$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
123 reviews
super

As i walked into the door, I felt welcome to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and provided... See full review

  • ralph 3000 GT
  • Jul 22, 2014
Fantastic Staff, Great Location

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my boyfriend who lived in New York for college. I... See full review

  • KellyCath
  • Jan 21, 2014
Chic decor, luxury amenities at this stylish hotel near Gramercy Park
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7395 -73.9826
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Sutton Place Near Flatiron District. Major attraction of the area are: Park Avenue - 2 blocks, Fifth Avenue - 4 blocks, Empire State Building - 7 blocks, Gramercy Park - 10 blocks, Flatiron Building - 10 blocks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maest
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 2, 2010

Interesting Place....

I know we had the smallest room that they had... so I can imagine if we payed a bit more, probably could have felt a little more spacious, but it felt like a small college dorm room that was "swank-i-fied" by west-elm or other higher-end "Ikea" like decor. The hotel staff was quite friendly. Walls were quite thin and could hear everything around us. THE BED - was pretty comfortable, soft top, firm mattress... The "continental" breakfast cost $12... ???? Why would I pay for cereal, bagels and a bit of fruit for $12??? I could walk outside and go to a great bagel shop for $4??? I would not consider this a four-star place, three-star would be closer....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Point, NY
Feb 2, 2010

Not what I expected...

This hotel room was WAY too small. You couldn't fit more than one person in the room, with luggage. The door actually hit the bed when opened. There was no temperature control in the room, so I was sweating one night and freezing another. There was also plumbing issues that caused the water to run the color of mud at one point, but luckily cleared up after running it for 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robin[@]
Business
St. Helena, CA
Jan 22, 2010

Great Value

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thor the Great
New Haven, CT
Jan 17, 2010

Over Night Treasure

We stayed in NYC one night and this room was great for us. Great location and great staff. They made our one night seem very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inoteca is a great place steps away from the hotel.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clover May
Chicago, IL
Jan 11, 2010

Unobtrusive, small, quiet hotel

Great location near Gramercy Park and Chelsea where my friends live. Contemporary decor though the room wasn't large. Quiet with a lovely roof deck off of the lounge where breakfast is served. Friendly helpful staff. I will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jan 11, 2010

eh

Rooms and bathrooms were VERY tiny. To be expected for a boutique hotel but this was just too small and uncomfortable. No room for clothes and suitcases. The room was also very hot and stuffy but the air conditioning did not work - it only blew hot air. We opened the windows to get some air flowing but it was so noisy outside we still couldn't sleep. The other people we were traveling with said they had the same problem in their room. However, the decor was trendy and the attached restaurant, Inoteca, was great for wine and small plates and seemed popular with neighborhood people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Jan 1, 2010

Couldn't have been happier!!!

I really enjoyed my experience at the Marcel at Gramercy from the very beginning. It was a great location and not located far from the subway. The rooms were very impressive and the staff was very generous and helpful. I would definately recommend this spot for young couples and will continue to stay at the Marcel everytime I visit NY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go north on 3rd Ave and there is a plethora of bars in Murray Hill.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple-One Night Visit
New York, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Bait & Switch?

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that they had a large group that had decided to stay for an extra night and thus had no rooms available for us. They offered to put us up in their "sister hotel" on 62nd Street and tried to reassure us that they would reimburse the cab fare to get to this hotel that was approx. 40 blocks north of where we wanted to be. We asked to speak to the manager and told him that 62nd St. was an unacceptable replacement for this hotel on 24th St. We had booked this hotel 3 months earlier specifically because of its location. Were they planning on compensating us for all of the additional cab fares that we would be forced to pay for the remainder of our trip. He was very nice, said he'd have to speak to his regional manager, and then magically found an open room. The room was VERY small, but clean enough and comfortable and we were happy to be in the location that we wanted. It was just a lot of hassle to go through, considering we spend $320 for a night in this non-spectacular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rodiodi
Business
NYC
Dec 3, 2009

Business Wisniss

Was nice/ clean / cool and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping all around awesome!

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 30, 2009

Marcel Hotel

Hotel was great. Dissapointed with [...], my reservation was not on file with the Hotel. Really didn't need the extra stress, of wondering if I would have a room, especially sisnce it was a Holiday week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search