$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Amesome

This hotel is great. The people there is very kind and are always willing to help you with patient.... See full review

  • Yaguang W.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Great Location

I've stayed here a few times. It's a great location with several trains close to the front door.... See full review

  • Mascotguy
  • Feb 17, 2015
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinca the Traveller
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 5, 2014

Amazing Hotel for Local & Money, but Heat Issues Made Us Leave Early

Creatively decorated, decent internet, super friendly staff, and terrific location make this an excellent choice if you can't really splurge on an upscale hotel, but can spend a little more in the $200/night range. We ended up checking out a day early after a no sleep night unfortunately because the heat in the room was 75-76 degrees, the windows, while they can be open, only open a little (and need to be propped open...with our water bottle!), and the air conditioning does not work in winter. This is because it's an OLD building and the hotel has not invested yet in the upgrade. To their credit, they reimbursed us in full for our stay (2 nights, of which we left after 1), and invited us back when the situation is hopefully corrected. We would stay here again if they do fix it. The staff is very friendly, and the decor charming and creative. The location is steps from Broadway and 5th Avenue etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, a new "fast food" joint just opened (from California) called Lyfe. It is super healthy food in a great location, and super friendly. We ate lunch one day, and breakfast the next. Just fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avg. traveler
Business
Maine
Nov 23, 2014

Not as advertised

Reasonably comfortable bed with some troubling experience. Only one elevator which was broken at the time I had to leave with all my bags down 6 flights of narrow stairs. No glass between shower and toilet and toilet paper and trash can getting everything else in bathroom wet. Last problem was noisy heater which evidently didn't work at all for some other guests while I was staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepy30
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 17, 2014

Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to catch a show in the city, or hang out in Times Square. I cannot recommend this hotel more...I would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel is this AMAZING Japanese restaurant - Yakitori Toto. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gyghmbo
Business
Boise, ID
Oct 29, 2014

Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio City, all shows, and a close walk to Central Park. The Carnegie Deli is right there as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very modern and nice with great soaps and shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c4117
Business
Toledo, Oh.
Oct 26, 2014

Good location. Very Basic

The room was decent. My room was never cleaned during my three night stay, I had to ask for clean towels on day #3. The most troubling aspect of my stay is that my credit card was charged for items that I did not consume. Although they did refund my money, I would definitely be concerned about staying there in the future. The common area on the second floor left a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful of "deals"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Max Van
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 5, 2014

Hotel staffs are very very friendly, treating you just like friends

The hotel staffs just like Robin is extremely friendly, very informative & helpful. The hotel location is very close to everything. A few minutes walk, you can get to subway. Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lcole travel for food
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 5, 2014

NYC for the weekend

Hotel was clean and nice. The rooms are very small but layer out well. Bathrooms were very modern and clean. It was perfect for a one night stay. Close to the subways and shopping too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 9, 2014

Love this Hotel

Great bathroom! Nice mattress! Tv too! Really classy Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2014

Great spot!

The shower is the best part! The TV and the beds were also very nice. Would stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ Flores
Business
laredo
Jul 21, 2014

Home Away From Home

I have been staying at The Moderne for over 2 years, in my opinion they are the best !! It's honestly my home away from home ! I know everyone there and they have become my family when I am there for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay Clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top