$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
123 reviews
super

As i walked into the door, I felt welcome to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and provided... See full review

  • ralph 3000 GT
  • Jul 22, 2014
Fantastic Staff, Great Location

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my boyfriend who lived in New York for college. I... See full review

  • KellyCath
  • Jan 21, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7395 -73.9826
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Sutton Place Near Flatiron District. Major attraction of the area are: Park Avenue - 2 blocks, Fifth Avenue - 4 blocks, Empire State Building - 7 blocks, Gramercy Park - 10 blocks, Flatiron Building - 10 blocks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
D.C.
Jun 4, 2009

AWFUL

I am an experienced meeting planner and travel world-wide. The service I received at this hotel would be acceptable at a Motel 6, but not here. The woman managing the front desk was not only rude to us, but she was awful to her staff (in front of hotel guests), which I find more upsetting and unprofessional than abusing the guests. I asked to have the air conditioner in our room fixed three times to no avail. The small room was fine, but the noise emanating from the AC unit kept us awake all night. The hotel lacks a gym and morning room service, and the restaurant attached to the hotel will not allow you to bring drinks (including water and soft drinks) to your room. On an up note-[...], the bellmen, and the doormen are incredibly professional despite their dismal, abusive work environment. Forget this "boutique" hotel. Go back to the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Four Seasons bar is wonderful. I'm not referring to the hotel, which bought the rights to the name. I'm talking about the original Four Seasons. The bar is wonderful and harkens back to the 50's, 60's, 70's. The bartenders are so knowledgeable and can concoct a beverage based on your craving. The walls are walnut panels that are split and matched (similarly to the way guitars are handmade), the hand-beaded curtains are spectacular, and the $7M art exhibit in the main dining room is incredible. As a bonus, a scene from "Breakfast at Tiffany's" was filmed at the fountain out front.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
couple from europe
europe
Jun 12, 2011

Room for half a person first night

On the first night we were given a room that could barely fit a single bed. It was more like a closet. There was no closet. no minibar. one could stretch both hands and touch the walls... only on the second night were we given a normal sized room. Be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rooney
Business
Boise, Idaho
May 25, 2012

They were horrible

I arrived at the Marcel at 2:30am after being delayed on a flight into Newark and as a result just barely missing the train into Penn Station. Upon arriving, the guy at the front desk told me he didn't have any rooms and had to move me to a different hotel 30 blocks North. At 2:30 in the morning. Why didn't they let me know before I got there? With a 3:00pm check in time, they would have know they had to move me almost 12 hours earlier and they couldn't call or email me to notify me?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mill Valley, CA
Jun 30, 2009

I would not recommend staying here

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Reception was unfriendly and could not find reservation when we arrived late at night, even though I had called earlier in the day. Room was extremely cramped, there was no room to sit at the desk, television took up all the space. There was a chair, but no light, no table and no usable light in the room. Warning sign on refrigerator was most unfriendly, telling you that after 20 seconds you would be charged fro something in the refrigerator and not to store any personal items there. Bathtub was disgustingly dirty on the outside and sink was cracked (Hair dryer did not work). No coffee in room, no ice on floor, no place to buy a reasonably priced soft drink. $11.95 a day for using the internet in our room. I thought this was worse than most cheap hotels/motels where we have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for most New York activities, but not a place to spend time in the room.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poconos, PA.
Jun 25, 2009

Customer service not consistent.

Formerly from Manhattan, my husband and I decided to stay in the city after a show because we did not want to drive home. We booked the Marcel for one night and were very impressed with the reviews and location for this hotel. Unfortunately we did not get the same level of service as our predecessors documented on-line. First the Doorman stood watching my husband unload the car , then waited until I got inside and my husband went to drop the car off at the garage to tell him not to bring it across the street that they will park it. But the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful, and went out of his way to help us with our dinner RSVP. Then went as far as recommending another restaurant, and called ahead for us. He also upgraded our room from a double to a king size bed ( for additional $$),which we gladly excepted. But after getting our room key the doorman/bellhop was no wear to be found. So we carried our bags in the cart upstairs ourselves. Then when we checked out there was nobody at the front desk, I tried everything, even ringed the bell, and then called the frontdesk, and still no asnwer! Finally after 15 minutes we found the doorman outside, and he called on the cell phone, and someone had magically appeared. One more important item to address, the list of prices in the room is NOT the same as what they charge for the items from the snack/mini bar. My Pellegrino which was listed for $3.00 was actually $3.79 plus an additional tax of $0.32. So double check before you assume the list of item's prices are correct. Bottom line, not consistent with the customer service and I would not recommend to any of my friends or family or return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be very careful in choosing the in house restaurant Inoteca. My husband and I were not greeted in a friendly manner when we first arrived, and then were told after requesting a table that was not on top of another, "those other tables are for other expecting guest". We where packed in so tight we could not even get up without having to move the guest's table sitting on either side of us. To add to the situation we had a waiter who really didn't want to explain the hard to understand menu , give us the chief's specials, or take our order, and to make matters worst when we asked the hostess (because we could not find our waiter) to bill our drinks to the room,(because we would not be able to make our show at this rate) they charged us 20% gratuity (we found out during check-out)and it clearly states on the bill that they charge only 18% gratuity on room service, which was also not the case. Fortunately, we did get an apology from another hostess who was very sweet. So after our show we did come back for a night cap, which we were very well received by the same sweet hostess, but in the end, we ended up with the same clueless waiter.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheTwoofUs
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2012

Oh, Boy!

Firstly, we were told by the hotel staff that they "over-booked" and paid our cab fair for a hotel that was at least 4 miles from where we *wanted* to stay...We really wanted to stay at the hotel we booked because we had NO idea of where we were and knew that from our original reservation, our pre-paid PLANS was located only an 0.8 mile from the hotel we wanted... The *other* hotel we were put up in (almost 4 miles from our destination and reason why we were visiting the city) was TINY...not to mention the toilet ran ALL night, and we didn't sleep a wink. We reported this at check out only to be told, "we'll take care of it, thank you..." Never Again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple-One Night Visit
New York, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Bait & Switch?

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that they had a large group that had decided to stay for an extra night and thus had no rooms available for us. They offered to put us up in their "sister hotel" on 62nd Street and tried to reassure us that they would reimburse the cab fare to get to this hotel that was approx. 40 blocks north of where we wanted to be. We asked to speak to the manager and told him that 62nd St. was an unacceptable replacement for this hotel on 24th St. We had booked this hotel 3 months earlier specifically because of its location. Were they planning on compensating us for all of the additional cab fares that we would be forced to pay for the remainder of our trip. He was very nice, said he'd have to speak to his regional manager, and then magically found an open room. The room was VERY small, but clean enough and comfortable and we were happy to be in the location that we wanted. It was just a lot of hassle to go through, considering we spend $320 for a night in this non-spectacular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Californian Vacationer
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 26, 2012

Not the most bang for the buck

Cons: Dirty/stained shower tubs. Only standard cable TV available. Small and cramped rooms (though typical for most New York hotels). Not very soundproof. Window blinds are hard to use. Pros: Decent distance to Madison Square Park and Union Square. Excellent staff service; very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many great restaurants and fast food carts and joints around Madison Square Park.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Aug 16, 2009

Lots of room for improvement!

This hotel is close to my son's apt. that is the only thing going for it. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny. Hallways noisy. Ventilation /air conditioning noisy and ineffective. Lobby small and outrageously "modern". I was guarateed a king bed by Orbitz but was told there were none available when I arrived. I was compensated with 2 free breakfasts.. all I really wanted was a king bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT-Prime - the best steak I've ever eaten.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marcela P
Sao Paulo
Feb 3, 2013

Heater did not work!!

Hotel staff is great and room is decent, but heater not working and no change to a room which would work - made me want to sue the hotel for my money back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search