$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
131 reviews
Couldn't be better

This hotel is a hidden gem in NYC. It is conviniently close to a subway (two blocks) and there are... See full review

  • Mrs Flores
  • Dec 2, 2014
super

As i walked into the door, I felt welcome to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and provided... See full review

  • ralph 3000 GT
  • Jul 22, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 16, 2009

Lots of room for improvement!

This hotel is close to my son's apt. that is the only thing going for it. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny. Hallways noisy. Ventilation /air conditioning noisy and ineffective. Lobby small and outrageously "modern". I was guarateed a king bed by Orbitz but was told there were none available when I arrived. I was compensated with 2 free breakfasts.. all I really wanted was a king bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT-Prime - the best steak I've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, MA
Jan 9, 2011

No hot water for shower

Staff were lovely and helpful; the room was small but very clean and nice, despite the funky 60's decor. But no hot water in the shower! Ugh! Location was ideal for visiting family inpatient at Bellevue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pullino's pizza at Houston and Bowery is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poconos, PA.
Jun 25, 2009

Customer service not consistent.

Formerly from Manhattan, my husband and I decided to stay in the city after a show because we did not want to drive home. We booked the Marcel for one night and were very impressed with the reviews and location for this hotel. Unfortunately we did not get the same level of service as our predecessors documented on-line. First the Doorman stood watching my husband unload the car , then waited until I got inside and my husband went to drop the car off at the garage to tell him not to bring it across the street that they will park it. But the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful, and went out of his way to help us with our dinner RSVP. Then went as far as recommending another restaurant, and called ahead for us. He also upgraded our room from a double to a king size bed ( for additional $$),which we gladly excepted. But after getting our room key the doorman/bellhop was no wear to be found. So we carried our bags in the cart upstairs ourselves. Then when we checked out there was nobody at the front desk, I tried everything, even ringed the bell, and then called the frontdesk, and still no asnwer! Finally after 15 minutes we found the doorman outside, and he called on the cell phone, and someone had magically appeared. One more important item to address, the list of prices in the room is NOT the same as what they charge for the items from the snack/mini bar. My Pellegrino which was listed for $3.00 was actually $3.79 plus an additional tax of $0.32. So double check before you assume the list of item's prices are correct. Bottom line, not consistent with the customer service and I would not recommend to any of my friends or family or return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very careful in choosing the in house restaurant Inoteca. My husband and I were not greeted in a friendly manner when we first arrived, and then were told after requesting a table that was not on top of another, "those other tables are for other expecting guest". We where packed in so tight we could not even get up without having to move the guest's table sitting on either side of us. To add to the situation we had a waiter who really didn't want to explain the hard to understand menu , give us the chief's specials, or take our order, and to make matters worst when we asked the hostess (because we could not find our waiter) to bill our drinks to the room,(because we would not be able to make our show at this rate) they charged us 20% gratuity (we found out during check-out)and it clearly states on the bill that they charge only 18% gratuity on room service, which was also not the case. Fortunately, we did get an apology from another hostess who was very sweet. So after our show we did come back for a night cap, which we were very well received by the same sweet hostess, but in the end, we ended up with the same clueless waiter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davidmarlborough
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

midtown

mediocre internet large room, very noisy because A/C didn't work Very friendly, efficient staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anon78999990
Business
Here
Jul 22, 2012

Aging chic hotel, nice staff

The good: Price Location (fairly quiet residential area) Soft bed Clean The bad: Old computer software means it can take 40 minutes to check it AC controls hard wired to keep room 76-80 Creaky floors=under maintained property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DIFman
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 22, 2012

Cool vibe, clean and friendly...just a bit small.

I was here for one-night on business and The Marcel fit my needs. It was clean, the staff was friendly and the decor was very cool. My only complaint, like many others, is that the rooms are TINY. Clean, nice...but SMALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Work Traveller M
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2012

Tiny Room, Clean

The room is very small as was the bed. The shower didn't work particularly well. The room was very clean. I stayed overnight for work purposes and would stay again. If the shower worked better, i would have gone 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Damien Ha
Business
San Francisco
Nov 5, 2013

New but quite small!

The hotel is very new and clean, but the room is quite small and the location is not close to a subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Duck Fan
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 13, 2013

Small Rooms But Good Location For Me

With our corporate offices on 21st and Park Ave. S, the Marcel Gramercy is in a perfect location, only a :5 minute walk. Be warned, the rooms are some of the smallest I have stayed in, in Manhattan. Not even enough room for a work area. Rooms are clean and that staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Thai food, Lantern is a short :10 minute walk on 2nd Ave. If you are just looking for a basic cuisine and like a variety of beers, The Tap Room is right across the street. A bit expensive, $30 for a burger and a beer, but definitely worth it after a long day at the office.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol NYC
Business
NYC
Dec 28, 2013

Carol nuc

Not that great. average place. wouldn't recommend it. Kinda smelled. Cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top