$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple-One Night Visit
Business
New York, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Bait & Switch?

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that they had a large group that had decided to stay for an extra night and thus had no rooms available for us. They offered to put us up in their "sister hotel" on 62nd Street and tried to reassure us that they would reimburse the cab fare to get to this hotel that was approx. 40 blocks north of where we wanted to be. We asked to speak to the manager and told him that 62nd St. was an unacceptable replacement for this hotel on 24th St. We had booked this hotel 3 months earlier specifically because of its location. Were they planning on compensating us for all of the additional cab fares that we would be forced to pay for the remainder of our trip. He was very nice, said he'd have to speak to his regional manager, and then magically found an open room. The room was VERY small, but clean enough and comfortable and we were happy to be in the location that we wanted. It was just a lot of hassle to go through, considering we spend $320 for a night in this non-spectacular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 16, 2009

Lots of room for improvement!

This hotel is close to my son's apt. that is the only thing going for it. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny. Hallways noisy. Ventilation /air conditioning noisy and ineffective. Lobby small and outrageously "modern". I was guarateed a king bed by Orbitz but was told there were none available when I arrived. I was compensated with 2 free breakfasts.. all I really wanted was a king bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT-Prime - the best steak I've ever eaten.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, MA
Jan 9, 2011

No hot water for shower

Staff were lovely and helpful; the room was small but very clean and nice, despite the funky 60's decor. But no hot water in the shower! Ugh! Location was ideal for visiting family inpatient at Bellevue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pullino's pizza at Houston and Bowery is superb.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poconos, PA.
Jun 25, 2009

Customer service not consistent.

Formerly from Manhattan, my husband and I decided to stay in the city after a show because we did not want to drive home. We booked the Marcel for one night and were very impressed with the reviews and location for this hotel. Unfortunately we did not get the same level of service as our predecessors documented on-line. First the Doorman stood watching my husband unload the car , then waited until I got inside and my husband went to drop the car off at the garage to tell him not to bring it across the street that they will park it. But the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful, and went out of his way to help us with our dinner RSVP. Then went as far as recommending another restaurant, and called ahead for us. He also upgraded our room from a double to a king size bed ( for additional $$),which we gladly excepted. But after getting our room key the doorman/bellhop was no wear to be found. So we carried our bags in the cart upstairs ourselves. Then when we checked out there was nobody at the front desk, I tried everything, even ringed the bell, and then called the frontdesk, and still no asnwer! Finally after 15 minutes we found the doorman outside, and he called on the cell phone, and someone had magically appeared. One more important item to address, the list of prices in the room is NOT the same as what they charge for the items from the snack/mini bar. My Pellegrino which was listed for $3.00 was actually $3.79 plus an additional tax of $0.32. So double check before you assume the list of item's prices are correct. Bottom line, not consistent with the customer service and I would not recommend to any of my friends or family or return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very careful in choosing the in house restaurant Inoteca. My husband and I were not greeted in a friendly manner when we first arrived, and then were told after requesting a table that was not on top of another, "those other tables are for other expecting guest". We where packed in so tight we could not even get up without having to move the guest's table sitting on either side of us. To add to the situation we had a waiter who really didn't want to explain the hard to understand menu , give us the chief's specials, or take our order, and to make matters worst when we asked the hostess (because we could not find our waiter) to bill our drinks to the room,(because we would not be able to make our show at this rate) they charged us 20% gratuity (we found out during check-out)and it clearly states on the bill that they charge only 18% gratuity on room service, which was also not the case. Fortunately, we did get an apology from another hostess who was very sweet. So after our show we did come back for a night cap, which we were very well received by the same sweet hostess, but in the end, we ended up with the same clueless waiter.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dcruz68
Business
SPAIN
Feb 24, 2014

Average

Good location. Rooms a little small but ok. Fine quality vs price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Watcher
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 18, 2014

Good stay on the go

This was a good place to crash for two nights and it was in between our destinations - SoHo and Williamsburg, and very close to east village. In one direction, you have about a 6 block walk to some awesome restaurants (namely, Momofuku), and in the other direction it's the same distance to the train, that takes two stops before Bedford St (be sure to try Everyman Espresso for coffee before getting on the train). The hotel also offers a town car service to the airport for $40 - better than a cab and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Momofuku for dinner, Booker and Dex for drinks, and Everyman Espresso for coffee.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davidmarlborough
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

midtown

mediocre internet large room, very noisy because A/C didn't work Very friendly, efficient staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anon78999990
Business
Here
Jul 22, 2012

Aging chic hotel, nice staff

The good: Price Location (fairly quiet residential area) Soft bed Clean The bad: Old computer software means it can take 40 minutes to check it AC controls hard wired to keep room 76-80 Creaky floors=under maintained property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DIFman
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 22, 2012

Cool vibe, clean and friendly...just a bit small.

I was here for one-night on business and The Marcel fit my needs. It was clean, the staff was friendly and the decor was very cool. My only complaint, like many others, is that the rooms are TINY. Clean, nice...but SMALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Work Traveller M
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2012

Tiny Room, Clean

The room is very small as was the bed. The shower didn't work particularly well. The room was very clean. I stayed overnight for work purposes and would stay again. If the shower worked better, i would have gone 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top