the driver to take the tunnel he said it was $7.50 more to go that route. I told him either take me back to the hotel or its his expense. He ate the expense but the hotel needs to train their staff about their car service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ollie's Chinese Restaurant. Very good food and prices.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demi D
New Haven, CT
Dec 31, 2013

The only problem was the room..

This is a very feng-shui hotel in a great spot. Very gay friendly and ideal for young professionals. It's trendy without being obnoxious hipsters. Actually has a European feel. The hotel lobby is an art gallery. The hotel is attached to a pretty happening gay dance club. It is perfect locale at the southwestern border of H#ll's Kitchen. The room was clean with very modern features. There is a pool, a steam room, a really nice and big gym, and a jacuzzi (all of which are open 24 hours). There is supposedly a nice spa but I didn't check that out. My only negative, and this is a big one, was that the room I was placed is was directly over the night club. I mean my room was pretty much vibrating with diva mega-mixes from 11pm till 3:45 am. Because I booked through this website, I couldn't change anything with the hotel. So I would totally go back, but I think it is wiser to work with the hotel reservations directly because the staff made it seem like the prepaid online rooms tend to be over this night club, which is not good for people who are not partying and want to go to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toronto single traveler
Toronto, ON
Oct 27, 2013

NYC Weekend Getaway

First time stayed in the Out hotel. When I walked in the hotel, everything looks like what their website described. I was staying in one of the shared room unit. Everything looks nice and clean. Until late at night, you can hear all the traffic noise from outside. One time, I can hear people were arguing by my window. The noise was lasting whole night. Talked to the reception next morning about the noise. I told him I would like to come back next time visit. Unfortunately he told me all the share room units are facing the traffic going into tunnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AussieAnt
sydney
Sep 10, 2013

fantastic hotel in a fantastic city

Loved everything this hotel has to offer , location , amenities , staff , i enjoyed this hotel so much i went back and stayed another week at the end of my trip.A great mix of gay and straight guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if travelling alone and budget conscious , the deli's in new york are a great option for meals , the self service buffets are great .

Back to menu Return to top