$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff... See full review

  • Orlando Travelers
  • Sep 9, 2014
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Hotel Map

40.755 -73.9811
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.59, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.84, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.87, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2007

Time Square's Best Kept Secret!

The Mansfield Hotel is a decent place to stay in New York City. It is close to Time Square and the subways, making it a convenient. The atmosphere is quite comfortable, as their music, coffee bar, and breakfast food make for a relaxing stay. The only weakness of this place is that the hallways on the floors are a bit messy .... maybe it was just a bad day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars and entertainment on the same street of hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 31, 2010

nice and quiet

It is a nice small older hotel, the property is in great shape but it is old so you have small elevators, narrow and dimly lit hallways. The bed was great, room was very nice and the shower was large enough for two. Great place for a weekend with your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many dining options within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OccasionalTraveler70
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 18, 2011

Great stay at a great hotel

Hotel is lovely, and centrally located for walking. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are standard size for Manhattan (read that to mean the standard size queen rooms are very small), but they are really beautifully appointed with a modern flair, and exceptionally clean. Bathroom was also small, but equipped with high end fixtures such as rain showerheads, etc. Large flat screen tv, small desk, no chairs. Even though small, my opinion is that I was in Manhattan to see all that Manhattan has to offer, not to sit in my hotel room. If you do want to lounge, however, the hotel has an absolutely lovely library just off the lobby, with comfy leather chairs, a warm fireplace, magazines, papers and of course books to read, as well as a free coffe/espresso/cappachino machine. The hotel also hosts an adjacent bar called The M Bar, which has a full service kitchen and fantastic ambiance. We were rained out one night of our stay, so instead of sitting in our room, we popped into the M Bar and had an absoultely wonderful night. The ambiance is suited to a quiet evening with a friend or loved one in a library/lounge like setting. We were lucky enough to catch a local singer/songwriter whose music only added to the already great ambiance (her name is [...], and she plays there a couple times a month if you are fortunate enough to catch her, well worth it! She was simply lovely!). Food at the bar was great, and no wait time at all. The quiet ambiance of the bar was an unexpected but welcome change to the hustle and bustle of exploring Manhattan. Location of the hotel is fantastic; a really quick walk to Times Square and Theatre District in one direction, 5th Avenue shopping and Grand Central Station in the other direction, and an easy enough walk to Rockefeller Plaza, MoMa, etc. A bit of a long walk to Central Park, but we did it (though I'd recommend a cab to reserve energy for walking the park itself). All in all, a really great hotel, well worth it, and we will definitely stay there again next time we visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to venture out further than the immediate walking area of the hotel, and if you're going to be there a couple of days, when you get to Times Square, consider purchasing the tickets for the 'hop on, hop off' bus service. Very highly recommended. They take you to all of the popular attractions, run on regular intervals, and provide interesting history over the loudspeaker. And you can't beat it for making your way to all of the various attractions for daytime sightseeing. It is well worth the price of the bus, it will be cheaper than cabs in the long run, and look for the package deals that include reduced entry to popular sights such as the Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
neka
Business
miami
Aug 4, 2014

awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part about this hotel was the fact that everything was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything's in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orlando Travelers
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 9, 2014

Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff was very helpful and the room was very quiet and clean. The hotel is 5 mins away from everything, 42nd street, 5th Ave, Chrysler Building and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a lot of things

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top