$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's... See full review

  • JJ Flores
  • Jul 21, 2014
The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made... See full review

  • Supermanguy
  • Jul 4, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Hotel Map

40.7653 -73.9829
Area served
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and Broadway. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, JFK International and Newark Liberty
Area description
Conveniently situated in New York's famous Theater District at 55th Street and BroadwayOne block to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and Radio City Music Hall

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spenn2000
Los Angeles, California
Oct 27, 2012

A great location when visiting the City!

The Moderne is an ideally situated, clean and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan with friendly accommodating staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small (as expected) but I would have preferred a bit more space to be able to unpack my suitcase. A nice touch is the complimentary coffee and cake available in the 2nd floor lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmy2361
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Oct 23, 2012

Great Spot in Midtown Manhattan

My husband and I were in NY for the first time from Oct 4-7, 2012. We booked The Moderne with a flight+hotel package and it was the best deal we found. We arrived in the evening and had a quick check in, the concierge explained the hotel amenities and offered to help with anything we needed during our stay. Room was really nice, clean and modern. Very comfortable king size bed with fresh linens and pillows. The bathroom was clean and had everything you would need for a weekend away. The rain shower was a nice surprise too. The room is not big compared to normal hotel rooms but from what I hear, pretty standard for New York. The guest lounge was convenient in the morning where you could grab fruit, coffee cake, coffee, tea and water before heading out for the day. The concierges were all very pleasant and helpful in making dinner reservations, calling us a taxi and pointing us in the right direction depending on what we had planned. My husband arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the hotel upon our arrival and they ensured it was chilled in the mini-fridge when we arrived (although providing us with champagne glasses would have been a nice touch). The Moderne is in a great location; walking distance to Central Park and Times Square and only a block to 7th Ave subway which will get you anywhere. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a funky, clean, well staffed spot in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not wait in line for the tourist ferry to see the Statue of Liberty. The lines are insanely long and you have to pay to get on the boat. Instead, walk to the Whitehall Terminal and take the Staten Island ferry which goes right by the statue and is free! You also get a great view of the skyline on the return trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Jabberwocky
Norcal
Oct 17, 2012

Where it's at

The Moderne has quite a bit going for it: attentive, friendly staff, clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms, a spectacular lounge, complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, coffee cake, etc. in the morning, free Wi-Fi, and so on. But without a doubt, as wonderful as all those things are, what is even better is it's location. Conveniently located in the heart of Midtown, The Moderne is the perfect starting point for any New York City adventure. Furthermore, it is completely surrounded by a host of first rate bars and restaurants. (The Carnegie Deli is right around the corner!) If you are planning a visit to NYC and can't decide where to stay, let me do it for you: Stay at The Moderne. You'll be oh so glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PtrBsh
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel

Couldn't be happier! The room was attractive and clean, that staff- from the front desk through the maintainence staff, were unfailingly polite and friendly, and what a terrific location, within easy walking distance of the theatre district, central park, subways. I will DEFINITELY stay there again next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barney's Mom
Rochester, NY
Oct 5, 2012

Great Location, Location, Location

Very nice experience. Also very clean and the staff were all friendly and willing to help. The location was great in that walking either uptown or downtown was an option. Would definitely stay there again and also recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TwoGuys
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2012

Great Location, friendly staff, slightly above-average accommodations

We stayed at the Moderne for 4 days, September 2012. It is a small, boutique hotel located on W 55th Street between 7th and 8th. The room we booked was apparently the smallest and least expensive available. It was quite small w/one window that opened on a light well (i.e., no view), but adequately clean & comfortable with energy-saving features (place the room keycard in a special slot inside the door to activate the A/C & interior lights; remove the keycard and everything shuts off within seconds). The hotel has a tiny lobby and there is no health club or business center on site; however, the Moderne has an arrangement with a neighboring hotel for the use of their facilities. The hotel does furnish free Internet wi-fi and there is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The Moderne has 7 floors serviced by a single very slow elevator. I should mention that the decor throughout the building is a jangling mix of 'moderne-retro'--i.e., silvers, bright reds, blacks, animal prints, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. A 38 story high-rise is under construction across the street from the hotel (pretty much the case all over NYC), so there is some construction noise, which might affect rooms fronting 55th (our room was near the back so we didn't notice any objectionable racket). Staff is cordial and helpful (always a plus). The Moderne is easy walking distance to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and multiple subway stations. There are several very fine restaurants near the hotel (Nocello's Italian is just doors away and highly rated). All in all, not a bad value, though the place could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nocello's Italian restaurant is maybe 100 feet away from the hotel's W 55th Street entrance. Our restaurant guide gave it an excellent recommendation and we were not disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Njos
Woodland hills, ca
Sep 27, 2012

Couple get away

Staff was extremely pleasant. Room was very small but very clean, bed was comfortable but the hotel was missing many amendities, lobby was more like a motel than a hotel and there was no bar or exercise center on the premises. Elevated was extremely slow and there were only 8 floors. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dnptrs
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 17, 2012

Cool Place

This was an interesting place to stay. I've stayed in many hotels in NYC and this is one that I would go back to. The only problem I have with it was that there were no windows in my room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Me 2012
Massachusetts
Sep 13, 2012

Friendly Staff, Clean, Comfortable Room

Loved my stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, Comfortable bed, nicely decorated, and extremely clean. the shower was wonderful too!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slightly Disappointed
Tampa, FL
Sep 12, 2012

Fab hotel! Highly recommend! Not Disappointed!

Small hotel, so don't expect things you would get at larger hotels. Visualize a very modern but small efficiency apartment. The rooms are comfortable, but no window and/or nothing to see out of window. The staff was fantastic! Great attention to details and all expectations were met. Location of hotel is very nice. Walking distance to Times Square and Central Park. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search