$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcgee3
Business
nyc
Jul 20, 2012

unimpressed

overall decent experience however, given its 4 star reviews, i expected much much more. staff was friendly but extremely unhelpful when, at 3am our bathroom light was stuck on and could not be turned off. we were told to wait until 8am for maintenance which, given the small nature of the room, lent itself to a rough night of sleep. (not to mention maintenance never even showed up) overall ok but for the cost im definitely trying something else next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoGuys
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff, slightly above-average accommodations

We stayed at the Moderne for 4 days, September 2012. It is a small, boutique hotel located on W 55th Street between 7th and 8th. The room we booked was apparently the smallest and least expensive available. It was quite small w/one window that opened on a light well (i.e., no view), but adequately clean & comfortable with energy-saving features (place the room keycard in a special slot inside the door to activate the A/C & interior lights; remove the keycard and everything shuts off within seconds). The hotel has a tiny lobby and there is no health club or business center on site; however, the Moderne has an arrangement with a neighboring hotel for the use of their facilities. The hotel does furnish free Internet wi-fi and there is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The Moderne has 7 floors serviced by a single very slow elevator. I should mention that the decor throughout the building is a jangling mix of 'moderne-retro'--i.e., silvers, bright reds, blacks, animal prints, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. A 38 story high-rise is under construction across the street from the hotel (pretty much the case all over NYC), so there is some construction noise, which might affect rooms fronting 55th (our room was near the back so we didn't notice any objectionable racket). Staff is cordial and helpful (always a plus). The Moderne is easy walking distance to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and multiple subway stations. There are several very fine restaurants near the hotel (Nocello's Italian is just doors away and highly rated). All in all, not a bad value, though the place could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nocello's Italian restaurant is maybe 100 feet away from the hotel's W 55th Street entrance. Our restaurant guide gave it an excellent recommendation and we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishy trish
Business
PIT
Nov 1, 2012

Great Location. Meteocre room

The location of this hotel is just perfect. I would not say the room was warm and inviting. The bathrooms left something to be desired. First time ever i could say you theoretically tcould ake a shower while sitting on the toilet. Didnt like that at all. haha! I would recommend this hotel for the singles that are just going in and out and do not plan to spend much time in your room. However the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Business trip

Great staff and very helpful. The hotel does need a lot of work to make it feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKHawkeye
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Just a few glitches

This hotel would be perfect for NYC if not for 2 things: the mirror above the desk needed to be cleaned. It had some drippings on it that I didn't want to think about. Also when I walked in the heat was on full blast and set to 90. It was unbearable! I tried to turn it to cool but no luck. The windows don't open either. So I called the desk hoping they'd just give me a new room but instead sent up a guy. He had to switch it to A/C to cool things down and then said they'd come back when it was 70 to switch it back. Keep in mind at this point it was 10:30 pm. So I took a walk to cool off. I then watched TV for an hour and got it to 80. I turned it off and fell asleep. When I woke up it was at 68 which is perfect for me. It was weird but would not prevent me from coming back. If you're used to NYC sized rooms then I recommend this one. Everything else was clean and safe. The staff was super friendly!!! If I have another client meeting in this neighborhood I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a French brasserie called Cognac. I ate lunch here alone and they were so great! Excellent food and nice people. I can tell it was a favorite of the locals because it became very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocohantas
Business
Millsboro, DE
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible night's sleep

We were satisfied with the hotel thought it was an excellent value and location. When we returned to the room at night we noticed the smoke alarm was missing and wires were hanging from the ceiling where one must have been at one time. We called the front desk to tell them and there was no answer, this was at 9:30pm. At 10.00pm I called the front desk again to see if I could get a wake uo call the next morning and again no answer. At 1:30am we were awaken by a vibrating noise. We got up to see if there was something we could do to get it to stop but it almost sounded as if it was coming from inside the wall. We didn't bother calling the front desk, since our earlier calls went unanswered. We had a terrible night's sleep. The noise would stop after 15 minutes and just as we were able to get back to sleep it would start again and repeat this pattern all night. When we spoke to the front desk upon check out she did apologize but said since we didn't report it there was no documentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just 4 me
Business
Hartford, CT
Dec 10, 2012

The staff could have made it special.

The hotel was adequate, relatively quiet with snacks available and it has potential bc of the great location. The room was quite small with just room enough for the bed but it was clean, with good decor and the bed was comfortable. There was a window which looked out to a wall and was covered which made the room seem smaller. The problem was the staff. The person that checked me in the night I arrived was nice, but everyone else had no idea about the concept of customer service. I was sitting in the lobby (vestibule) and an employee walked by and hesitated as if he was going to stop and speak twice and decided just to walk by and walk out. When I was checking out I went to the desk and the person there was doing something on the computer. He never looked up or acknowledged me. I was in a rush so I said I would like to check out. Without looking up he said he was waiting for something on the computer to go through. I told him my bill was already paid, put the key on the desk and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dlctxatty
Business
Austin, Texas
Feb 20, 2013

Moderne stay

The rooms are really small, elevator slow, no ice buckets in rooms, but the bed was comfortable and the location was good. It was a good value for the price, but definitely not a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Broadway activities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollywally
Business
Ripon, Ca.
Apr 18, 2013

Great location

Staff was great, first time to NY so not much to compare it to. Very small room, very small.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything. Staff recommended Italian Restaurant, Serapino's which was great and just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, ma
Jan 31, 2011

Great location! Tiny room, good price

It was good, you dont get much for your money and the bed wasn't very comfortable, and heater made a lot of noise, but it was a great location and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top