$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
bachelorette

When I first got there they gave me a complimentary upgrade. I received a phone call asking me how... See full review

  • Animallover83
  • Jul 15, 2013
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Hotel Map

40.755 -73.9811
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.59, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.84, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.87, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 86
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

So, just so you understand the photos on this website are some "magic" room that I sure didn't see. The "upgrade" we got was a dirty rug on an old wood floor with a window bench that was falling out of the wall and a window air that sounded like it was maybe 20 years old. They seemed to have made a few photo opps in each room like a glass sink but a nasty bathroom. Trust me for the money you can do A LOT better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book a room someplace else.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Aug 10, 2009

Reserved but Room not Available

When we arrived at the Mansfield, we were told that the room was not available. We were handed an envelope and asked to show it to a nearby hotel, PrincetonClub, which was contacted to give us a room. When we got to PrincetonClub, we were given a room but the lady said it would be charged to my credit card. I said we already paid to an internet side and Mansfield will have my payment. She said that nothing was mentioned by Mansfield about payment and the two hotels are not associated in any way. Finally, she called Mansfield and confirmed that Mansfield would pay PrinctonClub. By the way, when she said she would charge us in the beginning she could reduce $30 of the room rate at Mansfield. However, when Princeton got paid from Mansfield, we were not able to have the reduction. This also means that we have probably paid more for a less expensive room. I am not happy about being transferred to another hotel but I understood things happen. The problem is that Mansfield should have some one accompanying us to PrincetonClub until everything settled, not just handing out an envelope and you are on your own! It is not a pleasant experience! By the way, people at PrincetonClub are very kind and helpful. Our stay there was good. Next time, I would like to stay at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Theo'degens
Sioux Falls, SD
Sep 19, 2009

Started off great, ended really ugly

When we arrived for our long weekend, everything seemed in order. We did not have much interaction with the staff (our choice). Our problems occurred at the end of our stay. After checking out and arriving at the airport for our flight home, we reallized that we had left some things in the safe in our room. We immediately called the hotel to let them know. We talked with the person at the front desk who assured us that they would be returned to us. After giving this staff member our mailing info, we waited for our personal belongings to be returned. They never arrived. Basically the hotel staff stole the items out of our safe. Yes, I realize it was our fault for leaving without them, but it is still stealing. We love New York, will never return to The Mansfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jan 3, 2012

Average 3* hotel

For a 4 star hotel as Mansfield claims to be I cannot give it more than 2 stars. For a 2 star hotel, in this location I would've given it a 5 star rating. My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in a Chambre Queen (during Christmas and New Year). The location is great - on 5th Av., 5 minutes from TImes Square. The room size is average - about the same size as other boutique hotels or even larger than 3 star boutique hotels in Paris. However, the bathroom sink is way to small. If you try to wash your face you'll find yourself in a big puddle. The bathroom wasn't very small so I don't know why they chose such a small basin. They have dark brown hardwood floors that absorb all the light so that's why people found this a bit dark. The lighting however is sufficient. The TV in the room is actually a DELL display with a TV tuner attached. I've seen reviews mentioning the fact that they offer free coffee and tea in the lobby. Yes, this is true - however most 3+ star hotels would have a coffee/tea machine in the room. This one doesn't so every morning you need to go downstairs to get the coffee. It's probbly ok in the winter but in the summer I'd rather walk to one of the many coffee shops in the area if I can't get a coffee in my room. The staff is friendly when you arrive but afterwards they NEVER said hello (at least in the 11 days I've been there) when passing by. I don't usually ask for directions or interact with the staff however I do expect to be greeted. If you do have an issue they are very responsive so no complain there (I actually had to call them a couple of times). The biggest problem however and this is something that I want to emphasize is the fact that there is NO way to control the temperature in the room during winter. All 3+ stars hotels have some sort of temperature control. The heat comes from a very small radiator that's controlled centrally. And while our room was very cold (we had to ask for 3 blankets) the next door guests had to keep their windows open because it was too hot. For the summer all rooms have a window AC unit - however that's useless in the winter as it only provides cooled air. Overall I would recommend this hotel for short stays but only if you get a very good deal. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel but if you can get it cheaper than a 3 star hotel in the area go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DB Bistro Moderne is right across the street.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historyman
Norfolk, UK
Feb 18, 2010

Like the Parson's egg, good in parts.

The location is excellent and, in general the hotel is very good. But be aware that the rooms are small, bordering on very small, as is the bathroom. Nevertheless, the rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean on arrival and were maintained like that throughout the stay. The inside of the hotel was well decorated and very pleasant. Unfortunately there is most definitely a "however"! The guests' lounge for a hotel that, if full, would amount to around 220 guests, has only seating for 10. There is complimentary coffee for guests and it comes from a machine in the guests' lounge. Our experience was that the machine regularly ran out of coffee and staff had to be asked to replenish it. There is a bin beside the machine for used cardboard cups. The bin was clearly far too small for the task and, other than once when I saw the staff empty it, was always full and overflowing. Lastly, the staff. I am aware that a Receptionist must find it difficult to keep a smiling, upbeat aura all shift. But for a hotel that has the ratings this one did, I found that on arrival the Receptionist made eye contact only twice and rattled off her "welcoming speech" as if by rote. No change of expression and certainly no smile. It is trite to say that there is no second chance to make a first impression, but it is true nonetheless. And what an awful first impression we had. The good points do outweigh the bad in number, but the bad points are the ones I actually consider to be important and so, for those reasons, I would not use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat in the hotel unless you have a high limit on your credit card. There is a superb diner about 150 yards from the hotel (out of the hotel door and turn left and it is on the right hand side of the road).

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixx
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Sep 22, 2011

NY Great - Hotel Great - Hotel Staff not so great

This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of mid-town Manhattan. It is in walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, the Port Authority (Bus Station), Central Park, Broadway and lots of Restaurants and Bars. The hotel itself is very clean and modern in design, the housekeeping staff are very discreet and the room was made immaculate each day. My only disappointment is with the front desk staff, whilst they were polite they were not in any way helpful unless you asked for information. We had to ask for a map of the area, we were not advised of the complimentary continental breakfast available. We were also staying at the hotel when Hurricane Irene came (Aug 2011), they did not offer any information or advice or post any notices in the hotel regarding the hurricane or of what precautions we should take, and again we had to ask for this. We also had to stay an extra 2 nights because our flight home was cancelled, the hotel insisted we pay full room rates, plus USD100 for incidentals that day and not at the time of check out. Without the hurricane none of this would have been relevant but I think it does highlight their lack of customer service by the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brauli
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Apr 19, 2012

Great location, good service

The staff from the hotel is really good and they provide great service, they helped with everything that we requested. Walking distance from times square The room which we got was a little small, no real closet and little space to place our suitcases. Very nice bed, sheets and conforter. A roach came out of the sink... nasty! but staff was helpfull and we got complementary breackfast and drinks. If you are thinking of staying out all day and just sleep there, I recomend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are thinking of having a fancy dinner go to BOULEY in tribeca... very nice food and service. Very preatty place.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Hotel - Bad Service

We visited New York to enjoy the Holiday sites and spend time with our daughter who came into New York from Boston for the day. The hotel was nice, small bathroom - no place for personal items, but the service was horrible. Our phone did not work, reported it several times, but it was never fixed. Could not call down to the front desk to get wake up calls, or report issues. I used my cell phone. The room was very hot, could not control the heat, asked to have our heat turned down - never happened, we opened our window. Robes were promised in the advertisement, had to ask for them. Hair dryer broke, called on cell phone to have another brought up - they did at 1:30 am (long after I went to bed with damp hair). The location was very good, could walk to everything. The last time I traveled I stayed closer to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building - call before going. Long lines to go to the top and get back down.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada City, CA
Sep 4, 2008

Family friendly

The rooms were very small as well as the bathroom Only one chair in front of a desk and one night table. the clothes closet one could say was half a closet not toll enough to hang dresses or slacks It did have a security box and a refrigerator all of this stashed in this small closet. no vanity to put small clothing items. Located three blocks from Grand Central Station whis is a big plus if you don't have your own car. Adequate business centrer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant the soup man is nearby, excellent for thwir soups

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 19, 2010

Nice hotel, uncomfortable bed

We were displaced in New York due to the volcano. Was able to book this hotel at the last minute. Its charming. There were 2 drawbacks. The bed had a significant dip in the center which made it really uncomfortable. The room was very warm and the only way to cool it down was with a window unit A/C that blasts directly onto your face while you're trying to sleep. On the uncomfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search