$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff... See full review

  • Orlando Travelers
  • Sep 9, 2014
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 75
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike20005
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2012

This has been the worst hotel experience I have had

Title says it all. Arrived for check in at 2:45. Waited in a long line to be told that room is not ready. Sat in lobby for 20 minutes. Given key told to go upstairs to my room on 10th floor. Upon arrival at room door found room trashed and maid working on it. Apparently sent me to wrong room. Maid tells me to go back downstairs to get another room. Given another room. Go up to 11th floor. Room is tiny, literally big enough for the mattress and nothing else. This is NO 4 STAR hotel. Need to take shower so I can get to my meeting. Looking in bathroom, NOT A SINGLE TOWEL ANYWHERE Call front desk , told towels would be right up. Wait 15 minutes, no towels. Get in shower , wash, lather, rinse repeat. Get out dripping wet. No towel delivered anywhere. Running late for meeting now. Call desk again, told towels would be there. Ten minutes later towels show up. Service is a disaster, either they do not care on bit about anything or ???? Room was tiny with LOUD window unit. Window faced some sort of ventilation shaft, No natural light anywhere. Definitely not a four star and not even a good deal. Could have stayed at much better hotels for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tlsss
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

Don't Expect to Get Any Sleep

This hotel has old-fashioned radiator heat, so the room was ridiculously hot and the only way to compensate for the heat was to open a window. The wood floors look nice, but you'll hear every footstep, chair scrape and bag drop -- all night long. The rooms are arranged around a large marble staircase, so you'll also have the pleasure of listening to hotel guests and workers hoof it up and down the stairs. The only positives: the rooms are dark (very little light pollution) and the toiletries are luxurious. I have begged, pleaded and cajoled my travel department to NEVER book me at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out Bukhara Grille, between 2nd and 3rd avenue. The lamb chops -- and the lentils -- are worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retta
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2011

Go somewhere else

The toilet was broken, the a/c didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. There are far better hotels out there for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ohiotravelingprof
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 4, 2012

OK hotel, but check your credit card statement!

Our stay here was fine. The hotel is in a central location and the rooms are clean. Our particular room was very dark. It had a small window facing an alley and the lighting was totally inadequate (one tiny desk lamp and a couple of reading lights above the bed). The beds were super bouncy, so not very comfortable if you're sharing with someone. These things aside, it was fine--we were in New York and new the amenities would be pricey and not super-great, but we were happy with the location. What people should beware of (and I don't know how common this is at this hotel, as I only stayed here once) is to check your credit card statement after your stay. I prepaid my room, but they added additional charges to my card of over $900 on top of the $600+ I already paid. I had to call them to get these charges removed, so I think it is up to the customer to be proactive about it and make sure they're not being overcharged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessaBell
Business
Hartsdale, NY
Mar 19, 2014

Great Location

The location is excellent. The room was clean but very small. Also no sunlight can penetrate the room as the neighboring building wall is right up against the windows. There is no iron or ironing board in the room, but they can be requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue shopping is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelAdam
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jun 3, 2014

Excellent value/vacation

Don't think Ive ever stayed in a darker room than I did here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kady
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Classic feel in the heart of midtown

great location near trains and tourist attractions. Small NYC style room. Very clean with minimal amenities. Liked the character a lot. Nice bar and resturant connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbiesmom
Business
Camas, Wa
Aug 3, 2014

Great location

The location was so convenient to all that midtown has to offer. Lobby and bar were very nice however the rooms were very small unless you paid extra. If you do not plan on spending a great deal of time in your room then this place is perfect: great value in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ting
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 22, 2011

Nice old hotel

It is a nicely cared for old Hotel, the rooms are clean and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EAP03
Business
Washington DC
Dec 11, 2012

Great combination of charm and modern amenities

I stayed here one night while doing business near Bryant Park. Renovated modern room in a charming old building, great location, easy walk from Times Square. The M Bar in lobby has a limited menu but my choice (ravioli florentine) was great. Other reviewers commented about low lighting in room (true but fine for reading in bed) and wood floors (I didn't hear any sound problem and loved the extra cleanliness). Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top