$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
81 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barney's Mom
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 5, 2012

Great Location, Location, Location

Very nice experience. Also very clean and the staff were all friendly and willing to help. The location was great in that walking either uptown or downtown was an option. Would definitely stay there again and also recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Jabberwocky
Business
Norcal
Oct 17, 2012

Where it's at

The Moderne has quite a bit going for it: attentive, friendly staff, clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms, a spectacular lounge, complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, coffee cake, etc. in the morning, free Wi-Fi, and so on. But without a doubt, as wonderful as all those things are, what is even better is it's location. Conveniently located in the heart of Midtown, The Moderne is the perfect starting point for any New York City adventure. Furthermore, it is completely surrounded by a host of first rate bars and restaurants. (The Carnegie Deli is right around the corner!) If you are planning a visit to NYC and can't decide where to stay, let me do it for you: Stay at The Moderne. You'll be oh so glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmy2361
Business
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Oct 23, 2012

Great Spot in Midtown Manhattan

My husband and I were in NY for the first time from Oct 4-7, 2012. We booked The Moderne with a flight+hotel package and it was the best deal we found. We arrived in the evening and had a quick check in, the concierge explained the hotel amenities and offered to help with anything we needed during our stay. Room was really nice, clean and modern. Very comfortable king size bed with fresh linens and pillows. The bathroom was clean and had everything you would need for a weekend away. The rain shower was a nice surprise too. The room is not big compared to normal hotel rooms but from what I hear, pretty standard for New York. The guest lounge was convenient in the morning where you could grab fruit, coffee cake, coffee, tea and water before heading out for the day. The concierges were all very pleasant and helpful in making dinner reservations, calling us a taxi and pointing us in the right direction depending on what we had planned. My husband arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the hotel upon our arrival and they ensured it was chilled in the mini-fridge when we arrived (although providing us with champagne glasses would have been a nice touch). The Moderne is in a great location; walking distance to Central Park and Times Square and only a block to 7th Ave subway which will get you anywhere. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a funky, clean, well staffed spot in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not wait in line for the tourist ferry to see the Statue of Liberty. The lines are insanely long and you have to pay to get on the boat. Instead, walk to the Whitehall Terminal and take the Staten Island ferry which goes right by the statue and is free! You also get a great view of the skyline on the return trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spenn2000
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 27, 2012

A great location when visiting the City!

The Moderne is an ideally situated, clean and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan with friendly accommodating staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small (as expected) but I would have preferred a bit more space to be able to unpack my suitcase. A nice touch is the complimentary coffee and cake available in the 2nd floor lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDNYC
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2012

A good find

Room on 1st floor was very small (with an even smaller bathroom), but if that doesn't bother you then it is a good place. Lobby and lounge were also small, but serviceable. Room had no view also. But, place was cean, king size bed was very comfortable and, with no view, room was very dark. Noise, even on first floor, was almost nothing. Loved the funky designs and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequenttravelerfromdc
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 25, 2012

Exactly what I expected

Clean, comfortable and pleasant. Great location. Zero issues, which is what you want in a hotel experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2013

The Modern is a 'clean well lighted place' at the core of the Big Apple!!!!

Booked to have a place to stay over night after a concert at Madison Square Garden, the Modern was perfect in every way. It's just off Broadway so its walking distance from Time's Square and a very quick cab ride to the Garden. From the warm and professional reception from "Angel" who greeted me on arrival, to the spacious, quiet, clean, ultra modern room, to the rain fall white tile and glass shower, to complimentary 1pm late check out, to the way "Victoria" stepped in to work with the parking garage to get me the information I needed on how to get my car back, although I had lost my parking ticket. Perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Therapy is a very cool and friendly gay lounge on W 52 and it has the most amazing floor shows and excellent decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vico loves football
Business
potomac, md
Feb 10, 2014

very good rooms

very good rooms and a beautiful location a big surprise after being in the lobby that is "worrying" please improve your lobby !!! people at the front desk are very nice and helpful they make up for what is missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patbrock47
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Great location

For the price and location this hotel was great. The room are a decent size and the bathroom ha a little funky layout, but the room had everything you'd need in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant next to the hotel was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2010

Great hotel for the price and location!

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to many nearby attractions and go running every morning in Central Park. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. Our room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is so close by! Make sure to take advantage of all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top