$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's... See full review

  • JJ Flores
  • Jul 21, 2014
The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made... See full review

  • Supermanguy
  • Jul 4, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishy trish
PIT
Nov 1, 2012

Great Location. Meteocre room

The location of this hotel is just perfect. I would not say the room was warm and inviting. The bathrooms left something to be desired. First time ever i could say you theoretically tcould ake a shower while sitting on the toilet. Didnt like that at all. haha! I would recommend this hotel for the singles that are just going in and out and do not plan to spend much time in your room. However the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saultzy
Chicago
May 5, 2014

3 Star hotel tryng to be a 4 star

This hotel looks a little seedy. They are trying to be better but they miss. The room is VERY small but that is typical NY. The cleaning crew could do better. We had a bath mat on the first day but b=never saw one again. They gave us one little soap for both the shower and sink and after the room was cleaned they did not replace the soap but left it on the floor of the shower. We asked for our sheets to be changed but they weren't. They do offer complimentary coffee and cake in the morning which is nice and the staff tries to be very helpful. It is fine to stay here if you want to be in that area and use it just for sleeping but I would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollywally
Ripon, Ca.
Apr 18, 2013

Great location

Staff was great, first time to NY so not much to compare it to. Very small room, very small.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything. Staff recommended Italian Restaurant, Serapino's which was great and just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoGuys
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff, slightly above-average accommodations

We stayed at the Moderne for 4 days, September 2012. It is a small, boutique hotel located on W 55th Street between 7th and 8th. The room we booked was apparently the smallest and least expensive available. It was quite small w/one window that opened on a light well (i.e., no view), but adequately clean & comfortable with energy-saving features (place the room keycard in a special slot inside the door to activate the A/C & interior lights; remove the keycard and everything shuts off within seconds). The hotel has a tiny lobby and there is no health club or business center on site; however, the Moderne has an arrangement with a neighboring hotel for the use of their facilities. The hotel does furnish free Internet wi-fi and there is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The Moderne has 7 floors serviced by a single very slow elevator. I should mention that the decor throughout the building is a jangling mix of 'moderne-retro'--i.e., silvers, bright reds, blacks, animal prints, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. A 38 story high-rise is under construction across the street from the hotel (pretty much the case all over NYC), so there is some construction noise, which might affect rooms fronting 55th (our room was near the back so we didn't notice any objectionable racket). Staff is cordial and helpful (always a plus). The Moderne is easy walking distance to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and multiple subway stations. There are several very fine restaurants near the hotel (Nocello's Italian is just doors away and highly rated). All in all, not a bad value, though the place could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nocello's Italian restaurant is maybe 100 feet away from the hotel's W 55th Street entrance. Our restaurant guide gave it an excellent recommendation and we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kennee12
Appleton, WI
Mar 31, 2011

Nice place, little out of the way

The hotel itself is nice; a little on the older side, but clean enough and adequate for the price range. Staff was very friendly and helpful, surrounding neighborhood is nice but traffic is noisy (not sure you're going to escape that in NYC). Room was actually larger than expected from previous visits to New York. The only draw back was the distance from the "hot spots" of NYC. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the subway (not a bad walk, in a nice area with shops/diners) which is useful for getting places like Times Square, Broadway, Greenwich, and Brooklyn. Don't plan on walking to these places as this hotel is a little too far uptown. Overall, a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocohantas
Millsboro, DE
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible night's sleep

We were satisfied with the hotel thought it was an excellent value and location. When we returned to the room at night we noticed the smoke alarm was missing and wires were hanging from the ceiling where one must have been at one time. We called the front desk to tell them and there was no answer, this was at 9:30pm. At 10.00pm I called the front desk again to see if I could get a wake uo call the next morning and again no answer. At 1:30am we were awaken by a vibrating noise. We got up to see if there was something we could do to get it to stop but it almost sounded as if it was coming from inside the wall. We didn't bother calling the front desk, since our earlier calls went unanswered. We had a terrible night's sleep. The noise would stop after 15 minutes and just as we were able to get back to sleep it would start again and repeat this pattern all night. When we spoke to the front desk upon check out she did apologize but said since we didn't report it there was no documentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Business trip

Great staff and very helpful. The hotel does need a lot of work to make it feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dlctxatty
Business
Austin, Texas
Feb 20, 2013

Moderne stay

The rooms are really small, elevator slow, no ice buckets in rooms, but the bed was comfortable and the location was good. It was a good value for the price, but definitely not a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Broadway activities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, ma
Jan 31, 2011

Great location! Tiny room, good price

It was good, you dont get much for your money and the bed wasn't very comfortable, and heater made a lot of noise, but it was a great location and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just 4 me
Hartford, CT
Dec 10, 2012

The staff could have made it special.

The hotel was adequate, relatively quiet with snacks available and it has potential bc of the great location. The room was quite small with just room enough for the bed but it was clean, with good decor and the bed was comfortable. There was a window which looked out to a wall and was covered which made the room seem smaller. The problem was the staff. The person that checked me in the night I arrived was nice, but everyone else had no idea about the concept of customer service. I was sitting in the lobby (vestibule) and an employee walked by and hesitated as if he was going to stop and speak twice and decided just to walk by and walk out. When I was checking out I went to the desk and the person there was doing something on the computer. He never looked up or acknowledged me. I was in a rush so I said I would like to check out. Without looking up he said he was waiting for something on the computer to go through. I told him my bill was already paid, put the key on the desk and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search