$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
186 reviews
Fantastic Staff, Great Location

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my boyfriend who lived in New York for college. I... See full review

  • KellyCath
  • Jan 21, 2014
Best site for visiting our son

Staff is wonderful; location superb. Easily accessible to transportation and restaurants See full review

  • Grammy A
  • Jan 2, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7395 -73.9826
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Sutton Place Near Flatiron District. Major attraction of the area are: Park Avenue - 2 blocks, Fifth Avenue - 4 blocks, Empire State Building - 7 blocks, Gramercy Park - 10 blocks, Flatiron Building - 10 blocks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 186
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jan 11, 2010

eh

Rooms and bathrooms were VERY tiny. To be expected for a boutique hotel but this was just too small and uncomfortable. No room for clothes and suitcases. The room was also very hot and stuffy but the air conditioning did not work - it only blew hot air. We opened the windows to get some air flowing but it was so noisy outside we still couldn't sleep. The other people we were traveling with said they had the same problem in their room. However, the decor was trendy and the attached restaurant, Inoteca, was great for wine and small plates and seemed popular with neighborhood people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Damien Ha
San Francisco
Nov 5, 2013

New but quite small!

The hotel is very new and clean, but the room is quite small and the location is not close to a subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to subway.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jan 11, 2010

eh

Rooms and bathrooms were VERY tiny. To be expected for a boutique hotel but this was just too small and uncomfortable. No room for clothes and suitcases. The room was also very hot and stuffy but the air conditioning did not work - it only blew hot air. We opened the windows to get some air flowing but it was so noisy outside we still couldn't sleep. The other people we were traveling with said they had the same problem in their room. However, the decor was trendy and the attached restaurant, Inoteca, was great for wine and small plates and seemed popular with neighborhood people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Oct 5, 2009

Marcel

Really helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dd super pgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 17, 2013

Comfortable, great location

This hotel is a great find in Gramercy. The room was very clean and quiet. My only comment would be the room was small, however was perfect for me (traveling alone) and would even be manageable for two people. Definitely will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belasunshine
Toronto, Canada
Feb 18, 2014

Great weekend in NYC

Had a great time and hotel conveniently located to many restaurants and close enough to walk to all areas I wanted to visit. Great products and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mminna
Lansing, MI
Sep 25, 2013

Small but beautiful, great location, very safe

The rooms are very small, but all hotel rooms in NYC are. The location is great, very close to subway and all tourist locations, Very safe neighborhood, great restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff is incredibly helpful. I called to see if we could check in early because our flight arrived at 9am. They had our room ready and even held our bags after we checked out so we could explore the city more before leaving for the airport. Would stay here again every time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
This little kitty
Little Rock, AR
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Weekend Away

The Marcel at Gramercy is a great place to stay away from all of the usual tourist hotspots. It is close enough to the subway, so taking a taxi is not always necessary. The rooms are spotless and clean!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Oct 5, 2009

Marcel

Really helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal
Nov 17, 2009

Modern and clean

The staff was very friendly. When we first arrived they gave us a standard room with one double bed. We had paid for a deluxe with 2 double beds. I was glad that I had printed out a copy of the [...] arrangements to prove this! They quickly corrected the situation. Our room was on 3rd Avenue so it was a little noisy - but it is NY so we didn't mind. We loved the decor. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant affiliated with the hotel, called Inoteca, was delicious. The crowd was young and hip, the food and wine was great. For a place to grab a quick snack, around the corner on 3rd is a health food store with lots of good stuff!

Back to menu Return to top