$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy from Charlotte
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Dec 24, 2012

Great Stay

Our stay at the Moderne was perfect. We went to see Wicked (the play on Broadway) and were looking for a place to stay close by. The Moderne was just about a block (maybe 2) away. Recommendations by the hotel staff for several bars and a restaurant turned out to be excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area. Our room was exactly what we were expecting - very recently updated and immaculate. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valhala (or something spelled very close to this) had an excellent selection of craft beers.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
physican
Couples
key west
Aug 7, 2013

moderne

I am a physician from a small town and decided to give this hotel a try. it was great! from customer service to the rooms. great location! I highly recommend tis hotel daren

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VatoSteve
Couples
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 24, 2013

Great Place, Great Location

The perfect place to lay your head. Nothing special about amenities and wifi was slow, but when in New York you shouldn't be staying in your hotel. Close to everything you need to experience the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

99 cent pizza just around the corner

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nellykins1
Couples
Lancaster, England
Oct 2, 2013

Excellent & convenient

Hotel was in a great location for all the major tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a decent size and very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Full Time Traveller
Couples
All over the US
Jun 16, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

When we checked in we had arrived early in the city and the hotel allowed us to both check out bags early at 9am when our check in was 3pm, they also allowed us to check into our room at noon instead of 3pm. The front desk guy asked us about our trip and gave us some advice on what subways to take to get to our destinations fastest. The door man was also very courteous and friendly. The room was about as big as we expected for the price given the cost of other hotels in the area and on par with our travels to other big cities. The shower was so amazingly refreshing after a long day of walking. Not being from the city we were worried about the noise in the city that never sleeps but our room was quiet enough to hear a pin drop. After our long day we sank into out comfy bed like falling into a cloud. The location was perfect for our trip around Manhattan. They also validate parking for the parking garage that is literally next door. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermanguy
Houston,TX
Jul 4, 2014

The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made our experience so pleasant. He went above and beyond and over the top with his great customer service. The room was so nice and quiet. The room was always clean and smelled great as if we were in a spa . I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near the hotel within walking distance . Central Park, time square, broadway and the subways...

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ Flores
Business
laredo
Jul 21, 2014

Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's honestly my home away from home ! I know everyone there and they have become my family when I am there for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay Clubs

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Max Van
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Oct 5, 2014

Hotel staffs are very very friendly, treating you just like friends

The hotel staffs just like Robin is extremely friendly, very informative & helpful. The hotel location is very close to everything. A few minutes walk, you can get to subway. Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gyghmbo
Business
Boise, ID
Oct 29, 2014

Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio City, all shows, and a close walk to Central Park. The Carnegie Deli is right there as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very modern and nice with great soaps and shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepy30
Friends
Philadelphia PA
Nov 17, 2014

Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to catch a show in the city, or hang out in Times Square. I cannot recommend this hotel more...I would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel is this AMAZING Japanese restaurant - Yakitori Toto. Enjoy!

Back to menu Return to top