$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JewelsK
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Sep 12, 2012

Great NYC boutique hotel!

Loved that they had a lounge with coffee/tea, water that they infused with different fruits (lemon, orange, cucumber), and fresh fruit available all day long! Very quiet. Decor was modern and tasteful, not over the top like I've heard others are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dnptrs
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 17, 2012

Cool Place

This was an interesting place to stay. I've stayed in many hotels in NYC and this is one that I would go back to. The only problem I have with it was that there were no windows in my room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barney's Mom
Couples
Rochester, NY
Oct 5, 2012

Great Location, Location, Location

Very nice experience. Also very clean and the staff were all friendly and willing to help. The location was great in that walking either uptown or downtown was an option. Would definitely stay there again and also recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Jabberwocky
Couples
Norcal
Oct 17, 2012

Where it's at

The Moderne has quite a bit going for it: attentive, friendly staff, clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms, a spectacular lounge, complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, coffee cake, etc. in the morning, free Wi-Fi, and so on. But without a doubt, as wonderful as all those things are, what is even better is it's location. Conveniently located in the heart of Midtown, The Moderne is the perfect starting point for any New York City adventure. Furthermore, it is completely surrounded by a host of first rate bars and restaurants. (The Carnegie Deli is right around the corner!) If you are planning a visit to NYC and can't decide where to stay, let me do it for you: Stay at The Moderne. You'll be oh so glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spenn2000
Los Angeles, California
Oct 27, 2012

A great location when visiting the City!

The Moderne is an ideally situated, clean and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan with friendly accommodating staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small (as expected) but I would have preferred a bit more space to be able to unpack my suitcase. A nice touch is the complimentary coffee and cake available in the 2nd floor lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDNYC
Couples
New York
Dec 13, 2012

A good find

Room on 1st floor was very small (with an even smaller bathroom), but if that doesn't bother you then it is a good place. Lobby and lounge were also small, but serviceable. Room had no view also. But, place was cean, king size bed was very comfortable and, with no view, room was very dark. Noise, even on first floor, was almost nothing. Loved the funky designs and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequenttravelerfromdc
Friends
Washington, D.C.
Dec 25, 2012

Exactly what I expected

Clean, comfortable and pleasant. Great location. Zero issues, which is what you want in a hotel experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2013

The Modern is a 'clean well lighted place' at the core of the Big Apple!!!!

Booked to have a place to stay over night after a concert at Madison Square Garden, the Modern was perfect in every way. It's just off Broadway so its walking distance from Time's Square and a very quick cab ride to the Garden. From the warm and professional reception from "Angel" who greeted me on arrival, to the spacious, quiet, clean, ultra modern room, to the rain fall white tile and glass shower, to complimentary 1pm late check out, to the way "Victoria" stepped in to work with the parking garage to get me the information I needed on how to get my car back, although I had lost my parking ticket. Perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Therapy is a very cool and friendly gay lounge on W 52 and it has the most amazing floor shows and excellent decor.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2010

Great hotel for the price and location!

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to many nearby attractions and go running every morning in Central Park. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. Our room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is so close by! Make sure to take advantage of all it has to offer.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Aug 6, 2010

Nice Fun Hotel

Enjoyed the room, we got a free upgrade to a suite and it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top