$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
bachelorette

When I first got there they gave me a complimentary upgrade. I received a phone call asking me how... See full review

  • Animallover83
  • Jul 15, 2013
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Hotel Map

40.755 -73.9811
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.59, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.84, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.87, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB n Poppy
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sep 1, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to times square which has everything. Room was a little on the small side and not sure if air conditioner was working properly. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to times square. Good location.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anau
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Very good location

it has been a nice experience, clean rooms, small but enough for the sleeping. i did not like the breakfast at the hotel, too expensive and did not taste good. it is better eat outside. the hotel is small, but enough for the manhattan area. excellent location, only three blocks to times square and 5th avenue. Very easy for transportation. Employees, are soso, not to kind, but what? is not the employess, the beds are excellent, i sleep very well, delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

save money to go to broadway, it is worth it

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1987
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great stay!

Close to times square; friendly staff. Great food and drinks at the m bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C clodfelter
Charlotte, NC, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Mansfield

Staff was so helpful and amazing!!!! We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dyck15
Winnipeg, MB
Oct 21, 2011

Nice boutique hotel

Very nice hotel. Room was clean, had all the amenities you'd expect, plus a few more (playing cards, umbrella). Very old building, they did a good job renovating it but keeping the classic style. Room service always did a great job on my long stay. Location was perfect. Tons of restaurants, great coffee shop (Gregory's) right down the road. Close to most subway lines, 3 blocks from Grand Central, Bryant station even closer. About 3 blocks to Times Square. The room was small, but it's expected in a location like this. Just enough room for the bed, one side table (only one), a small desk and chair, and the bathroom (felt like entering a closet). One of my complaints is that there is only one side table for a queen-size bed. The room was a little cold, but the window air conditioner was still in as I was there in the fall. I'd imagine that'll change soon. The complementary espresso is done by a machine in a room just off the lobby (also very classy, seems like a library but under a different name which I cannot recall). About as good as machine espresso can get, but I expected someone to actually be making the coffee. Worked well enough to forego a trip out at night though. TV was quite small, but did the trick for the few times your actually watching it while in New York. Gets all the main stations and of course the standard overpriced video on demand. Internet was spotty the first couple days, but seemed to have been an issue that was fixed as it got much better before I left. I wouldn't expect it to be the norm. It's a great hotel, but it's always hard to spend that much on a place you shouldn't be spending much time at. I wouldn't have taken a different location, but I could certainly do a less classy hotel for less money. That said, it's New York and sometimes you just want something fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Dopo Teatro is a bit west down 44th. A small, slightly hidden but amazing restaurant. Certainly higher than average prices but well worth it.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glena
California, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Senior Getaway

Great location, could walk to almost everything. Poor lighting in the room so it was hard to do makeup and see for a clean shave. Our room seemed small but the biggest problem was our room did not have a good Wi-Fi connection no matter how many times the router was reset. Staff did offer to change our room. We needed to remind house keeping to leave wash clothes and bath mat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent location

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ting
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 22, 2011

Nice old hotel

It is a nicely cared for old Hotel, the rooms are clean and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
punktuate
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 14, 2011

The perfect choice

Everything about the Mansfield was exactly as I expected. This hotel oozes character from the tiny elevators to the dark wood adorned floors to the etched glass dividing doors in the Club Room Suite. The service staff were amazing, very respondent and helpful. This was a cozy hotel, where my patronage was clearly appreciated. Definitely NOT the Holiday Inn and precisely what I was looking for in my first trip to NYC. Would recommend to singles or couples, not really family friendly due to size of elevators and hallways, but this makes it even more ideal for a true getaway. Location was terrific. Walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central. Truly enjoyed every moment. Would stay here again in a New York minute...in fact, I would be disappointed if I didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris18
Pennsylvania, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great stay for two

We had a great one-night stay here. The room was comfortable, but very small. We had a number of things to do in the city, so the size of the room didn't matter since we were not there often. I thought the hotel staff was so nice and helpful. They answered every question, and were very accommodating with every request. The M Bar was a nice place to hang out at the end of the evening. The location was perfect for walking everywhere we needed to go. We would book with The Mansfield again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hetfield
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

good little hotel

Great location especially for Times Square and and Broadway. We had a Queen room which was good but a little on the small side and quite dark but altogether not bad. Free coffee and tea where great as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search