$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
145 reviews
Great price for great place in NYC

The hotel was a nice little oasis in the heart of lower manhattan . .a few blocks from eataly and... See full review

  • Danica S.
  • May 7, 2015
Amazing Value

We stay here 3+ times per year whenever we're in New York for a few days. The hotel has a boutique... See full review

  • Ashley W.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
couple from europe
Business
europe
Jun 12, 2011

Room for half a person first night

On the first night we were given a room that could barely fit a single bed. It was more like a closet. There was no closet. no minibar. one could stretch both hands and touch the walls... only on the second night were we given a normal sized room. Be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rooney
Business
Boise, Idaho
May 25, 2012

They were horrible

I arrived at the Marcel at 2:30am after being delayed on a flight into Newark and as a result just barely missing the train into Penn Station. Upon arriving, the guy at the front desk told me he didn't have any rooms and had to move me to a different hotel 30 blocks North. At 2:30 in the morning. Why didn't they let me know before I got there? With a 3:00pm check in time, they would have know they had to move me almost 12 hours earlier and they couldn't call or email me to notify me?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Jun 4, 2009

AWFUL

I am an experienced meeting planner and travel world-wide. The service I received at this hotel would be acceptable at a Motel 6, but not here. The woman managing the front desk was not only rude to us, but she was awful to her staff (in front of hotel guests), which I find more upsetting and unprofessional than abusing the guests. I asked to have the air conditioner in our room fixed three times to no avail. The small room was fine, but the noise emanating from the AC unit kept us awake all night. The hotel lacks a gym and morning room service, and the restaurant attached to the hotel will not allow you to bring drinks (including water and soft drinks) to your room. On an up note-[...], the bellmen, and the doormen are incredibly professional despite their dismal, abusive work environment. Forget this "boutique" hotel. Go back to the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Four Seasons bar is wonderful. I'm not referring to the hotel, which bought the rights to the name. I'm talking about the original Four Seasons. The bar is wonderful and harkens back to the 50's, 60's, 70's. The bartenders are so knowledgeable and can concoct a beverage based on your craving. The walls are walnut panels that are split and matched (similarly to the way guitars are handmade), the hand-beaded curtains are spectacular, and the $7M art exhibit in the main dining room is incredible. As a bonus, a scene from "Breakfast at Tiffany's" was filmed at the fountain out front.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Jun 30, 2009

I would not recommend staying here

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Reception was unfriendly and could not find reservation when we arrived late at night, even though I had called earlier in the day. Room was extremely cramped, there was no room to sit at the desk, television took up all the space. There was a chair, but no light, no table and no usable light in the room. Warning sign on refrigerator was most unfriendly, telling you that after 20 seconds you would be charged fro something in the refrigerator and not to store any personal items there. Bathtub was disgustingly dirty on the outside and sink was cracked (Hair dryer did not work). No coffee in room, no ice on floor, no place to buy a reasonably priced soft drink. $11.95 a day for using the internet in our room. I thought this was worse than most cheap hotels/motels where we have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for most New York activities, but not a place to spend time in the room.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luis A Gonzalez
Business
San juan,Puerto rico
Sep 2, 2014

Extremely bad experience

Very sad to inform that the micro room was impossible,suitcases on the floor,the bathroom also micro very little space The safety deposit on that room not fixed to floor ,loose,not working and we notified to lobby of this and never came in 4 days Very bad experience Luis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
couple from europe
Business
europe
Jun 12, 2011

Room for half a person first night

On the first night we were given a room that could barely fit a single bed. It was more like a closet. There was no closet. no minibar. one could stretch both hands and touch the walls... only on the second night were we given a normal sized room. Be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheTwoofUs
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2012

Oh, Boy!

Firstly, we were told by the hotel staff that they "over-booked" and paid our cab fair for a hotel that was at least 4 miles from where we *wanted* to stay...We really wanted to stay at the hotel we booked because we had NO idea of where we were and knew that from our original reservation, our pre-paid PLANS was located only an 0.8 mile from the hotel we wanted... The *other* hotel we were put up in (almost 4 miles from our destination and reason why we were visiting the city) was TINY...not to mention the toilet ran ALL night, and we didn't sleep a wink. We reported this at check out only to be told, "we'll take care of it, thank you..." Never Again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Californian Vacationer
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 26, 2012

Not the most bang for the buck

Cons: Dirty/stained shower tubs. Only standard cable TV available. Small and cramped rooms (though typical for most New York hotels). Not very soundproof. Window blinds are hard to use. Pros: Decent distance to Madison Square Park and Union Square. Excellent staff service; very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many great restaurants and fast food carts and joints around Madison Square Park.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marcela P
Business
Sao Paulo
Feb 3, 2013

Heater did not work!!

Hotel staff is great and room is decent, but heater not working and no change to a room which would work - made me want to sue the hotel for my money back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jsjk
Business
London, UK
Sep 7, 2013

uncomfortable but good location

smallest room I've stayed in, small double bed and extremely uncomfortable. Staff are not very helpful, bad attitude. Very humid and poor ventilation for humid weather. Poor extractor fan in bathroom so bedroom fills with steam. Very dark rooms, poor lighting.Okay for one person staying, do not recommend for couples staying for more than 1 or 2 nights. Upside: free wine in evenings from 6pm to 7pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top