$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 29, 2009

Great Location -

Enjoyed the stay - the room was small but what I expected and the service was great. This is an excellent location with great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 19, 2009

The Hotel Was Great, But [...] Was Not.

This was our sixth time at this hotel,the location is great (really close to Union Square). The rooms are really small but that's normal for NYC, however they have a new feeling and are very nice and clean.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan, conference planner
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 12, 2009

A very positive hotel experience

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel was near perfect for our needs. It was located just off 3rd. Avenue on East 24th Street, near restaurants. The hotel is spotless..appearing to have undergone a major renovation very recently. The lobby and rooms were extremely clean. Staff very accommodating. Parking in a garage directly across the street was a mere $27.00 for overnight..which for NYC is terrific. We had a room on the eighth floor with a nice view of other buildings. There are 2 elevators in the buidling. On the 10th floor, there is a daily continental breakfast for $12.95 which was very good and adequate for the price. The dining area was adjacent to a good size outdoor patio with a wonderful view of the eastside. The room was very modern and very comfortable though small. We had two beds on request. Flat screen tv, mini bar, computer hook up. Very modern bathroom with lovely walk in shower and state of the art fixtures. The only limitations were insufficient lighting for reading and a noisy fan that started automatically when the bathroom light came on. Overall, a very positive experience. We are planning to return to this property for a 5 day stay in August.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very nice Italian Restaurant less than one block from the hotel, directly on 3rd. Avenue. Also, terrific bagel restaurants on 3rd. as well as small convenient store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArthurJ37
Business
Corralitos, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Perfectly convenient

I travel to NYC quite often and usually with groups. Most often we stay at larger chain hotels which are fine for what we do but when I'm by myself I prefer the smaller boutique hotels. They offer more personal service and it seems like you're staying in your own apartment. Located in a quieter part of town, if there is such a thing, makes it seem more like your neighborhood. The rooms are small but you really don't need a big room because you're hardly ever there. Unless you plan on doing some entertaining, they are just enough. Clean and comfortable. My only thoughts on the negative side, if any, are that the elevators seem to have a mind of their own and sometimes go right past your floor while waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are more than enough markets and restaurants in the immediate area and all the subways are within easy walk so you can get anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 11, 2008

Reasonable and clean in NYC

The hotel is a well kept secret as the veteran cab driver did not know where it is located. The location is great for my business trips. The room although small was very clean. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Union Square Wanderer
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Cute hotel away from tourist crowd

Very cute hotel. Room was small but very well-decorated and clean. Location was perfect as we like walking around the lower Manhattan neighborhoods rather than in the touristy Midtown area. Easy access to Metro and lots of restaurants and bars. The only small gripe was that the bathroom light switch also turned on the fan, which was on the noisy side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is a 24-hour bagel shop with delicious egg salad bagel sandwiches. We stopped for one morning and night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2008

comfortable/clean

Nice lobby & rooms (though small), & good service. Water pressure was terrible, almost just a dribble in the shower. St noise was loud (on 2nd fl); bring your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Overnite
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 21, 2009

Very Chic

The rooms were very nice & chic. I enjoyed the atmosphere. The bathroom was a bit small. Only one person at a time. The tub in room 4113 was chipped in many spots to make it look kind of dingy. The staff was pleasant. The complimentary coffee and internet was nice but oddly placed on the 10th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 13, 2008

Unexpectedly Pleased

The hotel was very cute and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was a little small and the halls were very narrow, but a cute, boutique style hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luckydog
Business
Connecticut, USA
Sep 26, 2011

good location

3rd ave and 24th, good location for visiting Gramercy/East village comfortable hotel and very clean In-room air conditioner is a bit loud-downside good value if you can get a room for under $200 a night and when they give you free internet (it may not be free)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

go to Lupa Osteria Romana (Thompson st between Houston and Bleecker)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top