$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
133 reviews
Couldn't be better

This hotel is a hidden gem in NYC. It is conviniently close to a subway (two blocks) and there are... See full review

  • Mrs Flores
  • Dec 2, 2014
super

As i walked into the door, I felt welcome to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and provided... See full review

  • ralph 3000 GT
  • Jul 22, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Shrink
Business
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Aug 17, 2013

Great small hotel in fabulous Gramercy

We wanted a pleasant hotel in the Gramercy area and the Marcel proved to be ideal. The rooms are small but well appointed. The staff was very helpful and gracious. We plan to make it our first choice in lodging whenever we are in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJKKKKK
Business
Manhattan NYC
Aug 21, 2013

Good place to stay

This hotel is very friendly and clean. Besides the small space in general the bed is very good size for two people and clean bathrooms. Very great location that it's close to bus stops and 3rd Ave is not to far east in the city. The wifi connection is not good so that was the only thing painful to me. Good staffs that always tried their bests to help. In general it's a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mminna
Business
Lansing, MI
Sep 25, 2013

Small but beautiful, great location, very safe

The rooms are very small, but all hotel rooms in NYC are. The location is great, very close to subway and all tourist locations, Very safe neighborhood, great restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff is incredibly helpful. I called to see if we could check in early because our flight arrived at 9am. They had our room ready and even held our bags after we checked out so we could explore the city more before leaving for the airport. Would stay here again every time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dd super pgh
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 17, 2013

Comfortable, great location

This hotel is a great find in Gramercy. The room was very clean and quiet. My only comment would be the room was small, however was perfect for me (traveling alone) and would even be manageable for two people. Definitely will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSW8
Business
New Jersey
Dec 29, 2013

Small but nice

The rooms are small - As in one person needs to be on the bed in order for the other person to move around! The hotel is in a nice location, especially if you are OK with walking around. There are quite a few dining options nearby on 3rd Avenue. The room I had was quiet and isolated - very nice. My only concern was that the room was too hot, and I could not get the temperature down. I set the goal temperature at 65 F, but could not get the room below 75 F!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AshPro
Business
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Jan 14, 2014

Great Stay!

My husband and I stayed here January 10th to 13th. We arrived early and was able to check in early. Staff was very helpful and the room was great. My only issue was it was way too hot in our room but we were able to turn on the A/C and all was fine after that. Great Location, close to a ton of things. We will defiantly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miadancer
Business
Canada
Jan 26, 2014

Nice boutique hotel

Everything about the hotel was great. It's noisy anywhere you stay in NYC. My only critique was that we got a double bed instead of a queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Century 21 is the best on deals and designer fashion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skirudder
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 10, 2014

Nice Decor

The hotel room was decent size with a nice decor. The light switch in the bathroom seemed to stick and they only provided two bath towels, which for women is an issue when they use annex track towel for their hair. They charge for wifi use by the device, not the room, although it is free in the lounge. Having said all this, I would still go back again as the rooms were nice and the price reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belasunshine
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 18, 2014

Great weekend in NYC

Had a great time and hotel conveniently located to many restaurants and close enough to walk to all areas I wanted to visit. Great products and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
business traveler cbm
Business
los altos, ca
Mar 31, 2014

Great Hotel

Stayed there for business. Great location. Fast and easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top