$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCat
Business
Arkansas
Jul 6, 2011

Short but excellent stay.

I really like the hotel. It was very clean. I enjoyed walking to Les Halles for brunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Les Halles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Bank, NJ
Jun 28, 2011

I'd Go Back

Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. Clean, modern, fun place to stay. Tiny rooms, but that's what you get for the price in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArthurJ37
Business
Corralitos, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Perfectly convenient

I travel to NYC quite often and usually with groups. Most often we stay at larger chain hotels which are fine for what we do but when I'm by myself I prefer the smaller boutique hotels. They offer more personal service and it seems like you're staying in your own apartment. Located in a quieter part of town, if there is such a thing, makes it seem more like your neighborhood. The rooms are small but you really don't need a big room because you're hardly ever there. Unless you plan on doing some entertaining, they are just enough. Clean and comfortable. My only thoughts on the negative side, if any, are that the elevators seem to have a mind of their own and sometimes go right past your floor while waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are more than enough markets and restaurants in the immediate area and all the subways are within easy walk so you can get anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
couple from europe
Business
europe
Jun 12, 2011

Room for half a person first night

On the first night we were given a room that could barely fit a single bed. It was more like a closet. There was no closet. no minibar. one could stretch both hands and touch the walls... only on the second night were we given a normal sized room. Be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grambina
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 1, 2011

Great location, clean and friendly

The Marcel Hotel was perfect for us. Great location, safe and clean. The staff was very friendly and I would stay here again without hesitation. Bedding was very comfortable. We stayed in a standard room with Queen size bed which was ample. Reason for trip was to visit family only 2 blocks from hotel - could not have picked a better location. Restaurants and shopping are literally outside the front entrance, a few steps away. Parking garage is also across from hotel! Michael at the front desk was the most friendly attendant and started my stay on a happy note, thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Shake shack, Flat Iron area, "Eataly" just a few of the local highlights within a short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toronto
Mar 3, 2011

Small, cosy, mid-centry mod decor boring

Very nice staff. All went well. Not good for a long trip--no closet, no bath, no full length mirror--but ok for a couple of days. As per short review, pseudo mid-Century modern decor better than shabby Holiday Inn generic 80s stuff, but starting to grate. Seems like cheap way to be hip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, oh
Jan 17, 2011

Hot and cramped

Location was perfect for our needs. The room was very small, could barely walk around the bed. The bathroom had zero counterspace- made it very difficult to put makeup on, and also very small. The heater was not working well and we roasted, even with the "high cool" on. Would stay again, just because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, MA
Jan 9, 2011

No hot water for shower

Staff were lovely and helpful; the room was small but very clean and nice, despite the funky 60's decor. But no hot water in the shower! Ugh! Location was ideal for visiting family inpatient at Bellevue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pullino's pizza at Houston and Bowery is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willnot
Business
I get around
Dec 30, 2010

Great place

Great stay at the Marcel. Swanky lobby and decorations. Hip and chic come to mind. Impressed my date, at the very least. Good location as well, lots of stuff around and even more not far. Just wish the train was closer...and that there wasn't a blizzard while we were there. Air conditioner and water were weird, but evened out. Nobody's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice diner around the corner. Friendly staff, nummy foods. Very "typical".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo
Sep 2, 2010

Love the Marcel

Delightful, friendly, charming. No pool. no fitness. Friendly staff. Perfect when I need to stay in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous excellent restaurants in the area. The best ones are on Park Ave., very close to great Indian and Asian food on 3rd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top