$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jim from California
Business
Foster City, California
Dec 3, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

The Moderne is located in an excellent neighborhood, close to Central Park. Great restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel staff can direct you to the best places to dine and explore. Very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy from Charlotte
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 24, 2012

Great Stay

Our stay at the Moderne was perfect. We went to see Wicked (the play on Broadway) and were looking for a place to stay close by. The Moderne was just about a block (maybe 2) away. Recommendations by the hotel staff for several bars and a restaurant turned out to be excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area. Our room was exactly what we were expecting - very recently updated and immaculate. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valhala (or something spelled very close to this) had an excellent selection of craft beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
physican
Business
key west
Aug 7, 2013

moderne

I am a physician from a small town and decided to give this hotel a try. it was great! from customer service to the rooms. great location! I highly recommend tis hotel daren

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VatoSteve
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 24, 2013

Great Place, Great Location

The perfect place to lay your head. Nothing special about amenities and wifi was slow, but when in New York you shouldn't be staying in your hotel. Close to everything you need to experience the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

99 cent pizza just around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nellykins1
Business
Lancaster, England
Oct 2, 2013

Excellent & convenient

Hotel was in a great location for all the major tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a decent size and very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaCS
Business
London, England
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

The hotel is in a really good location, only a 10 minute walk from Times Square, but still a reasonably quiet street for how close it is. If you like How I Met Your Mother, the bar McClarens was based on is practically opposite. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. What I didn't notice on the website so I'm not sure they mention it, is that there is a guest lounge where they serve cake from 7 - 11am (but put whatever's left in the fridge so sometimes you're lucky if you get there a little late) and there are also unlimited hot drinks and water there. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was going to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Db14
Business
London
Mar 10, 2014

my hotel

Staff were very warm and courteous. Wouldn't believe you are in the heart of Manhattan...very quiet. Will definitely recommend to friends n family. Learnt I'm entitled to 15% discount on my next visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Luigi pizza, what a tasty pizza they serve. C21 - a good place to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Full Time Traveller
Business
All over the US
Jun 16, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

When we checked in we had arrived early in the city and the hotel allowed us to both check out bags early at 9am when our check in was 3pm, they also allowed us to check into our room at noon instead of 3pm. The front desk guy asked us about our trip and gave us some advice on what subways to take to get to our destinations fastest. The door man was also very courteous and friendly. The room was about as big as we expected for the price given the cost of other hotels in the area and on par with our travels to other big cities. The shower was so amazingly refreshing after a long day of walking. Not being from the city we were worried about the noise in the city that never sleeps but our room was quiet enough to hear a pin drop. After our long day we sank into out comfy bed like falling into a cloud. The location was perfect for our trip around Manhattan. They also validate parking for the parking garage that is literally next door. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermanguy
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 4, 2014

The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made our experience so pleasant. He went above and beyond and over the top with his great customer service. The room was so nice and quiet. The room was always clean and smelled great as if we were in a spa . I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near the hotel within walking distance . Central Park, time square, broadway and the subways...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ Flores
Business
laredo
Jul 21, 2014

Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's honestly my home away from home ! I know everyone there and they have become my family when I am there for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay Clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top