The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 2, 2009

Comfy little jewel of a hotel

Spotless and very comfortable room. Very friendly and professional staff from the receptionist to the bellstaff, high-quality linens and brand-spanking-new bathroom interior very nicely done. Truly an oasis after being out in the city all day on foot. Because the property is old, the hallways are narrow and the elevators slow. Not a big deal. I don't mind a tiny room, but if you're traveling with anything other than an intimate friend I'd ask to see the room first. If you do the continental breakfast buffet, the coffee's good, but the overall it doesn't live up to the rest of the hotel, and is not worth the extra charge. In fact, if it were free I might still pass it up. I've gotten much better at chain hotel "express"-type places. So just grab the complimentary coffee and head out for a bagel. The location is fine if you're on foot (as I like to be in NYC). Walk uptown, walk downtown, or to the subway. It's not super-close to Broadway shows or shopping or the Village. Huge drugstore chain right around the corner, however. My goal for this stay was an air-conditioned haven -- a place to sleep and shower in comfort, and I got it. The room safe worked at first, then stopped working, and it was never fixed. Luckily I left the emeralds at home :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 1, 2010

Great NYC hotel

This was my 3rd stay at the Marcel and every stay has been the same - great staff, lovely room, good location. Madison Square Park is a 5 minute walk and the subways are close. While the rooms are small, they are beautifully decorated. The 10th floor terrace is a great place to watch the sunset and view the Empire State builidng.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo
Sep 2, 2010

Love the Marcel

Delightful, friendly, charming. No pool. no fitness. Friendly staff. Perfect when I need to stay in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous excellent restaurants in the area. The best ones are on Park Ave., very close to great Indian and Asian food on 3rd.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 24, 2010

Marcel

The room was kindly upgraded due to a noisy fan. The next room had a good fan and was otherwise quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
skokie, il
Sep 15, 2009

modern, nice location hotel

the staff was very helpful. i purchased tickets for the us open upstairs in the customer lounge and because of security pop ups i could not print my tickets. i went down and the front desk girl let me use one of their computers to print them. saved the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bagel express is great for breakfast. they have good bagels and especially if you are on the go!

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 30, 2009

Marcel Hotel

Hotel was great. Dissapointed with [...], my reservation was not on file with the Hotel. Really didn't need the extra stress, of wondering if I would have a room, especially sisnce it was a Holiday week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robin[@]
Business
St. Helena, CA
Jan 22, 2010

Great Value

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Behdad
Business
Calgary, Canada
Jul 3, 2009

Marcel hotel

I liked it very much in general. Internet access on 10th floor is for free. The rooms are very nice and clean. We had some small problems with the fridge and the curtains and had to call them more than once to get someone in the room eventually. I can service could be a bit better. But I'm very happy with Marcel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Jul 23, 2011

Smaller than expected but overall good

The particular room I stayed in was very small (one double-bed), but it made due. I would recommend making sure what size the room is before booking. Overall, the hotel is very nice. It's located about 20 min walking distance from little italy and 15 min walking distance from the empire state building. I thought the hotel was ideal because it was somewhat in the middle of everything. The staff is very friendly, just make sure to bring your own cotton swabs and cotton balls, they do not have any. Good hotel, a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen conch
Business
Washington, DC
May 31, 2009

Very nice, lovely neighborhood

This is a lovely place to stay in New York if you are not headed uptown or don't mind the subway and taxis. I came to visit family who live nearby and it was an economical option. An excellent, spotless, quiet room, with trendy decor. Don't expect additional amenities, such as pool, gym, breakfast. Bed was VERY comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top