$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heathwalker
Business
Saratoga Springs
May 19, 2012

Be careful when you book

There is substantial construction work going on now. All front facing rooms (think are all suites) face a construction site for a new skyscraper. This is literally across the narrow road. The rear facing rooms have no view...ie curtains are kept closed. I paid $400 for a room, which was a huge mistake. The staff were polite and really helpful, the decor odd, but clearly what you get from photos, the location okish, my rear "view" room very quiet, which is a huge plus in that location. Rooms small but not oppressively so. It is just very expensive for what it is. If I'd paid up for a suite I'd have been VERY unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

V pleasant low key French brasserie at end of block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggrushovenko
Business
Greenville, SC
Apr 13, 2012

Pleasent stay!

My wife and I spend three enjoyeble nights in this charming europian style butique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk away from Time Square to 9th av for food. Hells Kithchen is great for dinner choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MomandDaughter
Business
North Carolina, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Completely Chic and Marvelous!

This hotel was everything expected and more for a NYC experience. The hotel was small and made us feel very comfortable. I could not believe how close we were to Time Square and you're practically on Broadway! Soooo cool! The staff was among the friendliest people in the whole city! We would stay there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From our Hotel we could make it to the subway station in less that 10 mins! It took us to some amazing hot spot dinning in NYC! The Chelsea area is great for delish food! We had appetizers that were good meal size portions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samkin
Business
Sc
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect for a couple

Great staff. Great bed. Great location. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACKeepsitCool
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 3, 2012

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

The Moderne was in a great location in relation to food, Central Park, the theater district, sight seeing, and shopping. The room was well decorated and the 35 room hotel made for a quaint retreat from the hustle of the city. The downside was the close proximity to other rooms; the residents next to us had a small child that they let run and make noise in the early morning hours. The single elevator was challenging. The lounge was cool and I certainly appreciated the coffee, tea, and coffee cake in the morning. I will certainly stay at The Moderne again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action711
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

A Great Stay

I was on a family vacation and needed two rooms. Based on the location/reviews/price I selected The Moderne for a first-time stay. The rooms were as-depicted on the web photographs and were very clean. There is not a lot of floorspace or closet space, but that was not unexpected for the price in NYC. Easy walk to Times Square and the subway. Staff was uniformly pleasant and courteous. I loved the sitting room on the second floor where you could get coffee and coffee cake in the morning. Convenient restaurants nearby. Professionally I am a hotelier (not affiliated with The Moderne) and I was most pleased with my stay. Will stay here again without a second thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

How to succeed in business with Nick Jonas was very popular with the family, good solid production. Eat at Jr.'s Cheesecake one block away afterwards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo Arias
Business
Virginia, USA
Mar 14, 2012

City Life

Let me just start by telling you all that this hotel is good stuff. The hotel is very modern and clean which it will make your stay an expericanse to remember. The Parking lot is next to the hotel and it is only $20 after validation. The only down of this hotel is that as of March 2012 there is a major construction going on right in the from of the hotel so don't plan to sleep late because of all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Enjoyable, relaxing getaway

Recently renovated and really cool hotel! Staff was friendly and amazing, room was very comfortable and clean. Location is perfect for NYC sightseeing or just hanging out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexAP
Business
London
Jan 23, 2012

Nice hotel and rooms

Great staff. Great bed and bathroom. Rooms do not really have windows and breakfast is more than light. But wireless is free, rooms were very affordable and hotel is quite central, so could not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Fantastic!

We enjoyed staying at this hotel during a weekend getaway to NYC. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was clean and the decor was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top