$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fox Damy
Business
New Town
Jan 15, 2015

Overall great experience

Staff was great. The room was considered a "Loft" which was fair size with sofe and desk but my understanding other rooms are much smaller in size with exception the the PH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JR.211
Business
Washington
Jan 15, 2015

Mediocre

The hallways and public spaces are somewhat grim, and the room was not comfortable. The bath had no space for amenities. Despite the friendly staff, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Traveling Gina
Business
Washington DC
Dec 7, 2014

Needs better HVAC system

This is a great location but without decent HVAC, it is too hot to rate a return trip. It was renovated and it is quiet but you have to open the window to get any air flow. Hotel staff relocated me but honestly it was just too hot. Very clean and nice strong shower. TV wasn't working properly. Comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinca the Traveller
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 5, 2014

Amazing Hotel for Local & Money, but Heat Issues Made Us Leave Early

Creatively decorated, decent internet, super friendly staff, and terrific location make this an excellent choice if you can't really splurge on an upscale hotel, but can spend a little more in the $200/night range. We ended up checking out a day early after a no sleep night unfortunately because the heat in the room was 75-76 degrees, the windows, while they can be open, only open a little (and need to be propped open...with our water bottle!), and the air conditioning does not work in winter. This is because it's an OLD building and the hotel has not invested yet in the upgrade. To their credit, they reimbursed us in full for our stay (2 nights, of which we left after 1), and invited us back when the situation is hopefully corrected. We would stay here again if they do fix it. The staff is very friendly, and the decor charming and creative. The location is steps from Broadway and 5th Avenue etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, a new "fast food" joint just opened (from California) called Lyfe. It is super healthy food in a great location, and super friendly. We ate lunch one day, and breakfast the next. Just fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avg. traveler
Business
Maine
Nov 23, 2014

Not as advertised

Reasonably comfortable bed with some troubling experience. Only one elevator which was broken at the time I had to leave with all my bags down 6 flights of narrow stairs. No glass between shower and toilet and toilet paper and trash can getting everything else in bathroom wet. Last problem was noisy heater which evidently didn't work at all for some other guests while I was staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepy30
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 17, 2014

Best hotel

This was my 2nd time at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to catch a show in the city, or hang out in Times Square. I cannot recommend this hotel more...I would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel is this AMAZING Japanese restaurant - Yakitori Toto. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gyghmbo
Business
Boise, ID
Oct 29, 2014

Great location very friendly staff

This is a great boutique hotel right in the middle of midtown New York - near Rock Center, Radio City, all shows, and a close walk to Central Park. The Carnegie Deli is right there as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very modern and nice with great soaps and shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c4117
Business
Toledo, Oh.
Oct 26, 2014

Good location. Very Basic

The room was decent. My room was never cleaned during my three night stay, I had to ask for clean towels on day #3. The most troubling aspect of my stay is that my credit card was charged for items that I did not consume. Although they did refund my money, I would definitely be concerned about staying there in the future. The common area on the second floor left a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful of "deals"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Max Van
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 5, 2014

Hotel staffs are very very friendly, treating you just like friends

The hotel staffs just like Robin is extremely friendly, very informative & helpful. The hotel location is very close to everything. A few minutes walk, you can get to subway. Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lcole travel for food
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 5, 2014

NYC for the weekend

Hotel was clean and nice. The rooms are very small but layer out well. Bathrooms were very modern and clean. It was perfect for a one night stay. Close to the subways and shopping too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top