$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Fantastic Trip !!

The hotel was brilliant. Amazing staff and a great location. It's accessible to everything and... See full review

  • Alicia S.
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great price for great place in NYC

The hotel was a nice little oasis in the heart of lower manhattan . .a few blocks from eataly and... See full review

  • Danica S.
  • May 7, 2015
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Property features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Nearby attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$219
3.8 / 5 103 reviews
★★★★
$175
4.3 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.9 / 5 147 reviews
★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$129
3.3 / 5 111 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 526 reviews
★★★★
$245
4.4 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$145
3.6 / 5 75 reviews

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.6 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grammy A
Family
Honolulu, HI
Jan 2, 2014

Best site for visiting our son

Staff is wonderful; location superb. Easily accessible to transportation and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KellyCath
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2014

Fantastic Staff, Great Location

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my boyfriend who lived in New York for college. I was nervous about the size of hotel rooms in New York, but was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and courteous, the rooms were clean and the location can't be beat. Our first night the a/c wasn't working properly so we called the front desk, the receptionist apologized and immediately upgraded us to a Deluxe King. I thought they may send an engineer, but their customer service went above and beyond. We have already decided that we would like to stay here on our next trip. We loved our time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make you try Shake Shack, although the line may be long, it can't be beat!

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KimJG
Couples
NY
Jan 16, 2012

Great night out in the city

Great service, free upgrade to King sized bed, friendly staff, very chic and clean room, fun lounge in hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boogeyman
Business
fla
Feb 12, 2013

best boutique in maurry hill

Fantastic friendly clean and in the center of everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bullshead tavern best happy hour

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Parents
Couples
Tupelo, Ms
Jul 8, 2013

NYC getaway

We loved this hotel! We were in NYC visiting our daughter who lives in Grammercy and this hotel was the perfect location. The entire experience from when the bellman opened the door for us to enter to the evening before we left visiting with our friends in the trendy front lobby was a wonderful experience. In addition, we were given an upgrade and allowed to check in early. We loved this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Have dinner at the Boathouse in Central Park

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJKKKKK
Business
Manhattan NYC
Aug 20, 2013

GOOOOOD

I like the location cuz it's near the bus stops and convenient to travel around manhattan. The room is clean and comfortable bed. The room tho is a little small that pretty much the bed fits the room and a little walking space but in general it's a comfortable room. The wifi (should be charged for usage) is really slow and the breakfast provided is quite expensive ($12) Staff there are all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel

Great hotel, great service. Room very nice. Confortable bed. I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OP's Wifey
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 14, 2009

Diamond Quality at Cubic Zirconia Price!

I found this hotel while making business reservations. I got the best deal! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff is great. FYI-no hotel in NYC is going to have huge, spacious rooms, unless you pay a HUGE rate. These rooms are perfectly laid out for comfort and convenience. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. I am planning a leisure trip to the city, and I will be staying here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a posh little spot, downstairs. I enjoyed the food, especially since it was being paid for by my company. My greater joy was walking around the area and eating in all the little ethnic spots.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Auntyb
Couples
Mystic, CT
Oct 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel.

This modern updated small hotel was a delight to have discovered. The staff was so nice, the rooms immaculate and very comfortable, the continental breakfast delicious in a beautiful sunny room with outdoor terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, Ga
Jan 1, 2010

Couldn't have been happier!!!

I really enjoyed my experience at the Marcel at Gramercy from the very beginning. It was a great location and not located far from the subway. The rooms were very impressive and the staff was very generous and helpful. I would definately recommend this spot for young couples and will continue to stay at the Marcel everytime I visit NY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go north on 3rd Ave and there is a plethora of bars in Murray Hill.

Back to menu Return to top