$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
96 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek, 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass Spa Atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from BPM Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotel gardens and TripAdvisor named us one of the top 10 Trendsetter Hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products from C.O. Bigelow. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. Our 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Shared Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
THE OUT Hotel has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. THE OUT has indoor and outdoor event space options as well as a variety of services that can be provided to any private event you are interested in hosting; from private dinners of 10 people to cocktail receptions of 750 people and everything in-between.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshawn
Business
Austin, Texas
Oct 27, 2012

Highly Recomend

Best hotel I've ever stayed at in New York! It's a great location,room was very comfortable, and super clean. Ill definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want to go out but not have to worry about walking just take the elevator downstairs and have an amazing time at XL nightclub!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sally Steve Travel Nuts
Business
Rose Hill, Iowa
Dec 13, 2012

Loved the OUT NYC

Simply Wonderful!!! The staff was the friendliest, fun, and very helpful with any questions. The rooms were outstanding and beautiful; and I really loved the restaurant connected to the hotel "KTCHN". The food and ambience was Great!!! Thank you to all employees at the OUT NYC for making our visit to NYC so enjoyable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants of different variety in this same area of NY, with many brunch options on the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Passenger
Business
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2013

Great overnight NYC stay

For the price, you can't beat this hotel. It is extremely clean, staff is really helpful, it is very close to Times Square and a short cab ride to the village. The onsite restaurant is really good too for a quick meal. Free WiFi also a plus. Plenty of parking garages nearby if you plan to drive in. Also for LGBT travelers, it's a nice bonus that this place is a "straight friendly" hotel with an amazing gay club in the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LADiM1Michele
Business
Colorado
Mar 1, 2013

Much needed Vacation!

After some health issues, My teen daughter and I needed a major vacation getaway so we decided New York was the place to go. We loved the ultra modern look of The OUT NYC and had heard nothing but great reviews so we booked it. I emailed management requesting a quiet room to relax and be away from noise (nightclub) but with a view. We received exactly that! They saw to it that we were comfortable and had whatever we needed. The special bath products were so relaxing and refreshing, and there was always hot water from the shower. We never had time to enjoy the spa amenities because we were too busy enjoying the city, but when we arrived from the tiring long day, the room was always spotless and I wanted to bring the bed home with me. It was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. Kenny and Erin, another staff member and Orlando were Amazing and so friendly! They had luggage storage so we could enjoy the city until our departure and even had a taxi ready for us and waiting to take us to the airport. If this was a place to live instead of a hotel, I'd definitely live there in a heartbeat! THANK YOU OUT NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway, two blocks away. Cruise tours on the Hudson River, two blocks away. There are plenty of Starbucks, and Times Square is only a couple of blocks away. *Cop shop and medical emergency center next door and across the street. Felt totally safe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tess of Guildford
Business
Guildford, England
Mar 22, 2013

Fantastic for everyone!

All the staff were so helpful, personable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and together they provided a 'safe base' to explore the city from, with such a warm 'homecoming' at the end of exhausting but fascinating days out! Not only that, all the staff we came in contact with seemed to genuinely enjoy being there too, which added to our enjoyment! Also, the local art work being exhibited was a delight! Creative and inspiring, added to the whole atmosphere, great idea and long may it continue!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right out of the hotel and the Greek restaurant across the road is real value for money. Authentic food and retsina, with great service in an intimate, friendly atmosphere - not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spencer Manuk
Business
London
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect Hotel

This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jersey south
Business
atlantic city nj
Apr 13, 2013

FIRST EXPERIENCE IN NYC

My son and I were here for his 16th birthday, We could not ask for a better place to stay. The staff was so helpful in every aspect. The decor was beautiful. I really don't understand these other reviews with complaints, our room was spotless every day, The staff was always on the floor to greet us and help with any questions we had. We arrived early and they had no problems checking us in early . I requested a room away from the club and they accomidated without any hesitation. I am looking forward to coming again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice deli cafe across the street, great food and prices. We had a great breakfeast.. Bring a coffe maker no coffee makers in room. I had a one cup maker that was perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
canastas
Business
Michigan
Jun 1, 2013

great locaction and staff

excellent value, great location, friendly staff, perfect getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moneek
Business
CT
Jun 4, 2013

I died and went to hotel heaven!!!

I stayed at the hotel for my birthday weekend and I loved it!!! My girlfriend and I were greeted with champagne at check in, I loved that part. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is the cleanest thing ever. There is a night club attached to the hotel that we went to see a burlesque show which was pretty amazing. Definitely visit the spa! I had the best massage of my life by Savas. Thank you Carmen for making sure everything went smoothly. A++++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Visit the XL night club next door, stay in for a drag show during Sunday brunch, or visit the patio on the 2nd floor for a mixer with a dj and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg P
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 10, 2013

Girls night out!

Overall, Hotel was GREAT! Clean, cute, great staff, close to time square, cool restaurant and club next to hotel. It's a gay friendly hotel which was great! I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to time square, train, and cvs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top