$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
88 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 88
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Room Redux
Business
US Virgin Islands
Aug 1, 2014

Excellent place to stay (unless you need absolute quiet.)

Had a fantastic stay The Out NYC - room was clean, had all the in-room bells and whistles like nice bathrobes, good snacks, etc., plus everything looked new and modern. Also they have fantastic outdoor spaces WITH JACUZZIS for lounging which is VERY rare in NYC - definitely a hidden gem for that reason alone. I always need a good gym when I travel and The Out's worked very well. The only potential downside that I'd let friends know about is that their club (or maybe the club isn't actually part of The Out but is just the club next door?) sounds pretty popular - when you're out of the room at night you can definitely hear the excitement, when you're in your room it's pretty muffled. For me it wasn't a problem but if someone is really sensitive to noise it might be something to consider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Full liquor / wine shop right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JelloMat
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2014

Fine for last minute and affordable, but..

This hotel was in a great location and I booked it three hours before my arrival. That's a good thing. But the noise level in the place is awful. The adjacent club booms through the walls until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do Good
Business
SF,CA
Jun 13, 2014

Fun place to stay

I don't usually stay at trendy hotels, because they are out of my price range. But I was on a last minute work trip and more economical choices were harder to come by, so I splurged a bit :) Nice decor and art (really like the photo gallery of Drag Race stars). Outdoor lounge and hot tub looked fun, but vacant. Workout room seemed decent but small. Room was nice and everything worked and was comfortable and attractive. Only complaint is that even with all the lights on it was dim. Also had intermittent internet issues logging onto my work email. Bed and sheets were very comfortable and the giant flat screen tv looked great. Location is convenient located near but not on top of Times Square, theaters and the HK bar scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Abroad
Business
North Carolina
May 19, 2014

Um, no.

The shared rooms are co-ed. I have never before heard of a hotel where strange men and women share a room. I did not feel safe with that at all. Also, the club music is pounding like you would not believe until 4:30 am. The staff did not tell me any of this when I checked in. All of this was completely unexpected based on reviews I read (which never mentioned any of this!) and it was not at all what I needed on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

way too loud

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GT55
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 12, 2014

Convenient for Jacob Javits Conventions

Very modern decorations and eclectic clientele. Good restaurant downstairs (named KTCHN). Unfortunately, no parking garage service is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer Biz Woman
Business
Ohio
Feb 6, 2014

Delighted!

I was a bit unsure about the shared accommodations but was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked out. And what a value!! I will booking this again when I return next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daveybob
Business
Canada
Jan 17, 2014

Very relaxing

Had a perfect restful and relaxing stay. My only complaints are that the gym could be a little more filled out with equipment. Expected more but it was like any regular hotel gym. Had to get a pass at real gym for the duration of my stay. Other than that is was great. Also the art hanging in the lobby was some of the worst I have ever seen in a public space. Looked like it had been curated by my 10 year old niece. Pretty trashy but hopefully it wasn't a preeminent display.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichFlo
Business
Michigan
Jan 8, 2014

Great experience

Budget and great location for a very comfortable sleep. Highly recommended for single and short stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
popmyflash
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 20, 2013

OUT NYC The best

This was my second stay at the OUT and I choose one of the Bunkhouse style rooms since this was just an over night trip and I really enjoyed it. I had one other bunk mate in the bed above he was a great room mate. I loved the individual lockers with digital lock to keep personal items in secure. The staff as always goes above and beyond. I needed a later check out time and they were able to accommodate me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnAE
Business
Pasadena CA
Oct 23, 2013

Read the small print!

The special deal of $132 a night here seemed too good to be true and it was. I arrived at the hotel to find that my reservation was for a dorm style room shared with three other people and one bath. I went back to read the ad and sure enough there it was, buried in small type several paragraphs down. Sorry, but busy business travelers don't have time to read all the minute details, we want to grab a deal and go. And anything this far out of the norm should be broadcast upfront in headlines. I ended up paying twice the expected rate. It's a hip, sleek spot with a good restaurant and night scene. No complaints. Best bet: a nice deli across the street serves omelettes for $5.95 and $5 cheeseburgers. That's for real!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The broadway deli across the street serves great breakfast and lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search