$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
87 reviews
Excellent

The Moderne Hotel is situated ideally for anyone wanting to visit Manhattan. We were sceptical as... See full review

  • Christopher E.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Excellent NYC hotel

This was my second time staying at the Moderne and I will definitely go back. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Jan 17, 2015
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kennee12
Business
Appleton, WI
Mar 31, 2011

Nice place, little out of the way

The hotel itself is nice; a little on the older side, but clean enough and adequate for the price range. Staff was very friendly and helpful, surrounding neighborhood is nice but traffic is noisy (not sure you're going to escape that in NYC). Room was actually larger than expected from previous visits to New York. The only draw back was the distance from the "hot spots" of NYC. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the subway (not a bad walk, in a nice area with shops/diners) which is useful for getting places like Times Square, Broadway, Greenwich, and Brooklyn. Don't plan on walking to these places as this hotel is a little too far uptown. Overall, a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wash dc
Apr 19, 2010

Not Quite Right

I ordered a King size bed room and when i got there I was given two full size beds. I was told there were no Kings available when i did request a new room. Not what I reserved. The room was as described, albeit a bit dirtier than I would appreciate, but I chalk that up to the oldness of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Irish place across the street, McGees Was fantastic if you like old style Irish Pubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo Arias
Business
Virginia, USA
Mar 14, 2012

City Life

Let me just start by telling you all that this hotel is good stuff. The hotel is very modern and clean which it will make your stay an expericanse to remember. The Parking lot is next to the hotel and it is only $20 after validation. The only down of this hotel is that as of March 2012 there is a major construction going on right in the from of the hotel so don't plan to sleep late because of all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequenttravelerfromdc
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 25, 2012

Exactly what I expected

Clean, comfortable and pleasant. Great location. Zero issues, which is what you want in a hotel experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2010

Great hotel for the price and location!

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to many nearby attractions and go running every morning in Central Park. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. Our room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is so close by! Make sure to take advantage of all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay89
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jul 16, 2014

Great location

The hotel staff were amazing especially Robby! He helped us plan out all our outings in NYC. The hotel is clean and in an ideal location. Everything is close by. The only thing is that the rooms are not too big but that is expected as most places in NYC are not that roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dnismu
Business
Ontario Canada
Sep 20, 2011

Moderne-Great Value

We were greeted by friendly staff, who immediatly gave us details of the area, what to see etc. The room was small but very comfortable, lovely bathroom. The complimentary continental breakfast was a great start to the day and the complimentary evening wine and cheese in the lounge a great opportunity to meet other people staying there. The staff were very helpful the whole time, and always greeted us with a smile. Good food at the pub across the road, not such a good breakfast at the place (9th St) up the block on the corner. (greasy and expensive) We visited lots of places and the hop on - hop off bus was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the hop on-hop off bus and 10 attractions. Too much to see in 3 days. The bus and 5 attractions would be a better deal and probably all used. Recommend the harbour cruise, Ground Zero, and Empire State Building. Take good comfortable shoes, still lots of walking-even with a bus pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Enjoyable, relaxing getaway

Recently renovated and really cool hotel! Staff was friendly and amazing, room was very comfortable and clean. Location is perfect for NYC sightseeing or just hanging out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaCS
Business
London, England
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

The hotel is in a really good location, only a 10 minute walk from Times Square, but still a reasonably quiet street for how close it is. If you like How I Met Your Mother, the bar McClarens was based on is practically opposite. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. What I didn't notice on the website so I'm not sure they mention it, is that there is a guest lounge where they serve cake from 7 - 11am (but put whatever's left in the fridge so sometimes you're lucky if you get there a little late) and there are also unlimited hot drinks and water there. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was going to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepy30
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 17, 2014

Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to catch a show in the city, or hang out in Times Square. I cannot recommend this hotel more...I would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel is this AMAZING Japanese restaurant - Yakitori Toto. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top