$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's... See full review

  • JJ Flores
  • Jul 21, 2014
The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made... See full review

  • Supermanguy
  • Jul 4, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Norfolk, VA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Fantastic!

We enjoyed staying at this hotel during a weekend getaway to NYC. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was clean and the decor was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mieck
Bergen op Zoom The Netherlands
Jan 21, 2012

Absolutely fantastic

Room was very nice, staff was awesome, so helpfull! Bed was nice and soft, bath room was spacious. Lounge was also very nice! Great coffee!!! We will definitly return to the Moderne!!! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

century 21 on broadway and columbus! Way better than the big one downtown!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TALI 512
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Fantastic Location

All I can say is wow... This is a eclectic new age up class boutique 37 room hotel with complete Euro sleek design that would make you fall in love. Oh and one more thing. Best hotel bed ever. Worth every penny and 2 blocks from Time square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mnj11
Ny
Dec 26, 2011

Awesome!!

Great hotel.. Amazing staff... beautiful rooms.... Made my stay just perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THR2
Ohio
Nov 18, 2011

Great location

Room was stark modern, comfortable, but small-of coarse that's New York where space is a premium anywhere. Breakfast lacked. Neat inovation was wine time in the afternoon-evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Radio City Music Hall program was a sensation as was the thearters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dnismu
Ontario Canada
Sep 20, 2011

Moderne-Great Value

We were greeted by friendly staff, who immediatly gave us details of the area, what to see etc. The room was small but very comfortable, lovely bathroom. The complimentary continental breakfast was a great start to the day and the complimentary evening wine and cheese in the lounge a great opportunity to meet other people staying there. The staff were very helpful the whole time, and always greeted us with a smile. Good food at the pub across the road, not such a good breakfast at the place (9th St) up the block on the corner. (greasy and expensive) We visited lots of places and the hop on - hop off bus was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the hop on-hop off bus and 10 attractions. Too much to see in 3 days. The bus and 5 attractions would be a better deal and probably all used. Recommend the harbour cruise, Ground Zero, and Empire State Building. Take good comfortable shoes, still lots of walking-even with a bus pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kennee12
Appleton, WI
Mar 31, 2011

Nice place, little out of the way

The hotel itself is nice; a little on the older side, but clean enough and adequate for the price range. Staff was very friendly and helpful, surrounding neighborhood is nice but traffic is noisy (not sure you're going to escape that in NYC). Room was actually larger than expected from previous visits to New York. The only draw back was the distance from the "hot spots" of NYC. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the subway (not a bad walk, in a nice area with shops/diners) which is useful for getting places like Times Square, Broadway, Greenwich, and Brooklyn. Don't plan on walking to these places as this hotel is a little too far uptown. Overall, a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, ma
Jan 31, 2011

Great location! Tiny room, good price

It was good, you dont get much for your money and the bed wasn't very comfortable, and heater made a lot of noise, but it was a great location and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIC, VA
Dec 15, 2010

Wont get any sleep at the Moderne

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. When we entered the building the check-in desk informed us they were doing renovations and to please excuse the noise as we could barely hear her give us our room number. Not exactly they way to start off a vacation. Positive side: The rooms were clean with a great location to the subway and attractions close by. Negative: The rooms were small (could not walk around the bed with our luggage in the room), the bathrooms did not have a closing door to the shower so the bathroom floor would fill with standing water after two people showered. We used the room to sleep and shower as we wanted to experience as much of New York as possible and that is why we were not picky on a fancy hotel. But we could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (hearing neighbors cough, sneeze, blow dry hair, flush toilets, and what they had on the TV) as well as the door to the room did not have a seal and you could see the light into the hallway. We slept terribly even when we were exhausted. The hotel also provides an ice bucket for the room, but has no ice machine or drink machine. We had a wonderful experience of New York, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2010

Great hotel for the price and location!

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to many nearby attractions and go running every morning in Central Park. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. Our room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is so close by! Make sure to take advantage of all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search