$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Esq
Business
Davie
Mar 9, 2015

Couple trip to the City

The hotel was good. The sign on the front of the building which states part of it is not habitable is a bit discouraging.. but it's only for the basement and has something to do with the prior owner. The rooms were decent, although there seemed to be mold or something in the bathroom ceiling. The room is small, but that's to be expected in the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great and the price is awesome. If I didn't intentionally pick a new hotel for every visit, I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaCS
Business
London, England
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

The hotel is in a really good location, only a 10 minute walk from Times Square, but still a reasonably quiet street for how close it is. If you like How I Met Your Mother, the bar McClarens was based on is practically opposite. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. What I didn't notice on the website so I'm not sure they mention it, is that there is a guest lounge where they serve cake from 7 - 11am (but put whatever's left in the fridge so sometimes you're lucky if you get there a little late) and there are also unlimited hot drinks and water there. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was going to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Db14
Business
London
Mar 10, 2014

my hotel

Staff were very warm and courteous. Wouldn't believe you are in the heart of Manhattan...very quiet. Will definitely recommend to friends n family. Learnt I'm entitled to 15% discount on my next visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Luigi pizza, what a tasty pizza they serve. C21 - a good place to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dnismu
Business
Ontario Canada
Sep 20, 2011

Moderne-Great Value

We were greeted by friendly staff, who immediatly gave us details of the area, what to see etc. The room was small but very comfortable, lovely bathroom. The complimentary continental breakfast was a great start to the day and the complimentary evening wine and cheese in the lounge a great opportunity to meet other people staying there. The staff were very helpful the whole time, and always greeted us with a smile. Good food at the pub across the road, not such a good breakfast at the place (9th St) up the block on the corner. (greasy and expensive) We visited lots of places and the hop on - hop off bus was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the hop on-hop off bus and 10 attractions. Too much to see in 3 days. The bus and 5 attractions would be a better deal and probably all used. Recommend the harbour cruise, Ground Zero, and Empire State Building. Take good comfortable shoes, still lots of walking-even with a bus pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TALI 512
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Fantastic Location

All I can say is wow... This is a eclectic new age up class boutique 37 room hotel with complete Euro sleek design that would make you fall in love. Oh and one more thing. Best hotel bed ever. Worth every penny and 2 blocks from Time square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mieck
Business
Bergen op Zoom The Netherlands
Jan 21, 2012

Absolutely fantastic

Room was very nice, staff was awesome, so helpfull! Bed was nice and soft, bath room was spacious. Lounge was also very nice! Great coffee!!! We will definitly return to the Moderne!!! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

century 21 on broadway and columbus! Way better than the big one downtown!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Enjoyable, relaxing getaway

Recently renovated and really cool hotel! Staff was friendly and amazing, room was very comfortable and clean. Location is perfect for NYC sightseeing or just hanging out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggrushovenko
Business
Greenville, SC
Apr 13, 2012

Pleasent stay!

My wife and I spend three enjoyeble nights in this charming europian style butique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk away from Time Square to 9th av for food. Hells Kithchen is great for dinner choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MomandDaughter
Business
North Carolina, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Completely Chic and Marvelous!

This hotel was everything expected and more for a NYC experience. The hotel was small and made us feel very comfortable. I could not believe how close we were to Time Square and you're practically on Broadway! Soooo cool! The staff was among the friendliest people in the whole city! We would stay there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From our Hotel we could make it to the subway station in less that 10 mins! It took us to some amazing hot spot dinning in NYC! The Chelsea area is great for delish food! We had appetizers that were good meal size portions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and 40 year old
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Jul 15, 2012

Loving NYC - Again!

I treated my daughter to a trip to NYC for her 40th birthday, and , since she loves modern decor, I picked The Moderne to stay at. She loved it and we both enjoyed our quiet, dark room, the wonderful showerhead, the friendliness of all the staff, the great location - accessible to all the sights we wanted to see. With both of us being environmentalists, we we happy to see all the steps The Moderne has taken to save energy, water, etc. Thanks for a wonderful experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top