$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
96 reviews
Terrific stay

Very nice intimate property. Try to request a room facing 55th street if possible, but these may be... See full review

  • DanVictor
  • May 4, 2015
One nighter

Could not easily find ice, and I guess tap water is safe to drink in NYC? See full review

  • Meggy
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 96
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c4117
Business
Toledo, Oh.
Oct 26, 2014

Good location. Very Basic

The room was decent. My room was never cleaned during my three night stay, I had to ask for clean towels on day #3. The most troubling aspect of my stay is that my credit card was charged for items that I did not consume. Although they did refund my money, I would definitely be concerned about staying there in the future. The common area on the second floor left a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful of "deals"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2014

Great spot!

The shower is the best part! The TV and the beds were also very nice. Would stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Db14
Business
London
Mar 10, 2014

my hotel

Staff were very warm and courteous. Wouldn't believe you are in the heart of Manhattan...very quiet. Will definitely recommend to friends n family. Learnt I'm entitled to 15% discount on my next visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Luigi pizza, what a tasty pizza they serve. C21 - a good place to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just 4 me
Business
Hartford, CT
Dec 10, 2012

The staff could have made it special.

The hotel was adequate, relatively quiet with snacks available and it has potential bc of the great location. The room was quite small with just room enough for the bed but it was clean, with good decor and the bed was comfortable. There was a window which looked out to a wall and was covered which made the room seem smaller. The problem was the staff. The person that checked me in the night I arrived was nice, but everyone else had no idea about the concept of customer service. I was sitting in the lobby (vestibule) and an employee walked by and hesitated as if he was going to stop and speak twice and decided just to walk by and walk out. When I was checking out I went to the desk and the person there was doing something on the computer. He never looked up or acknowledged me. I was in a rush so I said I would like to check out. Without looking up he said he was waiting for something on the computer to go through. I told him my bill was already paid, put the key on the desk and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishy trish
Business
PIT
Nov 1, 2012

Great Location. Meteocre room

The location of this hotel is just perfect. I would not say the room was warm and inviting. The bathrooms left something to be desired. First time ever i could say you theoretically tcould ake a shower while sitting on the toilet. Didnt like that at all. haha! I would recommend this hotel for the singles that are just going in and out and do not plan to spend much time in your room. However the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sad Birthday Girl
Business
Marion, Maryland
May 28, 2010

Not Happy!!!

To start off the hotel I was supposed to stay at had a burst pipe and I was moved to a sister hotel. After an uncomfortable check in I went to my room, I should have gone right back down and asked for another room. The toilet was wedged into a corner between the sink and shower, if I had weighted 10 more lbs. I never would have been able to use it. I don't mind small rooms or bathrooms but this was ridiculous. I had to sit sideways. I decided to grin and bear it but overall the hotel was not nice. Poor maintenance, noisy a.c., and poor sound insulation. You could not close the curtains because it blocked the a.c..I have stayed at many NYC hotels and have repeated some, the Amertriana will not be one of them and I will warn my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top