$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 83
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinca the Traveller
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 5, 2014

Amazing Hotel for Local & Money, but Heat Issues Made Us Leave Early

Creatively decorated, decent internet, super friendly staff, and terrific location make this an excellent choice if you can't really splurge on an upscale hotel, but can spend a little more in the $200/night range. We ended up checking out a day early after a no sleep night unfortunately because the heat in the room was 75-76 degrees, the windows, while they can be open, only open a little (and need to be propped open...with our water bottle!), and the air conditioning does not work in winter. This is because it's an OLD building and the hotel has not invested yet in the upgrade. To their credit, they reimbursed us in full for our stay (2 nights, of which we left after 1), and invited us back when the situation is hopefully corrected. We would stay here again if they do fix it. The staff is very friendly, and the decor charming and creative. The location is steps from Broadway and 5th Avenue etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, a new "fast food" joint just opened (from California) called Lyfe. It is super healthy food in a great location, and super friendly. We ate lunch one day, and breakfast the next. Just fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Max Van
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 5, 2014

Hotel staffs are very very friendly, treating you just like friends

The hotel staffs just like Robin is extremely friendly, very informative & helpful. The hotel location is very close to everything. A few minutes walk, you can get to subway. Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lcole travel for food
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 5, 2014

NYC for the weekend

Hotel was clean and nice. The rooms are very small but layer out well. Bathrooms were very modern and clean. It was perfect for a one night stay. Close to the subways and shopping too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Full Time Traveller
Business
All over the US
Jun 16, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

When we checked in we had arrived early in the city and the hotel allowed us to both check out bags early at 9am when our check in was 3pm, they also allowed us to check into our room at noon instead of 3pm. The front desk guy asked us about our trip and gave us some advice on what subways to take to get to our destinations fastest. The door man was also very courteous and friendly. The room was about as big as we expected for the price given the cost of other hotels in the area and on par with our travels to other big cities. The shower was so amazingly refreshing after a long day of walking. Not being from the city we were worried about the noise in the city that never sleeps but our room was quiet enough to hear a pin drop. After our long day we sank into out comfy bed like falling into a cloud. The location was perfect for our trip around Manhattan. They also validate parking for the parking garage that is literally next door. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevefromohio
Business
Ohio
Jun 12, 2014

Smaller is a good thing

This hotel is located near time square walking distance to most attractions. It's smaller which means that the rooms and floors are quiet. The staff was the same every day and were very pleasant daily. The only reason I gave it a lower comfort was our a/c was very hit or miss. At the worst we couldn't get the room under 79 degrees. We told them and they got it working for half the night. Other than the temperature everything was wonderful. We will stay here again when we are back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saultzy
Business
Chicago
May 5, 2014

3 Star hotel tryng to be a 4 star

This hotel looks a little seedy. They are trying to be better but they miss. The room is VERY small but that is typical NY. The cleaning crew could do better. We had a bath mat on the first day but b=never saw one again. They gave us one little soap for both the shower and sink and after the room was cleaned they did not replace the soap but left it on the floor of the shower. We asked for our sheets to be changed but they weren't. They do offer complimentary coffee and cake in the morning which is nice and the staff tries to be very helpful. It is fine to stay here if you want to be in that area and use it just for sleeping but I would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patbrock47
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Great location

For the price and location this hotel was great. The room are a decent size and the bathroom ha a little funky layout, but the room had everything you'd need in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant next to the hotel was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ennes
Business
Bay Area, Calif
Nov 17, 2013

good concept, incomplete

shoddy finish in construction and decor ( last stages still in progress ) , some rooms are shoeboxes(ours), bathroom has no shower curtains or shower enclosure, no counter space whatsoever in bathroom. little in the room itself, haphazard mounting and pacement of cabinets, armoires, tv, protruding bedframe in very tight space a huge safery hazard...we had to place a couple of pillows at the foot of the bed to avoid jamming our tibia against a pointed corner...they need to make some serious changes inside to be recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nellykins1
Business
Lancaster, England
Oct 2, 2013

Excellent & convenient

Hotel was in a great location for all the major tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a decent size and very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VatoSteve
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 24, 2013

Great Place, Great Location

The perfect place to lay your head. Nothing special about amenities and wifi was slow, but when in New York you shouldn't be staying in your hotel. Close to everything you need to experience the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

99 cent pizza just around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top