$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 E. 24th Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Fantastic Trip !!

The hotel was brilliant. Amazing staff and a great location. It's accessible to everything and... See full review

  • Alicia S.
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great price for great place in NYC

The hotel was a nice little oasis in the heart of lower manhattan . .a few blocks from eataly and... See full review

  • Danica S.
  • May 7, 2015
This hotel is all about style. Its small size (just 135 rooms) and location in the Gramercy Park neighborhood make it feel more intimate and less touristy than a Midtown high-rise property. Modern furniture and animal print accents lend a hip vibe. Frette linens and marble bathrooms provide luxurious touches. A guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests to use.
Location

The neighborhood is known for its historic townhouses. Gramercy Park, however, is private, so only neighborhood residents have access. The blocks just south of the park are full of restaurants, bars and shops. The Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue and Broadway are just four blocks from the hotel. Union Square is a short walk from the hotel, and from there it's just a couple more blocks to the famous Strand Book Store. Greenwich Village, the East Village other exciting neighborhoods are an easy subway ride away.

Rooms

Rooms are chic and modern, with accents such as animal-print pillows, velvet drapes and leather headboards. Beds are dressed with Frette linens and down comforters. Marble bathrooms have bath products by Lather. Expect in-room amenities including iPod docking stations, bathrobes and slippers, 32-inch LCD TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) umbrellas and in-room safety deposit boxes.

Property features
The 10th floor guest lounge offers free coffee and tea and computers for guests' use and has an outdoor terrace open seasonally.

Hotel guests receive discount passes to the nearby New York Sports Club.

Highlights
  • Luxury linens and marble bathrooms
  • Guest lounge with seasonal outdoor terrace
Nearby attractions
  • The Flatiron Building
  • Gramercy Park neighborhood
  • Union Square
Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 23rd St - Lexington Ave
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$219
3.8 / 5 103 reviews
★★★★
$175
4.3 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.9 / 5 147 reviews
★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$129
3.3 / 5 111 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 526 reviews
★★★★
$245
4.4 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$145
3.6 / 5 75 reviews

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 230 sq feet of space.
Standard Room
Our Standard guestrooms offer either 1 full sized bed or 1 queen sized bed custom beds with leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day.
Superior King
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer a king bed with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $10 per day. Approximately 180 sq feet of space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.6 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.7 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.8 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.9 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Douglas M.
Couples
Rockford
Jul 11, 2015

Travel often. 1st time in Manhatten

Nicely remodeled hotel. decent location, 10 blocks N of Union Sq Park 2 blocks off Park Ave. Tiny room, but in good condition. Had to look out a scaffolding-but that's temporary. Tenth floor terrace is really a nice spot, just don't get the minimal pastry breakfast there at $13 plus tax, an awful ripoff. Walk 2 blocks down 3rd Ave and 1 over to Lexington to the Gramercy Park café. Eggs, potatoes, toast and coffee for $4.00 and pretty good too! Hotel staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicia S.
Couples
Basildon
Jun 22, 2015

Fantastic Trip !!

The hotel was brilliant. Amazing staff and a great location. It's accessible to everything and quite at night (the hotel even provide ear plugs just in case) Would re-visit again and recomend to all !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacquie B.
Couples
N/A
Jun 10, 2015

Short stay

We only stayed for one night so it's difficult to say how good the hotel was. It was reasonably priced and suited the purpose. It was away from all the happening places so it was quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. Good value. If you want to be where the action is, it isn't here but if you want a nice quiet room w/a central location, it's your spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danica S.
Business
Freeport
May 7, 2015

Great price for great place in NYC

The hotel was a nice little oasis in the heart of lower manhattan . .a few blocks from eataly and gramarcy park plus more great locations. They even had a 10th floor outdoor patio with incredible views. Great clean rooms, awesome staff - would definitely choose them again when I'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin K.
Friends
Fountain Valley
Apr 12, 2015

Great Trip

I thought the staff was amazing and offer high quality service. The room was clean and neat. I like the TV channel options. The location was perfectly in the middle and quite!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley W.
Couples
Pembroke
Apr 8, 2015

Amazing Value

We stay here 3+ times per year whenever we're in New York for a few days. The hotel has a boutique feel and the rooms are quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zara T.
Couples
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

The Perfect Hotel

We booked the hotel for our first trip to NYC, our honeymoon and my Husbands 30th. I contacted the hotel prior to ask about things to do etc and they gave me a complimentary upgrade, what a brilliant perk that was for us. We got to the hotel very late but the staff member on reception was lovely and so helpful. We got to out room and it was great. It was clean, cosy, had everything we needed and after a long travel it was heaven! We did have issues with the air con being noisy when we got there and when we spoke to the staff about it, they offered to move us to another room if it wasn’t fixed, but by the time we were back it was fixed and perfect. The 10th floor lounge is lovely, free tea and coffee and free wifi which was consistently strong and a great feature. Overall we would 100 recommend the hotel and cant fault it. the staff were a delight, its clean and tidy, the room was amazing and comfortable and the view of the empire state building at night is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChattyPatty
Single
Acworth
Mar 16, 2015

Wonderful Stay

I really enjoyed staying at the Marcel. The location and neighborhood were perfect and the hotel lovely. Everyone was really helpful and friendly. I greatly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stella
Single
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

Magical, memorable stay

I almost don't want to recommend this hotel because I want it all to myself. My expectations of service, location and comfort surpassed any expectations I had. I will only be booking this hotel when I visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gramercy Tavern for dinner and drinks. Rolf's for dinner and late drinks. Lyric Diner for brunch.

Review of The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James S.
Friends
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Night out with Hubby

Hotel was perfect . . . clean, close to lots of fun places and good restaurants. Went to a show at the Gramercy theatre, which was within a few blocks from the hotel. Was able to have fun, and not have to worry about driving home . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top