$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 83
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 30, 2014

Didnt stay

I checked in late on May 27th. It was a hot day in the city and at 1130p, it was still 78 degrees outside. I was assigned room 804 and when I got to the room, the room had two fans that were running at high speed. Hmmm. why could that be? is that because someone else had checked in and found that the air conditioning in this room was broken? I was quite disappointed that the hotel tried to assign me a room like this, knowing that the room was sub par. Thankfully, the front desk tried to move me to another hotel and finally allowed me to check out without a cancellation fee. Sadly, at midnight, this did not leave me much solace. With all that being said, the room was nice. Nothing fancy but well decorated. The room actually had a balcony and under the right circumstances, I could see enjoying the room. Two other points worth mentioning: the elevator in the building was down the day before and I heard about this from several guests; there is no workout room at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKHawkeye
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Just a few glitches

This hotel would be perfect for NYC if not for 2 things: the mirror above the desk needed to be cleaned. It had some drippings on it that I didn't want to think about. Also when I walked in the heat was on full blast and set to 90. It was unbearable! I tried to turn it to cool but no luck. The windows don't open either. So I called the desk hoping they'd just give me a new room but instead sent up a guy. He had to switch it to A/C to cool things down and then said they'd come back when it was 70 to switch it back. Keep in mind at this point it was 10:30 pm. So I took a walk to cool off. I then watched TV for an hour and got it to 80. I turned it off and fell asleep. When I woke up it was at 68 which is perfect for me. It was weird but would not prevent me from coming back. If you're used to NYC sized rooms then I recommend this one. Everything else was clean and safe. The staff was super friendly!!! If I have another client meeting in this neighborhood I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a French brasserie called Cognac. I ate lunch here alone and they were so great! Excellent food and nice people. I can tell it was a favorite of the locals because it became very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Business trip

Great staff and very helpful. The hotel does need a lot of work to make it feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dlctxatty
Business
Austin, Texas
Feb 20, 2013

Moderne stay

The rooms are really small, elevator slow, no ice buckets in rooms, but the bed was comfortable and the location was good. It was a good value for the price, but definitely not a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Broadway activities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avg. traveler
Business
Maine
Nov 23, 2014

Not as advertised

Reasonably comfortable bed with some troubling experience. Only one elevator which was broken at the time I had to leave with all my bags down 6 flights of narrow stairs. No glass between shower and toilet and toilet paper and trash can getting everything else in bathroom wet. Last problem was noisy heater which evidently didn't work at all for some other guests while I was staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Traveling Gina
Business
Washington DC
Dec 7, 2014

Needs better HVAC system

This is a great location but without decent HVAC, it is too hot to rate a return trip. It was renovated and it is quiet but you have to open the window to get any air flow. Hotel staff relocated me but honestly it was just too hot. Very clean and nice strong shower. TV wasn't working properly. Comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexAP
Business
London
Jan 23, 2012

Nice hotel and rooms

Great staff. Great bed and bathroom. Rooms do not really have windows and breakfast is more than light. But wireless is free, rooms were very affordable and hotel is quite central, so could not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vico loves football
Business
potomac, md
Feb 10, 2014

very good rooms

very good rooms and a beautiful location a big surprise after being in the lobby that is "worrying" please improve your lobby !!! people at the front desk are very nice and helpful they make up for what is missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 9, 2014

Love this Hotel

Great bathroom! Nice mattress! Tv too! Really classy Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ Flores
Business
laredo
Jul 21, 2014

Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's honestly my home away from home ! I know everyone there and they have become my family when I am there for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay Clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top