$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Db14
Single
London
Mar 10, 2014

my hotel

Staff were very warm and courteous. Wouldn't believe you are in the heart of Manhattan...very quiet. Will definitely recommend to friends n family. Learnt I'm entitled to 15% discount on my next visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Luigi pizza, what a tasty pizza they serve. C21 - a good place to shop

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaCS
Friends
London, England
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

The hotel is in a really good location, only a 10 minute walk from Times Square, but still a reasonably quiet street for how close it is. If you like How I Met Your Mother, the bar McClarens was based on is practically opposite. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. What I didn't notice on the website so I'm not sure they mention it, is that there is a guest lounge where they serve cake from 7 - 11am (but put whatever's left in the fridge so sometimes you're lucky if you get there a little late) and there are also unlimited hot drinks and water there. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was going to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patbrock47
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Great location

For the price and location this hotel was great. The room are a decent size and the bathroom ha a little funky layout, but the room had everything you'd need in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant next to the hotel was very good.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vico loves football
Business
potomac, md
Feb 10, 2014

very good rooms

very good rooms and a beautiful location a big surprise after being in the lobby that is "worrying" please improve your lobby !!! people at the front desk are very nice and helpful they make up for what is missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ennes
Couples
Bay Area, Calif
Nov 17, 2013

good concept, incomplete

shoddy finish in construction and decor ( last stages still in progress ) , some rooms are shoeboxes(ours), bathroom has no shower curtains or shower enclosure, no counter space whatsoever in bathroom. little in the room itself, haphazard mounting and pacement of cabinets, armoires, tv, protruding bedframe in very tight space a huge safery hazard...we had to place a couple of pillows at the foot of the bed to avoid jamming our tibia against a pointed corner...they need to make some serious changes inside to be recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nellykins1
Couples
Lancaster, England
Oct 2, 2013

Excellent & convenient

Hotel was in a great location for all the major tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a decent size and very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VatoSteve
Couples
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 24, 2013

Great Place, Great Location

The perfect place to lay your head. Nothing special about amenities and wifi was slow, but when in New York you shouldn't be staying in your hotel. Close to everything you need to experience the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

99 cent pizza just around the corner

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
physican
Couples
key west
Aug 7, 2013

moderne

I am a physician from a small town and decided to give this hotel a try. it was great! from customer service to the rooms. great location! I highly recommend tis hotel daren

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollywally
Couples
Ripon, Ca.
Apr 18, 2013

Great location

Staff was great, first time to NY so not much to compare it to. Very small room, very small.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything. Staff recommended Italian Restaurant, Serapino's which was great and just a block away.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2013

The Modern is a 'clean well lighted place' at the core of the Big Apple!!!!

Booked to have a place to stay over night after a concert at Madison Square Garden, the Modern was perfect in every way. It's just off Broadway so its walking distance from Time's Square and a very quick cab ride to the Garden. From the warm and professional reception from "Angel" who greeted me on arrival, to the spacious, quiet, clean, ultra modern room, to the rain fall white tile and glass shower, to complimentary 1pm late check out, to the way "Victoria" stepped in to work with the parking garage to get me the information I needed on how to get my car back, although I had lost my parking ticket. Perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Therapy is a very cool and friendly gay lounge on W 52 and it has the most amazing floor shows and excellent decor.

Back to menu Return to top