$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flower Mound, Texas
May 9, 2011

Perfect Location

Overall the hotel was great and we had a wonderful time. It was our anniversary, so the lady at the front desk was very nice and upgraded our room to a suite/aptmnt. The room was large and very clean. The only downside to the room was the bathroom and the shower were very small; and the feather pillows on the bed were huge and not easy for us to sleep on. However, I called the front desk at midnight and they quickly brought us two smaller pillows that worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast at the Red Flame Coffee Shop for breakfast each morning were there. The food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WindyCity
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2011

great for NYC frequent traveler

Primo central location. Lot's to do/see in the immediate area. Many good restaurants on that street. Free coffee bar in library. Aveda in rooms. Intimate Euro style ambiance. Nice but basic amenity level commensurate with price range for a Manhattan hotel. Beware of interior rooms, that are small and dark with windows to nowhere, however they are more quiet than the street side with brighter views but noisey in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Newspaper and premium coffees/teas in library are free.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 21, 2011

Nice location & friendly staff

The Mansfield was located very close to Grand Central, 5th Avenue and Times Square. There was a diner across the street and coffee shops on the corner. The rooms are bigger than the standard "boutique" hotels, the bed was very comfy, and the shower was a good size. We were, however, unimpressed that there wasn't an in-room thermostat and it was hot. The option was to open the screenless window and hope it wasn't too loud, or birds didn'f fly in. The staff did offer to install a window air conditioning unit, as they were in the process of updating the rooms, but we wanted to rest, so we opted not to have that done. There was a window seat with an old school radiator under it (VERY HOT) so we couldn't sit on it too long! Overall, this was a fine hotel experience and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 5, 2011

location, location, location

Great location near Time Square. Smaller room, to be expected in NYC. Very helpful staff. We were ther end of Mar/beg of Apr, quite warm in the room. Its an old building with OLDER temperature control. Over all, lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreguan
Business
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Good Times at the Mansfield

We liked the Mansfield as soon as we approached it. It was very clean and elegant looking. The desk staff was helpful and the room was clean, adequately-sized (we were mostly walking around the city so we didnt need a suite) and tastefully furnished. The complimentary espresso bar in the lounge was nice as were the computers in the lobby because I didnt bring a laptop to take advantage of the complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. Location was good too; 2 blocks from Times square and right on 5th where my girlfriend did most of her shopping. Would definitely go back there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the street vendor carts. They are all regulated by the city and the food quality is great. Though prices can vary depending on the location in Manhattan, you can essentially get a meal for around $4.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jan 26, 2011

Mansfield

The hotel is in absolutely the best spot. Right off of 5th Ave. close to Times Square. Friendly staff, great decor in the rooms and lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right off of 5th Avenue. It doesn't get any better.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValBod
Business
Nashville
Sep 15, 2014

Comfy, Clean & Charming!

The room was small, but that's not a negative thing for me. It was comfy, clean & the decor was great. Bed was comfortable & the staff was friendly. Definitely great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AUSTIN
Business
Boerne
Jul 29, 2015

Birthday trip

My trip was wonderful, and the room at The Mansfield was very nice! Despite its small size and view of a brick wall out of the window, we still had a very nice time. I had a drink at the bar and it tasted watered down, which I thought was odd because of the moderately high price tag associated with it. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to a person looking for a nice, budget-friendly place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dfss
Business
Florida
Dec 2, 2011

Does Not get any better then this

Fantastic in the heart of mid town great food fun !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within arms reach from street vendors to 5 star shopping and dining

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LIBBY LOU
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA
Feb 29, 2012

great price, great location, friendly staff, nice bar

I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY STAY AT THE MANSFIELD. THE LOCATION WAS THE BEST. GREAT GREEK RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET. WATCH THE MINI BAR IN ROOM. THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE THAT I DID NOT DRINK. THEY KINDLY TOOK IT OFF MY BILL WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS. THE STAFF IS GREAT. STAY THERE FOR THE PRICE, LOCATION, AND STAFF. ROOMS ARE SMALL, BUT I FOUND IT QUITE ADEQUATE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top