$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexAP
Business
London
Jan 23, 2012

Nice hotel and rooms

Great staff. Great bed and bathroom. Rooms do not really have windows and breakfast is more than light. But wireless is free, rooms were very affordable and hotel is quite central, so could not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Fantastic!

We enjoyed staying at this hotel during a weekend getaway to NYC. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was clean and the decor was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo Arias
Business
Virginia, USA
Mar 14, 2012

City Life

Let me just start by telling you all that this hotel is good stuff. The hotel is very modern and clean which it will make your stay an expericanse to remember. The Parking lot is next to the hotel and it is only $20 after validation. The only down of this hotel is that as of March 2012 there is a major construction going on right in the from of the hotel so don't plan to sleep late because of all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action711
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

A Great Stay

I was on a family vacation and needed two rooms. Based on the location/reviews/price I selected The Moderne for a first-time stay. The rooms were as-depicted on the web photographs and were very clean. There is not a lot of floorspace or closet space, but that was not unexpected for the price in NYC. Easy walk to Times Square and the subway. Staff was uniformly pleasant and courteous. I loved the sitting room on the second floor where you could get coffee and coffee cake in the morning. Convenient restaurants nearby. Professionally I am a hotelier (not affiliated with The Moderne) and I was most pleased with my stay. Will stay here again without a second thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

How to succeed in business with Nick Jonas was very popular with the family, good solid production. Eat at Jr.'s Cheesecake one block away afterwards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACKeepsitCool
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 3, 2012

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

The Moderne was in a great location in relation to food, Central Park, the theater district, sight seeing, and shopping. The room was well decorated and the 35 room hotel made for a quaint retreat from the hustle of the city. The downside was the close proximity to other rooms; the residents next to us had a small child that they let run and make noise in the early morning hours. The single elevator was challenging. The lounge was cool and I certainly appreciated the coffee, tea, and coffee cake in the morning. I will certainly stay at The Moderne again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samkin
Business
Sc
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect for a couple

Great staff. Great bed. Great location. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSU Nut
Business
Ohio
Jun 5, 2012

OSU Getaway

Visited NYC for a friends wedding. The location was spectacular! Just a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. Could not ask for a better, more accommodating staff. Everyone was attentive and friendly. No request was denied! Despite the construction across the street it was relatively quiet. If you are looking for a high rise view this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is extremely clean. Only thing we could find wrong with our room was the bathroom door was difficult to close. At times had difficulty with staying connected to Wi-Fi. Highly recommend for location, attentive staff and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many fantastic locations to dine. Easy to find dining within several price ranges. Hotel staff excellent for recommending and giving directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2citykid
Business
York Pa
Jun 21, 2012

Great Spot

It was a very comfortable location for what we had in mind. Minites away from Central Park and great restaurants all around. The rooms where very sheek and clean. I do recomend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DW Burnette
Business
Fitzgerald, GA
Aug 7, 2012

Staff was excellent.

Everything was great about the this hotel with a couple of exceptions. The elevator was EXTREMELY slow and the room just would not get cool. However, the staff were not only friendly they were also very helpful and eager to please. A special thank you to Teddy, the afternoon front desk worker, he was especially great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Phantom of the Opera is just fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister Sister NYC
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 8, 2012

Great Location, Swanky decor

The Moderne was great. I was in NY for a long weekend and couldn't have picked a better hotel for the price. The room was small but designed well so you don't feel cramped. They even had an iPad for loan which was great. The staff was great and very helpful. It is close enough to get to broadway shows but far enough that you are not in the middle of the craziness of Times Square. I would highly recommend The Moderne....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easily accessible to Broadway shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top