$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2014

Great spot!

The shower is the best part! The TV and the beds were also very nice. Would stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ Flores
Business
laredo
Jul 21, 2014

Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's honestly my home away from home ! I know everyone there and they have become my family when I am there for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay Clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay89
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jul 16, 2014

Great location

The hotel staff were amazing especially Robby! He helped us plan out all our outings in NYC. The hotel is clean and in an ideal location. Everything is close by. The only thing is that the rooms are not too big but that is expected as most places in NYC are not that roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermanguy
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 4, 2014

The Apartment feel hotel

I am so shocked at what we found in the city! It is a hidden gem! The Staff (especially Robbi) made our experience so pleasant. He went above and beyond and over the top with his great customer service. The room was so nice and quiet. The room was always clean and smelled great as if we were in a spa . I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near the hotel within walking distance . Central Park, time square, broadway and the subways...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Full Time Traveller
Business
All over the US
Jun 16, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

When we checked in we had arrived early in the city and the hotel allowed us to both check out bags early at 9am when our check in was 3pm, they also allowed us to check into our room at noon instead of 3pm. The front desk guy asked us about our trip and gave us some advice on what subways to take to get to our destinations fastest. The door man was also very courteous and friendly. The room was about as big as we expected for the price given the cost of other hotels in the area and on par with our travels to other big cities. The shower was so amazingly refreshing after a long day of walking. Not being from the city we were worried about the noise in the city that never sleeps but our room was quiet enough to hear a pin drop. After our long day we sank into out comfy bed like falling into a cloud. The location was perfect for our trip around Manhattan. They also validate parking for the parking garage that is literally next door. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevefromohio
Business
Ohio
Jun 12, 2014

Smaller is a good thing

This hotel is located near time square walking distance to most attractions. It's smaller which means that the rooms and floors are quiet. The staff was the same every day and were very pleasant daily. The only reason I gave it a lower comfort was our a/c was very hit or miss. At the worst we couldn't get the room under 79 degrees. We told them and they got it working for half the night. Other than the temperature everything was wonderful. We will stay here again when we are back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 30, 2014

Didnt stay

I checked in late on May 27th. It was a hot day in the city and at 1130p, it was still 78 degrees outside. I was assigned room 804 and when I got to the room, the room had two fans that were running at high speed. Hmmm. why could that be? is that because someone else had checked in and found that the air conditioning in this room was broken? I was quite disappointed that the hotel tried to assign me a room like this, knowing that the room was sub par. Thankfully, the front desk tried to move me to another hotel and finally allowed me to check out without a cancellation fee. Sadly, at midnight, this did not leave me much solace. With all that being said, the room was nice. Nothing fancy but well decorated. The room actually had a balcony and under the right circumstances, I could see enjoying the room. Two other points worth mentioning: the elevator in the building was down the day before and I heard about this from several guests; there is no workout room at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saultzy
Business
Chicago
May 5, 2014

3 Star hotel tryng to be a 4 star

This hotel looks a little seedy. They are trying to be better but they miss. The room is VERY small but that is typical NY. The cleaning crew could do better. We had a bath mat on the first day but b=never saw one again. They gave us one little soap for both the shower and sink and after the room was cleaned they did not replace the soap but left it on the floor of the shower. We asked for our sheets to be changed but they weren't. They do offer complimentary coffee and cake in the morning which is nice and the staff tries to be very helpful. It is fine to stay here if you want to be in that area and use it just for sleeping but I would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Db14
Business
London
Mar 10, 2014

my hotel

Staff were very warm and courteous. Wouldn't believe you are in the heart of Manhattan...very quiet. Will definitely recommend to friends n family. Learnt I'm entitled to 15% discount on my next visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Luigi pizza, what a tasty pizza they serve. C21 - a good place to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaCS
Business
London, England
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

The hotel is in a really good location, only a 10 minute walk from Times Square, but still a reasonably quiet street for how close it is. If you like How I Met Your Mother, the bar McClarens was based on is practically opposite. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. What I didn't notice on the website so I'm not sure they mention it, is that there is a guest lounge where they serve cake from 7 - 11am (but put whatever's left in the fridge so sometimes you're lucky if you get there a little late) and there are also unlimited hot drinks and water there. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was going to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top