$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
92 reviews
bachelorette

When I first got there they gave me a complimentary upgrade. I received a phone call asking me how... See full review

  • Animallover83
  • Jul 15, 2013
Staff and location are excellent

Once again my wife and I are pleased with the Mansfield Hotel and its staff. See full review

  • Pat from New Jersey
  • Mar 27, 2013
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Hotel Map

40.755 -73.9811
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.59, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.84, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.87, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LpcSlt
Portland, OR
May 1, 2012

Late April long weekend

Had a really good experience staying here. The room was a little small and the bathroom was very small and way too narrow. Other than that the location was excellent, 2 blocks from Times Square and tons of other things, including a few different subway stops. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again if looking for a hotel in midtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of stores on 5th avenue just a block away

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WindyCity
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2011

great for NYC frequent traveler

Primo central location. Lot's to do/see in the immediate area. Many good restaurants on that street. Free coffee bar in library. Aveda in rooms. Intimate Euro style ambiance. Nice but basic amenity level commensurate with price range for a Manhattan hotel. Beware of interior rooms, that are small and dark with windows to nowhere, however they are more quiet than the street side with brighter views but noisey in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Newspaper and premium coffees/teas in library are free.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawaiiankick
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2014

Great location, helpful staff

Stayed 2 nights, conveniently located for site-seeing in Manhattan. Walking dist. to Bryant Park & NY Public Library. Quiet street. Free refreshments in lobby throughout the day. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Outside of building was being renovated but inside was already updated while keeping the classic character. Elevator and bathroom were small, but that's expected in older NY bldgs. Room was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the MTA app Weekender to see real-time status of the subway on the weekends. Easier to use rail map than the one we brought with us and helped us avoid trains with limited service or construction during our weekend trip.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittBert
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Location

The location of the hotel is perfect. Only 2 blocks from Times Square which was very convenient for sight seeing and catching the subway down or up town. The bathrooms in the rooms were VERY small. If you shut the door to the bathroom and sat on the toilet, your knees will be touching the door. VERY tight space but the location and the value was very worth that bit od discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreguan
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Good Times at the Mansfield

We liked the Mansfield as soon as we approached it. It was very clean and elegant looking. The desk staff was helpful and the room was clean, adequately-sized (we were mostly walking around the city so we didnt need a suite) and tastefully furnished. The complimentary espresso bar in the lounge was nice as were the computers in the lobby because I didnt bring a laptop to take advantage of the complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. Location was good too; 2 blocks from Times square and right on 5th where my girlfriend did most of her shopping. Would definitely go back there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the street vendor carts. They are all regulated by the city and the food quality is great. Though prices can vary depending on the location in Manhattan, you can essentially get a meal for around $4.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Jan 26, 2011

Mansfield

The hotel is in absolutely the best spot. Right off of 5th Ave. close to Times Square. Friendly staff, great decor in the rooms and lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right off of 5th Avenue. It doesn't get any better.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C clodfelter
Charlotte, NC, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Mansfield

Staff was so helpful and amazing!!!! We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1987
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great stay!

Close to times square; friendly staff. Great food and drinks at the m bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuckyMaty
Argentina
Jan 8, 2013

Excelent location!!

Excelent, good location and comfortable!! Have a free machine coffe all day and good place to read and relax!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreguan
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Good Times at the Mansfield

We liked the Mansfield as soon as we approached it. It was very clean and elegant looking. The desk staff was helpful and the room was clean, adequately-sized (we were mostly walking around the city so we didnt need a suite) and tastefully furnished. The complimentary espresso bar in the lounge was nice as were the computers in the lobby because I didnt bring a laptop to take advantage of the complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. Location was good too; 2 blocks from Times square and right on 5th where my girlfriend did most of her shopping. Would definitely go back there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the street vendor carts. They are all regulated by the city and the food quality is great. Though prices can vary depending on the location in Manhattan, you can essentially get a meal for around $4.

Back to menu Return to top