$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JewelsK
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 12, 2012

Great NYC boutique hotel!

Loved that they had a lounge with coffee/tea, water that they infused with different fruits (lemon, orange, cucumber), and fresh fruit available all day long! Very quiet. Decor was modern and tasteful, not over the top like I've heard others are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mo Burgg
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Labor Day Getaway

I enjoyed the Moderne! It was walking distance from Times Square and Central Park. The room was small but really clean and comfortable. The bed was really comfortable!! The second morning I stayed (I did not want to get out of the bed!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great restaurants around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Dutchman
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 20, 2012

Excellent

This hotel was perfect for a four day get away. The Moderne is right in the middle of everything and with tons of great places to eat in close by. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister Sister NYC
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 8, 2012

Great Location, Swanky decor

The Moderne was great. I was in NY for a long weekend and couldn't have picked a better hotel for the price. The room was small but designed well so you don't feel cramped. They even had an iPad for loan which was great. The staff was great and very helpful. It is close enough to get to broadway shows but far enough that you are not in the middle of the craziness of Times Square. I would highly recommend The Moderne....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easily accessible to Broadway shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DW Burnette
Business
Fitzgerald, GA
Aug 7, 2012

Staff was excellent.

Everything was great about the this hotel with a couple of exceptions. The elevator was EXTREMELY slow and the room just would not get cool. However, the staff were not only friendly they were also very helpful and eager to please. A special thank you to Teddy, the afternoon front desk worker, he was especially great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Phantom of the Opera is just fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jioman
Business
Duluth, Minnesota
Jul 28, 2012

Loved the Hotel

We enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the Staff was very helpful. The room was spacious by NYC standards. We were very comfortable. It is modern, loved the coffee, and fruit on the second floor. We were able to walk to all 4 plays we wanted to see. Lots of choices to make when picking restaurents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We attended 4 Plays and walked to everyone, I believe the longest one was 10 minutes. The staff helped us use the subway to get to 9/11 Memorial and return to JFK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Mark
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2012

Excellent Choice

A Great Hotel at a Great Price in a Great Location! The room was well appointed, the staff was very helpful, and the location was convenent to the Theatre District, 5th Ave Shopping, Central Park, and Major Restaurants. The only negative was that the elevator was slow. I highly recommend this Property for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcgee3
Business
nyc
Jul 20, 2012

unimpressed

overall decent experience however, given its 4 star reviews, i expected much much more. staff was friendly but extremely unhelpful when, at 3am our bathroom light was stuck on and could not be turned off. we were told to wait until 8am for maintenance which, given the small nature of the room, lent itself to a rough night of sleep. (not to mention maintenance never even showed up) overall ok but for the cost im definitely trying something else next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and 40 year old
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Jul 15, 2012

Loving NYC - Again!

I treated my daughter to a trip to NYC for her 40th birthday, and , since she loves modern decor, I picked The Moderne to stay at. She loved it and we both enjoyed our quiet, dark room, the wonderful showerhead, the friendliness of all the staff, the great location - accessible to all the sights we wanted to see. With both of us being environmentalists, we we happy to see all the steps The Moderne has taken to save energy, water, etc. Thanks for a wonderful experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2citykid
Business
York Pa
Jun 21, 2012

Great Spot

It was a very comfortable location for what we had in mind. Minites away from Central Park and great restaurants all around. The rooms where very sheek and clean. I do recomend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top