$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
133 reviews
Couldn't be better

This hotel is a hidden gem in NYC. It is conviniently close to a subway (two blocks) and there are... See full review

  • Mrs Flores
  • Dec 2, 2014
super

As i walked into the door, I felt welcome to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and provided... See full review

  • ralph 3000 GT
  • Jul 22, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aldan, PA
Jun 6, 2010

Exceeded Expectations!

We chose The Marcel because it was within walking distance of our relative's apartment. We paid for a full or queen bed and were upgraded to a king at check-in. Loved the hotel's lobby decor and furnishings. Our room was very adequate in size and included an occasional chair and a desk chair, nook for luggage rack and closet. Again, loved the room decor. Bathroom included tub/shower and was clean. Our window overlooked Third Avenue. What I really like about the hotel was the 10th floor guest lounge which offered free coffee/tea anytime and a continental breakfast for $12+. The lounge had two computers for guest use. In addition to tables and chairs it had very comfy couches and an outdoor area. Both areas offered a great view of the Empire State Building. Every hotel staff person we encountered was friendly and wished us a nice day. We will definitely be staying at The Marcel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Nov 17, 2009

Modern and clean

The staff was very friendly. When we first arrived they gave us a standard room with one double bed. We had paid for a deluxe with 2 double beds. I was glad that I had printed out a copy of the [...] arrangements to prove this! They quickly corrected the situation. Our room was on 3rd Avenue so it was a little noisy - but it is NY so we didn't mind. We loved the decor. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant affiliated with the hotel, called Inoteca, was delicious. The crowd was young and hip, the food and wine was great. For a place to grab a quick snack, around the corner on 3rd is a health food store with lots of good stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
May 12, 2009

Nice , affordable in a great neighborhoo

Stayed overnight after a late day at work. Always clean, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yourtwowinters
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 14, 2009

Convenient but slightly disappointing

I'd recommend this hotel if you'll be spending lots of time wandering around the city, and just using your hotel as a means to sleep. The hotel staff varied - the evening desk service was definitely lacking, unfriendly and short. However, the afternoon staff and doormen were helpful. Our room was extremely small, with just enough room for a double bed and shelving - the tiny desk was actually used as a TV stand. However, given the location in midtown Manhattan, I was not especially surprised. Overall, the location of the hotel and its proximity to bars, restaurants, and subways stops made up for any shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wlawson95
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel, service, and price

I really liked the hotel. It was close to where I wanted to go, the room was clean and well stocked and it was priced just right. It isn't the Peninsula but for what I needed it was just right. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Saigon Grill at 95 University Place. It has Viaetnamese Cooking and the food was fantastic. Again, not fancy but clean, good service and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thor the Great
Business
New Haven, CT
Jan 17, 2010

Over Night Treasure

We stayed in NYC one night and this room was great for us. Great location and great staff. They made our one night seem very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inoteca is a great place steps away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCat
Business
Arkansas
Jul 6, 2011

Short but excellent stay.

I really like the hotel. It was very clean. I enjoyed walking to Les Halles for brunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Les Halles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 22, 2009

visiting son in NY

excellent location for us. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent service with computer and printer for guests to use on the 10th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cityfan
Business
albany,ny
May 28, 2009

Just where we needed to be...

Our room was small but very well-organized; lots of storage, comfy beds, nice linens. Water pressure in the shower was great, and the toiletries provided were high quality. Check-in and check-out were very cordial and professional. The location is super for us. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willnot
Business
I get around
Dec 30, 2010

Great place

Great stay at the Marcel. Swanky lobby and decorations. Hip and chic come to mind. Impressed my date, at the very least. Good location as well, lots of stuff around and even more not far. Just wish the train was closer...and that there wasn't a blizzard while we were there. Air conditioner and water were weird, but evened out. Nobody's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice diner around the corner. Friendly staff, nummy foods. Very "typical".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top