$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequenttravelerfromdc
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 25, 2012

Exactly what I expected

Clean, comfortable and pleasant. Great location. Zero issues, which is what you want in a hotel experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy from Charlotte
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 24, 2012

Great Stay

Our stay at the Moderne was perfect. We went to see Wicked (the play on Broadway) and were looking for a place to stay close by. The Moderne was just about a block (maybe 2) away. Recommendations by the hotel staff for several bars and a restaurant turned out to be excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area. Our room was exactly what we were expecting - very recently updated and immaculate. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valhala (or something spelled very close to this) had an excellent selection of craft beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDNYC
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2012

A good find

Room on 1st floor was very small (with an even smaller bathroom), but if that doesn't bother you then it is a good place. Lobby and lounge were also small, but serviceable. Room had no view also. But, place was cean, king size bed was very comfortable and, with no view, room was very dark. Noise, even on first floor, was almost nothing. Loved the funky designs and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocohantas
Business
Millsboro, DE
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible night's sleep

We were satisfied with the hotel thought it was an excellent value and location. When we returned to the room at night we noticed the smoke alarm was missing and wires were hanging from the ceiling where one must have been at one time. We called the front desk to tell them and there was no answer, this was at 9:30pm. At 10.00pm I called the front desk again to see if I could get a wake uo call the next morning and again no answer. At 1:30am we were awaken by a vibrating noise. We got up to see if there was something we could do to get it to stop but it almost sounded as if it was coming from inside the wall. We didn't bother calling the front desk, since our earlier calls went unanswered. We had a terrible night's sleep. The noise would stop after 15 minutes and just as we were able to get back to sleep it would start again and repeat this pattern all night. When we spoke to the front desk upon check out she did apologize but said since we didn't report it there was no documentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just 4 me
Business
Hartford, CT
Dec 10, 2012

The staff could have made it special.

The hotel was adequate, relatively quiet with snacks available and it has potential bc of the great location. The room was quite small with just room enough for the bed but it was clean, with good decor and the bed was comfortable. There was a window which looked out to a wall and was covered which made the room seem smaller. The problem was the staff. The person that checked me in the night I arrived was nice, but everyone else had no idea about the concept of customer service. I was sitting in the lobby (vestibule) and an employee walked by and hesitated as if he was going to stop and speak twice and decided just to walk by and walk out. When I was checking out I went to the desk and the person there was doing something on the computer. He never looked up or acknowledged me. I was in a rush so I said I would like to check out. Without looking up he said he was waiting for something on the computer to go through. I told him my bill was already paid, put the key on the desk and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Business trip

Great staff and very helpful. The hotel does need a lot of work to make it feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jim from California
Business
Foster City, California
Dec 3, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

The Moderne is located in an excellent neighborhood, close to Central Park. Great restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel staff can direct you to the best places to dine and explore. Very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara from Minny
Business
Minnesota
Nov 29, 2012

Best Stay in NY!

First time staying at this hotel, but was so impressed. The price is great and the location is so ideal but best yet the staff was more than helpful. Friendly, kind and concerned. Hard to find that combination in a NY hotel. Although the rooms are a little small, they are so clean and updated. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back for certain the next time we're back in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Original Soup Man (on the same block as The Moderne Hotel) has THE best soup. I think we went there at least 5 times during our 3 day stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKHawkeye
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Just a few glitches

This hotel would be perfect for NYC if not for 2 things: the mirror above the desk needed to be cleaned. It had some drippings on it that I didn't want to think about. Also when I walked in the heat was on full blast and set to 90. It was unbearable! I tried to turn it to cool but no luck. The windows don't open either. So I called the desk hoping they'd just give me a new room but instead sent up a guy. He had to switch it to A/C to cool things down and then said they'd come back when it was 70 to switch it back. Keep in mind at this point it was 10:30 pm. So I took a walk to cool off. I then watched TV for an hour and got it to 80. I turned it off and fell asleep. When I woke up it was at 68 which is perfect for me. It was weird but would not prevent me from coming back. If you're used to NYC sized rooms then I recommend this one. Everything else was clean and safe. The staff was super friendly!!! If I have another client meeting in this neighborhood I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a French brasserie called Cognac. I ate lunch here alone and they were so great! Excellent food and nice people. I can tell it was a favorite of the locals because it became very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishy trish
Business
PIT
Nov 1, 2012

Great Location. Meteocre room

The location of this hotel is just perfect. I would not say the room was warm and inviting. The bathrooms left something to be desired. First time ever i could say you theoretically tcould ake a shower while sitting on the toilet. Didnt like that at all. haha! I would recommend this hotel for the singles that are just going in and out and do not plan to spend much time in your room. However the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top