$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Moderne

4 stars
View map of 243 W. 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
87 reviews
Terrific stay

Very nice intimate property. Try to request a room facing 55th street if possible, but these may be... See full review

  • DanVictor
  • May 4, 2015
One nighter

Could not easily find ice, and I guess tap water is safe to drink in NYC? See full review

  • Meggy
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Moderne combines the essence of an intimate European hotel with the glamour and style of a chic New York City townhouse. The hotel's forty sleek and sophisticated guestrooms provide an ultramodern interior, donning bold original abstract artwork, and each richly appointed guest room reflects the whimsical spirit of the 1950's Color Field art movement. This innovative design concept makes for a truly exceptional guest experience. Like the unique pieces of art in the rooms we look to treat each guest with the same thoughtful detail to cater to every need during their stay. With only five guestrooms on each floor, we offer personalized service that will allow guests to truly enjoy an intimate experience at the Moderne. The Modern Art movement also influences how we approach the guest experience in regards to service. Modern Art broke long standing traditions and discovered a new style that celebrates the individual. We at the Moderne are also breaking hospitality norms in order to give individualized attention to each guest. We look to find and create new service standards to give each guest a personalized experience. There was thoughtfulness put in the placement of each piece of art in the room and there is thoughtfulness in how we welcome and attend each guest. Innovation demands creative solutions and innovation is how we enhance the guest experience. Sit by the fireplace in our communal lounge enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine whiling reading the latest news article on your iPad at one of the lounge terminals. This secluded oasis in the heart of bustling Midtown Manhattan provides is unique and one of a kind experience you will not find anywhere else. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Moderne also booked these hotels.

★★★
$148
3.9 / 5 288 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★
$140
3.3 / 5 244 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews
★★★★
$156
4.3 / 5 84 reviews
★★★★
$168
4.1 / 5 129 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 279 reviews

The Moderne Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double guestroom has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.
Loft Suite
The Loft Suite has an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations
DELUXE Room
The Deluxe Room guestroom has either a King or Queen bed with an ultramodern interior, featuring an oversized tufted white leather bed draped in extravagant Belgian linens, a polished stainless steel desk and a Charles Eames-inspired black and white woven carpet. Lush red parachute nylon drapes block out the harsh light of day, and reveal the energy and excitement of the neighborhood when parted. All guestrooms are equipped with a 42 inch flat panel TV. In addition, the newly refurbished bathrooms will underscore the modern feel of the guestrooms with stainless steel tiles and a glamorous oversized backlit mirror. The private label bath amenities are custom-formulated, all natural based on the essence of spearmint to add a note of relaxed opulence to your distinctive accommodations.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.4 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Moderne

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PtrBsh
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel

Couldn't be happier! The room was attractive and clean, that staff- from the front desk through the maintainence staff, were unfailingly polite and friendly, and what a terrific location, within easy walking distance of the theatre district, central park, subways. I will DEFINITELY stay there again next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica m.
Couples
irving
Aug 21, 2015

Horrible experience

No window view, too old, too small rooms, air conditioning not working. We had to move from one room to another several times due to air conditioner not working well, it was pretty hot we couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becaribe
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 10, 2015

Great NY Hotel for day stay

Friendly Staff & service. Easy and fast check in Small room but ideal for 1 person traveling. Ideal location for NYFW or any midtown business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanVictor
Business
Chicago
May 4, 2015

Terrific stay

Very nice intimate property. Try to request a room facing 55th street if possible, but these may be in short supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meggy
Couples
Reading
Apr 6, 2015

One nighter

Could not easily find ice, and I guess tap water is safe to drink in NYC?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Esq
Couples
Davie
Mar 9, 2015

Couple trip to the City

The hotel was good. The sign on the front of the building which states part of it is not habitable is a bit discouraging.. but it's only for the basement and has something to do with the prior owner. The rooms were decent, although there seemed to be mold or something in the bathroom ceiling. The room is small, but that's to be expected in the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great and the price is awesome. If I didn't intentionally pick a new hotel for every visit, I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
S1234
Business
Evergreen
Feb 24, 2015

This is not a four star hotel.

I would recommend that you not trust the reviews. This place is run down and dingy. The room was a decent size, but it would best be described as skeevy. It didn't help the experience that my first room had no heat. The room was spacious and the staff was nice, but don't make the mistake of believing that it is some great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mascotguy
Couples
Cedar Falls
Feb 17, 2015

Great Location

I've stayed here a few times. It's a great location with several trains close to the front door. You can go anywhere from here. The rooms are in good shape and the second floor lounge is a nice place to take a break and watch the snow fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol B.
Friends
Leeds
Feb 4, 2015

Fantastic service and great location

This small but charming hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing in Manhattan. Close to Times Square and Central Park is a great base for a short break. The beds are the comfiest I've ever slept in! We were unfortunate to bestranded in the Winter Storm Juno on 27 Jan 2015. Andreas was wonderful and not only did he make phone calls to the UK on our behalf, he understood our distress and just looked after us. I cannot thank him and his team enough for their care and patience (while I ranted to the airline and insurance company!) Whilst this hotel is not the height of luxury, if you want a great nights sleep in a great part of the city with friendly, helpful staff to turn to for advise then do book the Moderne. We'll be heading back in June and will definitely stay here. Thanks Andreas and team!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If hitting the bars, always ask what's on Happy Hour. You'll save loads. Don't expect bar staff to volunteer this information - they won't.

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tony s.
Couples
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

had a fantastic time.

the hotel was ideal for us as we like to go out sight seeing and eating out. you don't go all the way to new York to spend your time in the hotel, the staff were very nice and friendly and the rooms cleaned every day. we would go back to the moderne if we visited new York again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Moderne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher E.
Couples
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Excellent

The Moderne Hotel is situated ideally for anyone wanting to visit Manhattan. We were sceptical as to the distance it would be to the main tourist attractions, however on our first day we found our selfs stumbling across grand central and Rockafella centre which didn't seem 2 minutes from the hotel. The staff were amazing and helped us celebrate the girlfriends birthday. The bed was so comfy it was difficult to get out of in the mornings. The guest lounge although situated on the 2nd floor was always stocked with tea and coffee and was a comfortable waiting area whilst we waited for our taxi back to JFK. A little boutique hotel in an ideal place with absolutely amazing staff, cannot fault at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top