$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
186 reviews
Fantastic Staff, Great Location

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my boyfriend who lived in New York for college. I... See full review

  • KellyCath
  • Jan 21, 2014
Best site for visiting our son

Staff is wonderful; location superb. Easily accessible to transportation and restaurants See full review

  • Grammy A
  • Jan 2, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7395 -73.9826
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Sutton Place Near Flatiron District. Major attraction of the area are: Park Avenue - 2 blocks, Fifth Avenue - 4 blocks, Empire State Building - 7 blocks, Gramercy Park - 10 blocks, Flatiron Building - 10 blocks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Auntyb
Mystic, CT
Oct 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel.

This modern updated small hotel was a delight to have discovered. The staff was so nice, the rooms immaculate and very comfortable, the continental breakfast delicious in a beautiful sunny room with outdoor terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
daytona beach,fl
May 12, 2009

trendy

this was a great hotel for the price, trendy and fun. location was excellent and safe. i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great indian food one block away

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, Pa
May 13, 2009

My stay at the Marcel Hotel in Gramercy

I was dismayed upon our arrival to discover that our room had only 1 bed instead of two. when I presented my receipt from Orbitz designating two double beds, they immediately gave us a deluxe room with two double beds and apologized for the error. Obviously. they wished to remain in good standing with Orbitz. The Marcel was a beautiful, clean, small, quiet, hotel with many amenities. Orbitz has never disappointed me. I always check Orbitz first and I have always noticed that Orbitz offers better prices and better choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inotecca restaurant next door to Marcel was excellent, noisy inside, but delightful outside.They offered authentic Italian Tuscan cuisine.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Jan 1, 2010

Couldn't have been happier!!!

I really enjoyed my experience at the Marcel at Gramercy from the very beginning. It was a great location and not located far from the subway. The rooms were very impressive and the staff was very generous and helpful. I would definately recommend this spot for young couples and will continue to stay at the Marcel everytime I visit NY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go north on 3rd Ave and there is a plethora of bars in Murray Hill.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
daytona beach,fl
May 12, 2009

trendy

this was a great hotel for the price, trendy and fun. location was excellent and safe. i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great indian food one block away

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, Pa
May 13, 2009

My stay at the Marcel Hotel in Gramercy

I was dismayed upon our arrival to discover that our room had only 1 bed instead of two. when I presented my receipt from Orbitz designating two double beds, they immediately gave us a deluxe room with two double beds and apologized for the error. Obviously. they wished to remain in good standing with Orbitz. The Marcel was a beautiful, clean, small, quiet, hotel with many amenities. Orbitz has never disappointed me. I always check Orbitz first and I have always noticed that Orbitz offers better prices and better choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inotecca restaurant next door to Marcel was excellent, noisy inside, but delightful outside.They offered authentic Italian Tuscan cuisine.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2008

Worth every dollar

The hotel was very appealing from the time that we set foot in the lobby. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. They recommended the Marcel Bar, which is their restaurant that just opened next door. That was wonderful as well: excellent food, good presentation, pleasant staff. The room was very clean, chic decor, and had a nice view of the city. We liked the fact that check out was at noon, though we noticed that the cleaning lady seemend impatient. She even asked us about the time that we expected to leave. The location was great. We did not use a taxi at all. Either we walked or used the subway. We definitely would recommend it and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive's is nearby and it is also another top restaurant, worth a visit while in the city.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30th bday Lisa
Stamford, CT
Jun 18, 2009

Wonderful stay

Beautiful, trendy style hotel, great, friendly staff, very comfortable and spacious room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2008

Worth every dollar

The hotel was very appealing from the time that we set foot in the lobby. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. They recommended the Marcel Bar, which is their restaurant that just opened next door. That was wonderful as well: excellent food, good presentation, pleasant staff. The room was very clean, chic decor, and had a nice view of the city. We liked the fact that check out was at noon, though we noticed that the cleaning lady seemend impatient. She even asked us about the time that we expected to leave. The location was great. We did not use a taxi at all. Either we walked or used the subway. We definitely would recommend it and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive's is nearby and it is also another top restaurant, worth a visit while in the city.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KimJG
NY
Jan 16, 2012

Great night out in the city

Great service, free upgrade to King sized bed, friendly staff, very chic and clean room, fun lounge in hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top