$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
93 reviews
Amesome

This hotel is great. The people there is very kind and are always willing to help you with patient.... See full review

  • Yaguang W.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Great Location

I've stayed here a few times. It's a great location with several trains close to the front door.... See full review

  • Mascotguy
  • Feb 17, 2015
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fox Damy
Business
New Town
Jan 15, 2015

Overall great experience

Staff was great. The room was considered a "Loft" which was fair size with sofe and desk but my understanding other rooms are much smaller in size with exception the the PH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermanguy
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 4, 2014

The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made our experience so pleasant. He went above and beyond and over the top with his great customer service. The room was so nice and quiet. The room was always clean and smelled great as if we were in a spa . I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near the hotel within walking distance . Central Park, time square, broadway and the subways...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2013

The Modern is a 'clean well lighted place' at the core of the Big Apple!!!!

Booked to have a place to stay over night after a concert at Madison Square Garden, the Modern was perfect in every way. It's just off Broadway so its walking distance from Time's Square and a very quick cab ride to the Garden. From the warm and professional reception from "Angel" who greeted me on arrival, to the spacious, quiet, clean, ultra modern room, to the rain fall white tile and glass shower, to complimentary 1pm late check out, to the way "Victoria" stepped in to work with the parking garage to get me the information I needed on how to get my car back, although I had lost my parking ticket. Perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Therapy is a very cool and friendly gay lounge on W 52 and it has the most amazing floor shows and excellent decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spenn2000
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 27, 2012

A great location when visiting the City!

The Moderne is an ideally situated, clean and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan with friendly accommodating staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small (as expected) but I would have preferred a bit more space to be able to unpack my suitcase. A nice touch is the complimentary coffee and cake available in the 2nd floor lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoGuys
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff, slightly above-average accommodations

We stayed at the Moderne for 4 days, September 2012. It is a small, boutique hotel located on W 55th Street between 7th and 8th. The room we booked was apparently the smallest and least expensive available. It was quite small w/one window that opened on a light well (i.e., no view), but adequately clean & comfortable with energy-saving features (place the room keycard in a special slot inside the door to activate the A/C & interior lights; remove the keycard and everything shuts off within seconds). The hotel has a tiny lobby and there is no health club or business center on site; however, the Moderne has an arrangement with a neighboring hotel for the use of their facilities. The hotel does furnish free Internet wi-fi and there is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The Moderne has 7 floors serviced by a single very slow elevator. I should mention that the decor throughout the building is a jangling mix of 'moderne-retro'--i.e., silvers, bright reds, blacks, animal prints, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. A 38 story high-rise is under construction across the street from the hotel (pretty much the case all over NYC), so there is some construction noise, which might affect rooms fronting 55th (our room was near the back so we didn't notice any objectionable racket). Staff is cordial and helpful (always a plus). The Moderne is easy walking distance to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and multiple subway stations. There are several very fine restaurants near the hotel (Nocello's Italian is just doors away and highly rated). All in all, not a bad value, though the place could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nocello's Italian restaurant is maybe 100 feet away from the hotel's W 55th Street entrance. Our restaurant guide gave it an excellent recommendation and we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top