$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's... See full review

  • JJ Flores
  • Jul 21, 2014
The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made... See full review

  • Supermanguy
  • Jul 4, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 75
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Njos
Woodland hills, ca
Sep 27, 2012

Couple get away

Staff was extremely pleasant. Room was very small but very clean, bed was comfortable but the hotel was missing many amendities, lobby was more like a motel than a hotel and there was no bar or exercise center on the premises. Elevated was extremely slow and there were only 8 floors. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ennes
Bay Area, Calif
Nov 17, 2013

good concept, incomplete

shoddy finish in construction and decor ( last stages still in progress ) , some rooms are shoeboxes(ours), bathroom has no shower curtains or shower enclosure, no counter space whatsoever in bathroom. little in the room itself, haphazard mounting and pacement of cabinets, armoires, tv, protruding bedframe in very tight space a huge safery hazard...we had to place a couple of pillows at the foot of the bed to avoid jamming our tibia against a pointed corner...they need to make some serious changes inside to be recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIC, VA
Dec 15, 2010

Wont get any sleep at the Moderne

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. When we entered the building the check-in desk informed us they were doing renovations and to please excuse the noise as we could barely hear her give us our room number. Not exactly they way to start off a vacation. Positive side: The rooms were clean with a great location to the subway and attractions close by. Negative: The rooms were small (could not walk around the bed with our luggage in the room), the bathrooms did not have a closing door to the shower so the bathroom floor would fill with standing water after two people showered. We used the room to sleep and shower as we wanted to experience as much of New York as possible and that is why we were not picky on a fancy hotel. But we could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (hearing neighbors cough, sneeze, blow dry hair, flush toilets, and what they had on the TV) as well as the door to the room did not have a seal and you could see the light into the hallway. We slept terribly even when we were exhausted. The hotel also provides an ice bucket for the room, but has no ice machine or drink machine. We had a wonderful experience of New York, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcgee3
nyc
Jul 20, 2012

unimpressed

overall decent experience however, given its 4 star reviews, i expected much much more. staff was friendly but extremely unhelpful when, at 3am our bathroom light was stuck on and could not be turned off. we were told to wait until 8am for maintenance which, given the small nature of the room, lent itself to a rough night of sleep. (not to mention maintenance never even showed up) overall ok but for the cost im definitely trying something else next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saultzy
Chicago
May 5, 2014

3 Star hotel tryng to be a 4 star

This hotel looks a little seedy. They are trying to be better but they miss. The room is VERY small but that is typical NY. The cleaning crew could do better. We had a bath mat on the first day but b=never saw one again. They gave us one little soap for both the shower and sink and after the room was cleaned they did not replace the soap but left it on the floor of the shower. We asked for our sheets to be changed but they weren't. They do offer complimentary coffee and cake in the morning which is nice and the staff tries to be very helpful. It is fine to stay here if you want to be in that area and use it just for sleeping but I would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollywally
Ripon, Ca.
Apr 18, 2013

Great location

Staff was great, first time to NY so not much to compare it to. Very small room, very small.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything. Staff recommended Italian Restaurant, Serapino's which was great and just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocohantas
Millsboro, DE
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible night's sleep

We were satisfied with the hotel thought it was an excellent value and location. When we returned to the room at night we noticed the smoke alarm was missing and wires were hanging from the ceiling where one must have been at one time. We called the front desk to tell them and there was no answer, this was at 9:30pm. At 10.00pm I called the front desk again to see if I could get a wake uo call the next morning and again no answer. At 1:30am we were awaken by a vibrating noise. We got up to see if there was something we could do to get it to stop but it almost sounded as if it was coming from inside the wall. We didn't bother calling the front desk, since our earlier calls went unanswered. We had a terrible night's sleep. The noise would stop after 15 minutes and just as we were able to get back to sleep it would start again and repeat this pattern all night. When we spoke to the front desk upon check out she did apologize but said since we didn't report it there was no documentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, ma
Jan 31, 2011

Great location! Tiny room, good price

It was good, you dont get much for your money and the bed wasn't very comfortable, and heater made a lot of noise, but it was a great location and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
25th Wedding Anniversary celebration
Miami
May 12, 2010

Great Location

The Moderne Hotel is a great little hotel off the beaten path. Very friendly, helpful staff. Room was ample for NY standards. Location is outstanding walk to everything, subway close by. In the heart of Times square local. It's not your luxury hotel, but, I found it to be very comfortable and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

JUST DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EXPLORE, WALK INSTEAD OF TAKING CABS! YOU WILL GET THE TRUE NY EXPERIENCE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSU Nut
Ohio
Jun 5, 2012

OSU Getaway

Visited NYC for a friends wedding. The location was spectacular! Just a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. Could not ask for a better, more accommodating staff. Everyone was attentive and friendly. No request was denied! Despite the construction across the street it was relatively quiet. If you are looking for a high rise view this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is extremely clean. Only thing we could find wrong with our room was the bathroom door was difficult to close. At times had difficulty with staying connected to Wi-Fi. Highly recommend for location, attentive staff and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many fantastic locations to dine. Easy to find dining within several price ranges. Hotel staff excellent for recommending and giving directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search