$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
80 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy from Charlotte
Charlotte, NC
Dec 24, 2012

Great Stay

Our stay at the Moderne was perfect. We went to see Wicked (the play on Broadway) and were looking for a place to stay close by. The Moderne was just about a block (maybe 2) away. Recommendations by the hotel staff for several bars and a restaurant turned out to be excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area. Our room was exactly what we were expecting - very recently updated and immaculate. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valhala (or something spelled very close to this) had an excellent selection of craft beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 30, 2014

Didnt stay

I checked in late on May 27th. It was a hot day in the city and at 1130p, it was still 78 degrees outside. I was assigned room 804 and when I got to the room, the room had two fans that were running at high speed. Hmmm. why could that be? is that because someone else had checked in and found that the air conditioning in this room was broken? I was quite disappointed that the hotel tried to assign me a room like this, knowing that the room was sub par. Thankfully, the front desk tried to move me to another hotel and finally allowed me to check out without a cancellation fee. Sadly, at midnight, this did not leave me much solace. With all that being said, the room was nice. Nothing fancy but well decorated. The room actually had a balcony and under the right circumstances, I could see enjoying the room. Two other points worth mentioning: the elevator in the building was down the day before and I heard about this from several guests; there is no workout room at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
May 15, 2010

Forget About It!

The location was perfect for those wanting midtown location near Times Square and the theatres. The amenities were lacking,no refrigerator, no accessible wall electric plugs for charging telephones or plugging in computers, limited number of television channels. The air conditioner blew luke warm air when we arrived and we asked to have it fixed, and when we returned to the room it did not work at all. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work when we arrived, however it was repaired the next day, unlike the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Njos
Business
Woodland hills, ca
Sep 27, 2012

Couple get away

Staff was extremely pleasant. Room was very small but very clean, bed was comfortable but the hotel was missing many amendities, lobby was more like a motel than a hotel and there was no bar or exercise center on the premises. Elevated was extremely slow and there were only 8 floors. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ennes
Business
Bay Area, Calif
Nov 17, 2013

good concept, incomplete

shoddy finish in construction and decor ( last stages still in progress ) , some rooms are shoeboxes(ours), bathroom has no shower curtains or shower enclosure, no counter space whatsoever in bathroom. little in the room itself, haphazard mounting and pacement of cabinets, armoires, tv, protruding bedframe in very tight space a huge safery hazard...we had to place a couple of pillows at the foot of the bed to avoid jamming our tibia against a pointed corner...they need to make some serious changes inside to be recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RIC, VA
Dec 15, 2010

Wont get any sleep at the Moderne

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. When we entered the building the check-in desk informed us they were doing renovations and to please excuse the noise as we could barely hear her give us our room number. Not exactly they way to start off a vacation. Positive side: The rooms were clean with a great location to the subway and attractions close by. Negative: The rooms were small (could not walk around the bed with our luggage in the room), the bathrooms did not have a closing door to the shower so the bathroom floor would fill with standing water after two people showered. We used the room to sleep and shower as we wanted to experience as much of New York as possible and that is why we were not picky on a fancy hotel. But we could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (hearing neighbors cough, sneeze, blow dry hair, flush toilets, and what they had on the TV) as well as the door to the room did not have a seal and you could see the light into the hallway. We slept terribly even when we were exhausted. The hotel also provides an ice bucket for the room, but has no ice machine or drink machine. We had a wonderful experience of New York, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sad Birthday Girl
Business
Marion, Maryland
May 28, 2010

Not Happy!!!

To start off the hotel I was supposed to stay at had a burst pipe and I was moved to a sister hotel. After an uncomfortable check in I went to my room, I should have gone right back down and asked for another room. The toilet was wedged into a corner between the sink and shower, if I had weighted 10 more lbs. I never would have been able to use it. I don't mind small rooms or bathrooms but this was ridiculous. I had to sit sideways. I decided to grin and bear it but overall the hotel was not nice. Poor maintenance, noisy a.c., and poor sound insulation. You could not close the curtains because it blocked the a.c..I have stayed at many NYC hotels and have repeated some, the Amertriana will not be one of them and I will warn my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saultzy
Business
Chicago
May 5, 2014

3 Star hotel tryng to be a 4 star

This hotel looks a little seedy. They are trying to be better but they miss. The room is VERY small but that is typical NY. The cleaning crew could do better. We had a bath mat on the first day but b=never saw one again. They gave us one little soap for both the shower and sink and after the room was cleaned they did not replace the soap but left it on the floor of the shower. We asked for our sheets to be changed but they weren't. They do offer complimentary coffee and cake in the morning which is nice and the staff tries to be very helpful. It is fine to stay here if you want to be in that area and use it just for sleeping but I would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heathwalker
Business
Saratoga Springs
May 19, 2012

Be careful when you book

There is substantial construction work going on now. All front facing rooms (think are all suites) face a construction site for a new skyscraper. This is literally across the narrow road. The rear facing rooms have no view...ie curtains are kept closed. I paid $400 for a room, which was a huge mistake. The staff were polite and really helpful, the decor odd, but clearly what you get from photos, the location okish, my rear "view" room very quiet, which is a huge plus in that location. Rooms small but not oppressively so. It is just very expensive for what it is. If I'd paid up for a suite I'd have been VERY unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

V pleasant low key French brasserie at end of block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcgee3
Business
nyc
Jul 20, 2012

unimpressed

overall decent experience however, given its 4 star reviews, i expected much much more. staff was friendly but extremely unhelpful when, at 3am our bathroom light was stuck on and could not be turned off. we were told to wait until 8am for maintenance which, given the small nature of the room, lent itself to a rough night of sleep. (not to mention maintenance never even showed up) overall ok but for the cost im definitely trying something else next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoGuys
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff, slightly above-average accommodations

We stayed at the Moderne for 4 days, September 2012. It is a small, boutique hotel located on W 55th Street between 7th and 8th. The room we booked was apparently the smallest and least expensive available. It was quite small w/one window that opened on a light well (i.e., no view), but adequately clean & comfortable with energy-saving features (place the room keycard in a special slot inside the door to activate the A/C & interior lights; remove the keycard and everything shuts off within seconds). The hotel has a tiny lobby and there is no health club or business center on site; however, the Moderne has an arrangement with a neighboring hotel for the use of their facilities. The hotel does furnish free Internet wi-fi and there is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The Moderne has 7 floors serviced by a single very slow elevator. I should mention that the decor throughout the building is a jangling mix of 'moderne-retro'--i.e., silvers, bright reds, blacks, animal prints, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. A 38 story high-rise is under construction across the street from the hotel (pretty much the case all over NYC), so there is some construction noise, which might affect rooms fronting 55th (our room was near the back so we didn't notice any objectionable racket). Staff is cordial and helpful (always a plus). The Moderne is easy walking distance to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and multiple subway stations. There are several very fine restaurants near the hotel (Nocello's Italian is just doors away and highly rated). All in all, not a bad value, though the place could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nocello's Italian restaurant is maybe 100 feet away from the hotel's W 55th Street entrance. Our restaurant guide gave it an excellent recommendation and we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top