$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
82 reviews
Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's... See full review

  • JJ Flores
  • Jul 21, 2014
The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made... See full review

  • Supermanguy
  • Jul 4, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
May 15, 2010

Forget About It!

The location was perfect for those wanting midtown location near Times Square and the theatres. The amenities were lacking,no refrigerator, no accessible wall electric plugs for charging telephones or plugging in computers, limited number of television channels. The air conditioner blew luke warm air when we arrived and we asked to have it fixed, and when we returned to the room it did not work at all. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work when we arrived, however it was repaired the next day, unlike the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 30, 2014

Didnt stay

I checked in late on May 27th. It was a hot day in the city and at 1130p, it was still 78 degrees outside. I was assigned room 804 and when I got to the room, the room had two fans that were running at high speed. Hmmm. why could that be? is that because someone else had checked in and found that the air conditioning in this room was broken? I was quite disappointed that the hotel tried to assign me a room like this, knowing that the room was sub par. Thankfully, the front desk tried to move me to another hotel and finally allowed me to check out without a cancellation fee. Sadly, at midnight, this did not leave me much solace. With all that being said, the room was nice. Nothing fancy but well decorated. The room actually had a balcony and under the right circumstances, I could see enjoying the room. Two other points worth mentioning: the elevator in the building was down the day before and I heard about this from several guests; there is no workout room at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
May 15, 2010

Forget About It!

The location was perfect for those wanting midtown location near Times Square and the theatres. The amenities were lacking,no refrigerator, no accessible wall electric plugs for charging telephones or plugging in computers, limited number of television channels. The air conditioner blew luke warm air when we arrived and we asked to have it fixed, and when we returned to the room it did not work at all. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work when we arrived, however it was repaired the next day, unlike the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Njos
Woodland hills, ca
Sep 27, 2012

Couple get away

Staff was extremely pleasant. Room was very small but very clean, bed was comfortable but the hotel was missing many amendities, lobby was more like a motel than a hotel and there was no bar or exercise center on the premises. Elevated was extremely slow and there were only 8 floors. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sad Birthday Girl
Marion, Maryland
May 28, 2010

Not Happy!!!

To start off the hotel I was supposed to stay at had a burst pipe and I was moved to a sister hotel. After an uncomfortable check in I went to my room, I should have gone right back down and asked for another room. The toilet was wedged into a corner between the sink and shower, if I had weighted 10 more lbs. I never would have been able to use it. I don't mind small rooms or bathrooms but this was ridiculous. I had to sit sideways. I decided to grin and bear it but overall the hotel was not nice. Poor maintenance, noisy a.c., and poor sound insulation. You could not close the curtains because it blocked the a.c..I have stayed at many NYC hotels and have repeated some, the Amertriana will not be one of them and I will warn my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIC, VA
Dec 15, 2010

Wont get any sleep at the Moderne

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. When we entered the building the check-in desk informed us they were doing renovations and to please excuse the noise as we could barely hear her give us our room number. Not exactly they way to start off a vacation. Positive side: The rooms were clean with a great location to the subway and attractions close by. Negative: The rooms were small (could not walk around the bed with our luggage in the room), the bathrooms did not have a closing door to the shower so the bathroom floor would fill with standing water after two people showered. We used the room to sleep and shower as we wanted to experience as much of New York as possible and that is why we were not picky on a fancy hotel. But we could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (hearing neighbors cough, sneeze, blow dry hair, flush toilets, and what they had on the TV) as well as the door to the room did not have a seal and you could see the light into the hallway. We slept terribly even when we were exhausted. The hotel also provides an ice bucket for the room, but has no ice machine or drink machine. We had a wonderful experience of New York, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sad Birthday Girl
Marion, Maryland
May 28, 2010

Not Happy!!!

To start off the hotel I was supposed to stay at had a burst pipe and I was moved to a sister hotel. After an uncomfortable check in I went to my room, I should have gone right back down and asked for another room. The toilet was wedged into a corner between the sink and shower, if I had weighted 10 more lbs. I never would have been able to use it. I don't mind small rooms or bathrooms but this was ridiculous. I had to sit sideways. I decided to grin and bear it but overall the hotel was not nice. Poor maintenance, noisy a.c., and poor sound insulation. You could not close the curtains because it blocked the a.c..I have stayed at many NYC hotels and have repeated some, the Amertriana will not be one of them and I will warn my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ennes
Bay Area, Calif
Nov 17, 2013

good concept, incomplete

shoddy finish in construction and decor ( last stages still in progress ) , some rooms are shoeboxes(ours), bathroom has no shower curtains or shower enclosure, no counter space whatsoever in bathroom. little in the room itself, haphazard mounting and pacement of cabinets, armoires, tv, protruding bedframe in very tight space a huge safery hazard...we had to place a couple of pillows at the foot of the bed to avoid jamming our tibia against a pointed corner...they need to make some serious changes inside to be recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIC, VA
Dec 15, 2010

Wont get any sleep at the Moderne

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. When we entered the building the check-in desk informed us they were doing renovations and to please excuse the noise as we could barely hear her give us our room number. Not exactly they way to start off a vacation. Positive side: The rooms were clean with a great location to the subway and attractions close by. Negative: The rooms were small (could not walk around the bed with our luggage in the room), the bathrooms did not have a closing door to the shower so the bathroom floor would fill with standing water after two people showered. We used the room to sleep and shower as we wanted to experience as much of New York as possible and that is why we were not picky on a fancy hotel. But we could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (hearing neighbors cough, sneeze, blow dry hair, flush toilets, and what they had on the TV) as well as the door to the room did not have a seal and you could see the light into the hallway. We slept terribly even when we were exhausted. The hotel also provides an ice bucket for the room, but has no ice machine or drink machine. We had a wonderful experience of New York, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKHawkeye
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Just a few glitches

This hotel would be perfect for NYC if not for 2 things: the mirror above the desk needed to be cleaned. It had some drippings on it that I didn't want to think about. Also when I walked in the heat was on full blast and set to 90. It was unbearable! I tried to turn it to cool but no luck. The windows don't open either. So I called the desk hoping they'd just give me a new room but instead sent up a guy. He had to switch it to A/C to cool things down and then said they'd come back when it was 70 to switch it back. Keep in mind at this point it was 10:30 pm. So I took a walk to cool off. I then watched TV for an hour and got it to 80. I turned it off and fell asleep. When I woke up it was at 68 which is perfect for me. It was weird but would not prevent me from coming back. If you're used to NYC sized rooms then I recommend this one. Everything else was clean and safe. The staff was super friendly!!! If I have another client meeting in this neighborhood I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a French brasserie called Cognac. I ate lunch here alone and they were so great! Excellent food and nice people. I can tell it was a favorite of the locals because it became very busy.

Back to menu Return to top