$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Out NYC

4 stars
510 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the... See full review

  • Zzb2
  • Jul 15, 2014
The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like... See full review

  • Aaron Haas
  • Jul 9, 2014
Sleek 4 Star Urban resort, minutes from Times Square with complimentary spa access and WiFi. Like New York City itself, THE OUT NYC is defined by limitless possibilities. Discover your home away from home in one of the hotel's 101 contemporary guest rooms and gain access to our unique outdoor spaces, expertly curated art collection, and comprehensive amenities. Experience the acclaimed culinary achievements of chef Dale Schnell at KTCHN, a modern American restaurant boasting a Mediterranean flair. Relax your mind and elevate your senses at The Spa, where our team of expert masseurs, facialists and personal trainers deliver results against the backdrop of a glass 23-foot high glass atrium, a cascading waterfall and private year-round cabanas. And when night falls and the city comes alive, you're merely few steps away from XL Nightclub, 14,000 square feet of nighttime entertainment delivered by the world's most electrifying performers, DJs and promoters. Fodor's named The OUT NYC as one of the world's most beautiful hotle gardens.

The Out NYC Rooms

Deluxe Room
Inside the room, you will be greeted by serene design, select tarries, and own brand of luxury bath products called SPA. Do business at ergonomic desk with WiFi, or escape the computer screen and watch the TV screen. 40 inch flat-screen TVs are equipped the latest programming and technology to make in-room entertainment easy. 4-Star Guest room offers one King or Queen bed.
Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
Create the perfect weekend getaway on a budget without sacrificing any of the comfort. Each of our Bunk Rooms is equipped with one bathroom and four full-sized beds separated from one another by plush privacy curtains. All four bunks include a 22-inch TV and the room features locked storage cubbies for each guest. With comfortable accommodations at the right price, you and your friends can save your money for everything NYC has to offer. Features: Maximum Occupancy: 1 per bed, work space/desk, Wireless High Speed Internet Access (fee not included), 22 Flat screen TV per bed, Individual closet space, Full Size Amenities. This is a shared accommodation.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Out NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7599 -73.9963
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport: 1 hour distance from the hotel. LaGuardia Airport: 45 minutes from the hotel. Newark Airport: 1 hr. and 15 minutes from hotel. Hotel does not offer a shuttle; hotel can arrange for a car service.
Area description
Conveniently located minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district; in the heart of Hell's Kitchen and most major transportation hubs such as Penn Station, Port Authority and NJ Transit.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Out NYC has a conference area that can be rented from anywhere between 500.00 USD and up. Hotel has outside facilities that guests can take advantage of using for events and meetings. Pricing is TBA.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Out NYC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Passenger
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2013

Great overnight NYC stay

For the price, you can't beat this hotel. It is extremely clean, staff is really helpful, it is very close to Times Square and a short cab ride to the village. The onsite restaurant is really good too for a quick meal. Free WiFi also a plus. Plenty of parking garages nearby if you plan to drive in. Also for LGBT travelers, it's a nice bonus that this place is a "straight friendly" hotel with an amazing gay club in the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zzb2
Ontario
Jul 15, 2014

Impressed

My room was great. It was at the front and overlooked the street. Some rooms had windows on the courtyard and would have less privacy. The bathroom was luxurious. The king bed was super comfortable. Very modern and funky vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Traveling Mike
Denver, Colorado
Jul 9, 2014

Wonderful Stay

I'd give it a four and a half star rating if this review would me. The staff was friendly and very helpful, going so far as to offer recommendations of things to visit beyond NYC as my next stop was in Connecticut. They are aware that the attached club on the property can be noisy, but is only open for days a week. They will happily move you to an available room if you have any issues with noise or the room itself. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were very clean, and the housekeeping staff strives to keep the hotel looking great. Keep your eyes out for the notices about hotel events (like the Sunday Barbeque in the hotel courtyard or Wednesday wine tasting) and explore what the hotel has to offer. I'm glad to say I know where I want to stay on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Up 9th and 10th Avenues around 46th-48th Street are a bunch of restaurants if you'd like to check out more local restaurants rather than the big chains in the Times Square area

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron Haas
Boulder, Co
Jul 9, 2014

The ONLY place to stay in NYC!!!

The Out is definately IN!!!!. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very clean. I don't like showers that are only half a door, the floor is constantly wet!!! However, that is not a deterent from staying there EVERY time I am in NY. The Gym is excellent!!! The Hot tub could have been hotter!!! The Suanas are great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miami dougie
miami florida
Jun 24, 2014

better than expwcted

Great location comfortable room great value ,i shared a room with.three others No issue,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cecilewithlove
Paris
Jun 19, 2014

cleaning has to be improved

The room wasn't so clean and doesn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JelloMat
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2014

Fine for last minute and affordable, but..

This hotel was in a great location and I booked it three hours before my arrival. That's a good thing. But the noise level in the place is awful. The adjacent club booms through the walls until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ar fun
Sunnyvale ca
Jun 15, 2014

fun

The staff was very helpful, but the rooms did not supply you with writing material witch was in convent, the kitchen restaurant was really good the New York steak strip was marvelous great conversation with staff would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do Good
Business
SF,CA
Jun 13, 2014

Fun place to stay

I don't usually stay at trendy hotels, because they are out of my price range. But I was on a last minute work trip and more economical choices were harder to come by, so I splurged a bit :) Nice decor and art (really like the photo gallery of Drag Race stars). Outdoor lounge and hot tub looked fun, but vacant. Workout room seemed decent but small. Room was nice and everything worked and was comfortable and attractive. Only complaint is that even with all the lights on it was dim. Also had intermittent internet issues logging onto my work email. Bed and sheets were very comfortable and the giant flat screen tv looked great. Location is convenient located near but not on top of Times Square, theaters and the HK bar scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
getlagniappe
New Orleans, LA
Jun 10, 2014

Shared quad is a fantastic value, but VERY noisy on Saturday nights

If you've stayed in a hostel before, the shared quad room at The Out NYC is an amazing value. You get all the amenities of an upscale hotel without the price tag. I spent four nights at The Out, and everything was as expected except on Saturday night. The music from the club is VERY loud -- even with earplugs, I wasn't able to sleep because of the bass. The club also doesn't close until 4:30am, so unless you plan on staying out all night, you're stuck with it. The front desk offered to move me to a standard room, and the music was even louder there -- so loud it vibrated the bed! The restaurant staff told me they couldn't help me when I asked for quarters for the bus, which was odd. Other than that, I had a fantastic time at this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Room Service is a Thai restaurant that's a short walk from the hotel. It's a posh atmosphere without an absurd price tag for food or drinks.

Review of The Out NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garbobee
New York
May 21, 2014

Nice clean modern room

The hotel was easy to check in, nice clean decent size rooms. However please note the hotel caters to the gay community. I did not know this when I made my reservation. There was a patio mixer right outside my door the first day I got there and it was strictly a gay crowd. The next day the hotel hosted a pool party and that also was mainly for gays. The parties were packed and looked fun but since I'm not gay there just was no interest for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great if you are gay

Back to menu Return to top