$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Moderne

4 stars
243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
81 reviews
Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location... See full review

  • Sleepy30
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio... See full review

  • gyghmbo
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Room
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
TV remote control
Shower
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDNYC
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2012

A good find

Room on 1st floor was very small (with an even smaller bathroom), but if that doesn't bother you then it is a good place. Lobby and lounge were also small, but serviceable. Room had no view also. But, place was cean, king size bed was very comfortable and, with no view, room was very dark. Noise, even on first floor, was almost nothing. Loved the funky designs and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocohantas
Business
Millsboro, DE
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible night's sleep

We were satisfied with the hotel thought it was an excellent value and location. When we returned to the room at night we noticed the smoke alarm was missing and wires were hanging from the ceiling where one must have been at one time. We called the front desk to tell them and there was no answer, this was at 9:30pm. At 10.00pm I called the front desk again to see if I could get a wake uo call the next morning and again no answer. At 1:30am we were awaken by a vibrating noise. We got up to see if there was something we could do to get it to stop but it almost sounded as if it was coming from inside the wall. We didn't bother calling the front desk, since our earlier calls went unanswered. We had a terrible night's sleep. The noise would stop after 15 minutes and just as we were able to get back to sleep it would start again and repeat this pattern all night. When we spoke to the front desk upon check out she did apologize but said since we didn't report it there was no documentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just 4 me
Business
Hartford, CT
Dec 10, 2012

The staff could have made it special.

The hotel was adequate, relatively quiet with snacks available and it has potential bc of the great location. The room was quite small with just room enough for the bed but it was clean, with good decor and the bed was comfortable. There was a window which looked out to a wall and was covered which made the room seem smaller. The problem was the staff. The person that checked me in the night I arrived was nice, but everyone else had no idea about the concept of customer service. I was sitting in the lobby (vestibule) and an employee walked by and hesitated as if he was going to stop and speak twice and decided just to walk by and walk out. When I was checking out I went to the desk and the person there was doing something on the computer. He never looked up or acknowledged me. I was in a rush so I said I would like to check out. Without looking up he said he was waiting for something on the computer to go through. I told him my bill was already paid, put the key on the desk and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Business trip

Great staff and very helpful. The hotel does need a lot of work to make it feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jim from California
Business
Foster City, California
Dec 3, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

The Moderne is located in an excellent neighborhood, close to Central Park. Great restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel staff can direct you to the best places to dine and explore. Very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara from Minny
Business
Minnesota
Nov 29, 2012

Best Stay in NY!

First time staying at this hotel, but was so impressed. The price is great and the location is so ideal but best yet the staff was more than helpful. Friendly, kind and concerned. Hard to find that combination in a NY hotel. Although the rooms are a little small, they are so clean and updated. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back for certain the next time we're back in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Original Soup Man (on the same block as The Moderne Hotel) has THE best soup. I think we went there at least 5 times during our 3 day stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKHawkeye
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Just a few glitches

This hotel would be perfect for NYC if not for 2 things: the mirror above the desk needed to be cleaned. It had some drippings on it that I didn't want to think about. Also when I walked in the heat was on full blast and set to 90. It was unbearable! I tried to turn it to cool but no luck. The windows don't open either. So I called the desk hoping they'd just give me a new room but instead sent up a guy. He had to switch it to A/C to cool things down and then said they'd come back when it was 70 to switch it back. Keep in mind at this point it was 10:30 pm. So I took a walk to cool off. I then watched TV for an hour and got it to 80. I turned it off and fell asleep. When I woke up it was at 68 which is perfect for me. It was weird but would not prevent me from coming back. If you're used to NYC sized rooms then I recommend this one. Everything else was clean and safe. The staff was super friendly!!! If I have another client meeting in this neighborhood I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a French brasserie called Cognac. I ate lunch here alone and they were so great! Excellent food and nice people. I can tell it was a favorite of the locals because it became very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishy trish
Business
PIT
Nov 1, 2012

Great Location. Meteocre room

The location of this hotel is just perfect. I would not say the room was warm and inviting. The bathrooms left something to be desired. First time ever i could say you theoretically tcould ake a shower while sitting on the toilet. Didnt like that at all. haha! I would recommend this hotel for the singles that are just going in and out and do not plan to spend much time in your room. However the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spenn2000
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 27, 2012

A great location when visiting the City!

The Moderne is an ideally situated, clean and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan with friendly accommodating staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small (as expected) but I would have preferred a bit more space to be able to unpack my suitcase. A nice touch is the complimentary coffee and cake available in the 2nd floor lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmy2361
Business
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Oct 23, 2012

Great Spot in Midtown Manhattan

My husband and I were in NY for the first time from Oct 4-7, 2012. We booked The Moderne with a flight+hotel package and it was the best deal we found. We arrived in the evening and had a quick check in, the concierge explained the hotel amenities and offered to help with anything we needed during our stay. Room was really nice, clean and modern. Very comfortable king size bed with fresh linens and pillows. The bathroom was clean and had everything you would need for a weekend away. The rain shower was a nice surprise too. The room is not big compared to normal hotel rooms but from what I hear, pretty standard for New York. The guest lounge was convenient in the morning where you could grab fruit, coffee cake, coffee, tea and water before heading out for the day. The concierges were all very pleasant and helpful in making dinner reservations, calling us a taxi and pointing us in the right direction depending on what we had planned. My husband arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the hotel upon our arrival and they ensured it was chilled in the mini-fridge when we arrived (although providing us with champagne glasses would have been a nice touch). The Moderne is in a great location; walking distance to Central Park and Times Square and only a block to 7th Ave subway which will get you anywhere. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a funky, clean, well staffed spot in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not wait in line for the tourist ferry to see the Statue of Liberty. The lines are insanely long and you have to pay to get on the boat. Instead, walk to the Whitehall Terminal and take the Staten Island ferry which goes right by the statue and is free! You also get a great view of the skyline on the return trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top