$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JewelsK
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Sep 12, 2012

Great NYC boutique hotel!

Loved that they had a lounge with coffee/tea, water that they infused with different fruits (lemon, orange, cucumber), and fresh fruit available all day long! Very quiet. Decor was modern and tasteful, not over the top like I've heard others are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Dutchman
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 20, 2012

Excellent

This hotel was perfect for a four day get away. The Moderne is right in the middle of everything and with tons of great places to eat in close by. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jioman
Couples
Duluth, Minnesota
Jul 28, 2012

Loved the Hotel

We enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the Staff was very helpful. The room was spacious by NYC standards. We were very comfortable. It is modern, loved the coffee, and fruit on the second floor. We were able to walk to all 4 plays we wanted to see. Lots of choices to make when picking restaurents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We attended 4 Plays and walked to everyone, I believe the longest one was 10 minutes. The staff helped us use the subway to get to 9/11 Memorial and return to JFK.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Mark
Couples
Florida
Jul 25, 2012

Excellent Choice

A Great Hotel at a Great Price in a Great Location! The room was well appointed, the staff was very helpful, and the location was convenent to the Theatre District, 5th Ave Shopping, Central Park, and Major Restaurants. The only negative was that the elevator was slow. I highly recommend this Property for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcgee3
Couples
nyc
Jul 20, 2012

unimpressed

overall decent experience however, given its 4 star reviews, i expected much much more. staff was friendly but extremely unhelpful when, at 3am our bathroom light was stuck on and could not be turned off. we were told to wait until 8am for maintenance which, given the small nature of the room, lent itself to a rough night of sleep. (not to mention maintenance never even showed up) overall ok but for the cost im definitely trying something else next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2citykid
Couples
York Pa
Jun 21, 2012

Great Spot

It was a very comfortable location for what we had in mind. Minites away from Central Park and great restaurants all around. The rooms where very sheek and clean. I do recomend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSU Nut
Couples
Ohio
Jun 5, 2012

OSU Getaway

Visited NYC for a friends wedding. The location was spectacular! Just a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. Could not ask for a better, more accommodating staff. Everyone was attentive and friendly. No request was denied! Despite the construction across the street it was relatively quiet. If you are looking for a high rise view this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is extremely clean. Only thing we could find wrong with our room was the bathroom door was difficult to close. At times had difficulty with staying connected to Wi-Fi. Highly recommend for location, attentive staff and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many fantastic locations to dine. Easy to find dining within several price ranges. Hotel staff excellent for recommending and giving directions.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heathwalker
Family
Saratoga Springs
May 19, 2012

Be careful when you book

There is substantial construction work going on now. All front facing rooms (think are all suites) face a construction site for a new skyscraper. This is literally across the narrow road. The rear facing rooms have no view...ie curtains are kept closed. I paid $400 for a room, which was a huge mistake. The staff were polite and really helpful, the decor odd, but clearly what you get from photos, the location okish, my rear "view" room very quiet, which is a huge plus in that location. Rooms small but not oppressively so. It is just very expensive for what it is. If I'd paid up for a suite I'd have been VERY unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

V pleasant low key French brasserie at end of block.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggrushovenko
Couples
Greenville, SC
Apr 13, 2012

Pleasent stay!

My wife and I spend three enjoyeble nights in this charming europian style butique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk away from Time Square to 9th av for food. Hells Kithchen is great for dinner choices.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samkin
Couples
Sc
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect for a couple

Great staff. Great bed. Great location. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top